We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has problems”
Review of Bodie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridgeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bodie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Has problems”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Quaint may the most positive way to describe this hotel. The room we had was one of their larger rooms with two queen beds.
Pros: Room looked attractive with wall paper and antique furniture. The beds were comfortable with very good pillows.
Cons: The room had no air conditioner. With the windows open and a fan blowing, the temperature was 81 F at 9 PM and only cooled to 71 by 5 AM. The room was very light. A hotel sign shined on the window shades and the room got quite bright when the sun rose. In the morning, After 5 AM, there was a lot of vehicle noise. There was no closet to hang clothes and the bathroom was minimal. There was no breakfast. It was not even a fair value for the $115 we paid. It was an experience, but if one were counting on a great night's sleep, this place isn't what one needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJMCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
11
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento,Ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed here for four miserable nights. It is a form of bed and breakfast/boarding house run by a woman who takes care of her mentally handicapped daughter. It is a two story Victorian era house that was brought over from the mining town of Bodie in the late 1800s. It was then converted into a boarding house, with each room getting a private bathroom w/shower. The rooms very in size from a tiny room w/a single bed to a large room with two beds. I had the tiny room with a baseboard heater that stopped working for a few nights. In October, that makes for a very long and cold night. The bed is probably from the 1800s judging from the springs that lie just beneath the thin surface. I had to literally sleep on the edge of the bed to avoid getting a second painful backache like I got the first night. Some people I stayed with complained of allergies due to the bedding used. Overall you get a worn down room with a badly worn down bed, no Wi-Fi or any other means to pass away time in the evening. I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank placerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridgeport hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My sister and I arrived here late after spending the day in Death Valley - all other motels we drove past in 3 other towns stated 'no vacancy'. There had to be a reason why this was the only place with a vacancy and there was. The place is very weird and run by a funny little woman - it really was like something out of a horror movie! We were charged $89 and informed how lucky we were as she had a last minute cancellation. The place is full of antiques and we were warned not to touch the marble topped dresser or the ancient wardrobe in our room. Never mind spending wads of cash on furniture the place could do with a thorough clean. We felt grubby having spent the night here. The bathroom rug was used and the bathroom smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Sheets were also of suspect cleanliness and we tried not to look too closely at anything else. Having said all of that we laughed until we cried at the place as it was so bad. 7am we high tailed it out of there which was a first for us on our lazy holiday! I believe the usual price of a room for two is around $60, which is relatively cheap so if you really are not too fussy then you'd be ok. Otherwise book ahead for somewhere decent!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I booked a room here for a last minute trip to Bodie, CA. It was extremely inexpensive ($45 for 2 people). Personally, I liked it. It definitely had character. However, the furniture is extremely old and the decor was a bit off the wall (gold wallpaper, shag carpeting). The woman who checked us in asked specifically that we treat the furniture with care as everything is older than 100 years old. I was there around November. It was cold outside, but the room stayed plenty warm with the heater. Since the room was so cheap, I would stay there again. However, I do have a few small complaints. The stairs were very rickety and would sink a bit when walked on. The bathroom was super tiny and looked unfinished. As if it were an afterthought that they never quite got around to completing. The staff could have been a bit nicer, though they weren't rude by any means. We walked into the hotel and found a sign instructing us to check in next door at the Sportsman's Inn restaurant. The woman who checked us in acted a bit inconvenienced upon our arrival...but it wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kcicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Weel there is little choice in that town if you need to stay the night, the other motel is expensive for what it looked.
The Victorian hotel smelt damp and most things were rickety, stairs etc. But we had lots of room. We had to dudt it , using facecloths, first.
The shower/bathroom was fine, and lots of hot water.
Bridgeport get cold in September and frost was on the car in teh morning. Coffee at the Sportsman's was great, but we ate elswhere.
We stopped here on a tour to include Bodie, which is briliant.
You need to have a pretty tolerant disposition to stay here, but a double room was $68, our friend had a smaller single room, that was also a bit manky
Cheap and , well rickety

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oldhenry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

If you're looking for an authentic old gold rush era type hotel... you'll be pleased. Otherwise, if you're expecting modern and even slightly fancy, you would probably be better off finding something else. We rode into town thinking it would be easy to find a room, and were surprised to hear it was opening weekend for the fishing season, so the town was packed full of drunk fisherman. When we found 2 rooms here, we were glad to have a place to sleep! I really can't say it was that bad; it was exactly what I would imagine it must have been like back in the late 1800's, except for the electricity and indoor plumbing! The mattress was worn out probably 20 years ago, but the antique bed frame was pretty cool. The toilet worked but ran every few minutes. A couple of drunk fisherman came down the hallway at 2am and I could have sworn they were in our room due to how loud the conversations were. I'm sure they were thinking the same thing when we fired up our harleys at 7am... :) The black velvet wallpaper and shag carpeting really make this place unique. I can honestly say I have never stayed in another hotel like this, so for me it was kind of a cool experience. Also, the bartender/desk clerk person was super friendly, and the breakfast special the next morning was a good deal; $4.95 for 2 eggs, 2 hotcakes and 2 bacon... works for me!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotel_bidniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

booked ahead here as it was the only place in town with reasonable weekend rates, but should have upped our budget a bit for better digs elsewhere.
Room was well worn-out, 30+year old shag carpeting, twee furnishings, heat came from one tiny wall heater, not at all sufficient in this incredibly cold town. Bed was completely worn out--lumpy and uncomfortable. The whole place had an old, musty smell that did not add to the very questionable "victorian" atmosphere.
Food at the affiliated Sportsmen's Bar/Grill was terrible--overpriced, artery-clogging garbage that makes Denny's look like a good choice. And the waitress/desk lady for the restaurant and hotel was bitter and mean, treated my wife and I like she could not wait for us to be on our way up the 395. And after our shabby stay and equally shabby treatment, we could not wait to flee. Only saving graces were the cheap drinks and gregarious bartender in the bar.
This is one frosty, unfriendly town, from the hotel/restaurant staff to the cashiers at the local markets, not at all warm or welcoming to visitors. I would recommend staying closer to Mono Lake in Lee Vining where folks know how to treat travelers. Food and accommodations there are many steps up--steer clear of Bridgeport, one of the coldest (temp and vibe), most unfriendly towns I've even set foot in.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.2 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodie Hotel

Property: Bodie Hotel
Address: 281 N Main Street, Across from the Historic 1880 Courthouse, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodie Hotel is a two-story Victorian era house reminiscent of buildings in the nearby mining town of Bodie. It's much like the boarding houses of the 1860s except each room had its own private bathroom with shower installed after being moved to Bridgeport. The rooms vary in size, some with a single bed and others featuring two beds. The black velvet wallpaper coupled with the shag carpeting really help make this boom town building unique. Reasonable rates range from $59.95 to $125 per night. The facility has wireless internet available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing