We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diner style food.”

Pea Soup Andersen's
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in Buellton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Southern California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great diner style food.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great food, huge portions and easy on the pocket book. I ordered the pea soup in a sourdough bread bowl. It was perfect on a chilly evening. My hubby had the chicken fried steak and it literally covered the entire dinner plate. It was like eating at Grandma's. :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    230
    160
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okay experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We wanted to take our 2 kids to experience this restaurant for the first time. The decor was a bit tired, there is an inside gift shop where you can browse. We did order their famous pea soup, it was pretty good and sandwiches which tasted okay. They also have your regular choices for kid's meals. You should visit this place once for historical reasons, but I probably wouldn't go back again, would consider eating at Solvang or somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

It was surprising to have such a nice place serve food at a reasonable cost! Soup was great! Milk Shake included with the soup was good sized. They offered refills on the soup no extra cost! Quite and homey place with a very interesting gift shop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dkommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stop here - fast food is better quality.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This place is an ancient relic and most of the food is too. Frozen TV dinners offer better quality. We stopped on the way home from LA and the kids were hungry. The food was truly not worth eating and I would have preferred to go to McDonalds. The pea soup was bland and tasteless. The servers also seemed to be a throwback from yesteryear. Kitchy atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Looks like a tourist trap, but the food is good”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It was lunchtime and we HAD to stop at Pea Soup Andersen's. Note that my wife is a pea soup aficionado. The place looked the same as we remembered it from some 25 years ago, the last time we were in the area. I had the half sandwich and soup (pea soup, of course), while my wife had the traveler's special (bowl of pea soup). I thought both soup and tuna sandwich were fine, my wife thought the soup had lost some spiciness in its character over the years (while not admitting that her taste buds may have declined over that time). Anyway, the place is worth a visit if you are in the area. The gift shop is an adventure in itself, with cans of the pea soup, among other items, on sale if you want to take some home. Bon appetite!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing