We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight accommodations close to Bodie.”
Review of Ruby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ruby Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect overnight accommodations close to Bodie.”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Late November, freezing cold day, out exploring and photographing Bodie. What a pleasant surprise to arrive at Ruby's, a first rate facility in the small town of Bridgeport. Very friendly and informative staff when we checked in at the office, our room had been warmed prior to our arrival, and the unit was exceptionally clean with up to date fixtures and warm, comfortable beds. Small fridge, microwave, internet, and coffee! Plenty of toiletries in a very nice, clean, bathroom. A great trip for my son and I topped off by A+++ over night accommodations! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
53
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burton, texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

While driving through town, we were attracted by the "Non Smoking Facility" on their Marque. When viewing the room, we were pleased to find many amenities such as a coffee maker with bean grinder & fresh coffee beans, facial tissues folded interestingly, hand towels folded into animal shapes, complete bath soap/shower supplies, & last but not least, the room was exceptionally clean. Additionally, the bed was very comfortable. The owner/host was extremely helpful and cordial when checking in & out. Before leaving, we needed to clean our car windshield & was pleased to find window washing articles in a container just outside the room. We would have stayed longer had we not committed to other reservations further into our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

RATED 5 out of 5 because meets expectations

ROOM all newly remodeled, not spacious, actually pretty tight, but sufficiently spacious to get from the door to the table to the bed to the bathroom without spare space. The heater was noisy but we turned it off at night and were not cold in October.

BREAKFAST coffee, hot cocoa, tea, the usual - bagels croissants danishes muffins - hard boiled eggs (nice!) fresh fruit (nice!) peanut butter, cream cheese, jams - no toaster, but a microwave oven in the room.

Grateful for this hotel where it is: near Bodie and Sierra.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Factual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed here as part of a group passing through. I was taught throughout my life not to judge a book by its cover; the Ruby Inn disproves this theory. Driving up to the parking lot is marked by gorgeous peeling wall paint as well as gigantic oil spills in the parking lot, surely evident of drunken truck drivers who stopped through. From the facade, one can reminisce to the 60's and 70's style motel reinforced by tall the comforts of dumpsters in an ally way. Yes, I could actually smell sewage. After a long day of driving, I just wanted to take off my shoes and take a snooze on a clean bed. Apparently, this was too much for the Ruby Inn to handle. The rug had all the luxuries of a 60's shag that had never been replaced. The comforter had evidence of blood stains. I was unable to sleep in the bed as I was contemplating what could cause the blood stains. The next morning shower was equally disastrous. The water went all of the bathroom. None of my personal L' Occitane shampoo and soap could hide the lovely aroma of mold. I would never stay at a motel before arriving at the Ruby Inn, and definitely never after this experience. Bridgeport is a boring and tired town too. Not much to do other than a mini-market across the street.
P.S: Ruby Inn- when it snows, you are supposed to shovel the snow out of the exterior halls. not let it sit there for people to slip on (like me)!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We were surprised when we checked into our room to find it so clean and comfortable. We wouldn't have paid such a high price, but couldn't find anywhere else in town to stay. We had a refrigerator and microwave for our use. It was a little hard to have the TV so close to the door, as it was hard to go around it. We had a nice breakfast of pastries, juice and coffee, which you pick up in the office and take back to your room. All in all except for the price, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podunct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Ruby Inn was in a great location for a visit to Bodie. The hotel staff gave us a great recommendation for dinner - Virigina Settlement. The staff was pleasant and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We would not hestitate to stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The owner took advantage of us and increased his price once he realized we were stuck with no place to stay because everything else was booked for miles. My rating is based on the prcie we paid ($150 for the night). This is a Motel 6 at best. Its no wonder he had the only vacancy within 70 miles or so. I wish we would have kept driving.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.3 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
189 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
584 reviews
21.5 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
91 reviews
4.9 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgeport
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Inn

Property: Ruby Inn
Address: 333 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruby Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ruby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Hotel Bridgeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing