We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bare bones!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked this trip through Booking.com.....BAD NEWS!! I was given a price and confirmed it just before leaving my house. When I got there, the price as higher than my reservation had been set at. The hotel was clean, but no extras such as box springs, no closet, no drawers. no internet, not even shampoo...just a room and a table and TV,,Booking.com wouldn't even try to make it right! tripadvisor is the ONLY way I will go from now on!

Room Tip: I advise everyone not to use booking.com. I will only use tripadvisor from now on. This hotel was wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
21
35
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I wasn't expecting much but be aware that there is no mini-fridge available (even for asking), no microwave, no coffee pot in the room and the coffee in the main office is only available in the morning. The internet service, which is $2.99 a day, only allows one device to be logged in at a time and has a very weak signal if you happen to be on the backside of the hotel. The noise level from the highway is fairly constant. The towels feel like loofa pads and there is no hair dryer. We were in a no smoking room, but that only works when the people next to you don't stand on the balcony outside your room smoking (and laughing and joking.....)

That said, it is cheap and clean and close to the highway and McDonalds

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMAJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buellton hotels

Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

So the first room they put us in, room 119, reeked of urine. We asked for another room. We were put in room 100, which at least doesn 't smell so bad. Not great but not terribly dirty.

Then they said wifi is 3bucks extra. Huh? What century are they in? I know the ad i read had wifi was inluded.

The place is generally pretty nasty. For the money there are better deals nearby.

Room Tip: Wifi is extra so watch out for that. And then i heard it doesn't work well in all of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYRita2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The lack of tissues, shampoo, hair dryer or toilet seat lid is all expected at Motel 6; the barking dogs, running toilet, and freeway noise after requesting a quiet location were just unpleasant extras. Not a comfortable place to grab some sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear JFM99, Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay
you had as a result of the noise issues you experienced. These conditions are
not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our
Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us
provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's not a fancy hotel, it's a long journey one night crash pad, and for that purpose, it's perfect.
Ideally located just off the highway, with adjacent gas stations, restaurants and if course MacDonald's right next door!!!
Clean & simple, good value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvsFetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

7/2/13 Motel 6, Buellton, CA

Very clean, average décor, small but adequate. Everything worked. Staff is very polite.
Location off the highway makes it quieter than most places. Our only disappointment was no refrigerator in room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KizzysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was late and needed a place to stay for the night. All the hotels in Solvang were filled so we found the Motel 6 next to the 101 freeway. The front desk person was nice. We got our room and when we got there it was small, very small. There were guys hanging out outside just having a few beers. Our room had a door connected to the neighbors room. The door was thin so we could hear their conversations. Of course the $3 dollar wifi didn't work. The room was clean but a little musty. For the price it was ok but the experience was terrible. Should I complain since it was the only place with available rooms?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 mi away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 7 in Buellton
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
2.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area

Property: Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area
Address: 333 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Buellton - Solvang Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buellton Hotel Buellton
Motel Six Buellton
Buellton Motel 6
Buellton Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing