We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Local Hangout”

The Hitching Post II
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hitching Post II is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thumbelina
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Local Hangout”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

"Sideways" made this place famous but even as tourists we could tell it's still a hot-spot for locals who love good food and wine.

The weekday special the night we visited was BBQ Night; we spent 25 years in Virginia so I decided to put HPII to the test; they did not disappoint. It was moist and saucy and excellent!
Wines list is extensive but there are choices at every price point.

What makes HPII fun is the atmosphere; so many locals come in and greet friends; there's lots of talking and laughter; and even though we're not locals it was easy to get caught up in the vibe.

Recommended for families with children and couples who want a friendly, down-home meal. (Note: you're there for wine/food not decor which is pretty darned lackluster.)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    212
    89
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've enjoyed various steaks, burgers, and lamb here for a couple of years, almost always finding the meat done to perfection. Just once, my husband got a fillet mignon that had been cut too thin and was a bit dried out for his taste. Otherwise, never a complaint. The soups are always excellent and quite inventive. Salad is unexceptional but tasty. Service is very friendly and encouraging; the customer has the sense the servers really care about our experience. The wine list is very good and not as pricey as most other restaruants. The one caveat is to avoid Saturday evening if you like a quiet meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCar3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best burger I have ever had!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We actually came back after eating here the night before. The previous night, I had the filet and it was amazing! We came back the next night for "burger night". They grind thier own meat, bake thier own buns and smoke thier own bacon for the most delicious burger I have ever had. Even the pickles and the tomato slice had great flavor.
We asked for the same server, Jackie. She made our meal even more enjoyable with her humor and great service. Highly reccomend this place if you are in the area. Get reservations on line beforehand as the place gets pretty busy. The deserts are great too if you still have room!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorcalGrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, CA.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old school goodness”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went on a Tuesday night and the place was packed at 6:45 PM we had reservations and got right in. The meal started with a relish tray something you rarely see in most restaurants today. The meal has a choice of soup salad or for a dollar more shrimp cocktail. We had a filet Minion and it was cooked to perfection and had a wonderful smoked flavor. It was tender and was cooked perfectly. The service was great, the only thing we thought was less than great was the garlic bread. It was awful. There is a reason this place is busy the food is good. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lszerlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Awesome Wine”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to this place several times and it was always good. Some day better than other but we were alwyas plased. The wine bar is fun and the wine selection is simply excelent.
Good service as well. We will be back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hitching Post II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing