We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
161
100
45
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
100
45
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzatent cabinsbunk bedscovered wagonmono lakeghost townbig portionsnice cabinfun place to stayonsite restaurantate dinner and breakfastfire pittrouthot springscouple of nightsyosemite npsmall refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 339 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2015

It was very interesting to sleep in that kind of wood house. Nothing spécial to say besides the fact that the road behind was very noisy at night.
I did not really sleep well. Good enough for one night.
Also, it was extremely surprising to take a shower and be obligated to pay for the water.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tubogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We stayed here twice on our vacation. We stayed in the motel part and the wonderful cabin. Both were great. The motel room was quaint, clean and quiet. The cabin was well stocked with cookware and dishes It had a fire pit and picnic table. We enjoyed the privacy. The creek that ran beside the cabin was so relaxing to hear. It was great to have your morning coffee on the cabin porch. On our return we stayed in the suite above the restaurant. It was so comfortable and spacious The staff was so great. The pizza was amazing!! We would stay here again. Good location for the west entrance of Yosemite.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We stayed at one of the cabins at the end of their property. 165$ per night including service charge. I don't consider that 'cheap place to stay'. Even though the cabin was located next to the water we were surrounded by a nasty sewage smell. While our unlucky day of apparent 'storage problem' can happen we were also not impressed by very slow check in and check out service. One person running double/triple duties of serving breakfast and handling the many requests/phone calls of booking a stay. Given the modern technology everyone in our party seemed to have some type of booking question and left wondering in end whether charges went through correctly. We were also questioned on whereabout of a smelly bed cover we certainly had no intention to 'stealing'. The blankets and bedding did not give us the clean impression we are used to even at budget motels nowadays. We did not feel like welcome guests, maybe they know their place will book anyways so close to Bodie State Park? We left rather unimpressed a place which has great opportunity given historical site and location.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorCalfrequenttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

We appreciate your feedback, and regret any deficiencies you experienced. We did have a complete failure of part of one of our pumps that transfers waste from one location to another. Unfortunately it took us the better part of an evening to get the pump replaced, and in that process, was a brief inconvenience to our guests. We did offer a variety of things to our guests for this inconvenience. Overall your larger concern seems to be our service, and while typically there is no waiting to check in or check out, unfortunately rare circumstances occur that there may a brief 5 or so minute wait. while we take care of other guests either on the property or via the phone. We do have a great staff that supports our small property. Also we understand some things are accidently packed, we do keep track of substantial items to keep all of our costs down, and will contact guests to help any misunderstandings. We do hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We went there for our 10 year anniversary with a lot of friends (altogether 7 rooms!), but one friend had to cancel due to sickness of her baby. She was told that she had to pay anyhow due to their cancellation policy; so she told us that we could use her extra room (since she has to pay for it anyhow). At check-in, we double-checked whether my friend's Credit Card would be used, and they confirmed.
But turned out that they charged my family for that second room (even though we didn't use the room), and refuse to admit they made a mistake. 5 phone calls, 20 emails, all documented in writing (including the reservation), and yet they refuse to refund us the money and charge our friend. They told us that we should get the money now from our friend.
They also double charged another friend which led to the fact that our entire guests arrived 30 minutes late to our "wedding" (because they argued with them for so long at the check-out). Their system sucks, and they are very rude when it comes to problems. Ruined completely our big day. Never again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathinka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

We regret any misunderstandings that may have occurred. You did contact us six weeks after your stay with concerns regarding charges to your card. It did take some time to be provided all the information so that we could do our best to resolve any issues. Your friend did release their reservation to you the day prior to their scheduled arrival, and we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy. It is true that if we had been unable to rent their room out, they would have been charged for the night's stay. Our understanding at the time was that you were taking responsibility for the room, and it was not our understanding that your friend was going to be responsible for it. We also would have been happy to attempt to rent the unit out to another traveler so that no one that did not want to be charged would be charged. Again, we are sorry that there were any misunderstandings, but 6 weeks after the event it is reasonable to leave the charges on the card that was provided and signed for, and not charge another that we have had no further contact with.
Regarding your claim of another being double charged, it is very important to us that all of our guests are charged fairly, and depending on the situation and the immediate need of the guest, it make take time to check everything in our system, or make the appropriate phone calls to verify that everything is correct. We are absolutely willing to take this time to make sure that everything is right. Typically, at check-in, credit cards are authorized to verify that we have a valid form of payment, this results on a hold for on the funds available, and is seen as a pending transaction. At check-out, the total amount of payment is then finalized depending on other room charges that you request during your stay. Depending on your credit card processor, and especially with debit cards, this may show up as a second pending transaction. A separate pending transaction will definitely occur if you change forms of payment. Depending on your credit card processor this may take several days to post the one final charge, and for any pending charges to clear. This is beyond our control. If you do come up after checkout looking at your immediate bank statement, it may appear that there are two separate charges.
We of course are human, and there may have been another rare circumstance that may have occurred, but I can only speak to the most common occurrence, given the information provided in your review, and in all cases will ensure that every guest is charged fairly and accurately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015

So I am adding some pictures to show you just how adorable this place is. The newer cabins that are on the property are just charming. I wish we were staying for another night in this great little private cabin with a babbling creek to fall asleep to.

We had breakfast at the restaurant which was reasonably priced and was delicious. Service was also wonderful.

There's not a lot around for excitement but I suggest visiting Mono lake and going for a canoe ride around the tuffs. This is a bizzarre lake.

Room Tip: Charming personal cabins
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillygirl380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews