We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the ghost town of Bodie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Creek Settlement
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim Hills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Close to the ghost town of Bodie”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here for 6 days in June, 2012. I wanted to fish the lakes and streams around Bridgeport, so this was a nice central location to accomplish that. I must have drove by Virginia Creek Settlement a hundred times in the past and always wanted to try it if in the area. This was my chance!

The Good: I selected a small cabin on the creek, which was about 20 feet away from the creek and nice to listen to. The cabin was well appointed and clean, nice size frig, living room and bathroom. They supplied the wood for the outside fire pit and the cabin was fairly private. And there were fish in the creek if you wanted to fish close to home. I loved the restaurant, ate there every morning before heading out to fish. The french toast and omelets were very good and the servers were really friendly and did not rush you. I met the owners too and they were very nice. The price for this unit is way cheaper than you can get in Bridgeport.

The Bad: The cabin had bunk beds in the bedroom? The bed was small and hard to get comfortable in. They also had a pull-out bed in the living room, but was worst then the bunk beds. The road noise was bad, really bad! You hear the trucks all night long. Its at a place in the road where you need to slow down a bit, so the trucks use their J-brakes and its loud! Would have given a higher rating in not for the road noise.

Room Tip: The rooms above the restaurant should be quieter than the other units in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wshawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    84
    40
    12
    17
See reviews for
93
126
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If I tell you that this is the kind of place where men don't remove their hats you would probably quickly form an opinion of what it was like, I know it is a fishing lodge but the prices do not reflect the inadequate standard of the accomodation and restaurant food. First the room - we stayed in the motel room, bedding was clean and comfortable but the room was a little tired, dated and dusty, plus there was no hair dryer and I do not like the idea of the coffee maker sitting directly above the toilet. The room is directly level with the road so there was a lot of noise from trucks throughout the night. The restaurant - helpful, friendly staff but although we weren't late eating they had already run out of soup. The waitress also brought our mains before we had even finished the starters, I noticed we were not the only table this happened to, but with limited space on the table this was totally unacceptable. Don't stay here, take a few minutes to travel further up the road to Bridgeport, a lovely little town with plenty of hotels and eateries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaCreek, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We appreciate this guest comments and that they felt our staff was friendly and that their bed was clean. As with all of our guest reviews we have shared this with our staff in our continuing efforts to provide the highest levels of service and accommodations to all of our guests.

Regarding the accommodations, we are not, nor do we pretend to be a modern facility. We are situated surround by thousands of acres of untamed wilderness, centrally located to vast amounts of backcountry recreation, and the closest accommodations to Bodie State historic park, part of the old west. The motel is a knotty pine construction and the decor reflects the history and activities and our area. We update our beds, most rooms now have flat screen TV's, and all motel rooms and housekeeping cabins have refrigerators. Hair dryers are available at the front desk. We keep everything clean and serviceable. The vast majority of properties in our rural destination are located on the US Highway 395.

In our restaurant we try to provide the freshest homemade products possible, the vast majority of our items are made on site and we do the best we can to anticipate our daily business needs. On rare occasions we do run out of a menu item. We regret this guest felt rushed, and did not enjoy their dining experience. I also regret not knowing how they felt about the meal they were served. We do have a small site with 44 seats which during the summer serves over 120 people for dinner. The vast majority of folks are concerned with getting their meals in a timely manner and we do our best to accommodate them. If you have specific expectations let us know, we're here for our guests.

There are also many great places to stay and eat in Bridgeport, if what we offer doesn't appeal to you, let us know what you're looking for and we'll be happy to help you find the right place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Our family has been coming here for the past 4 years. We stay for almost a week at a time in one of their cabins and fish the Bridgeport area. The owners, Jimmy and Brinn, are great people. They will give you tips on the best fishing spots and things to do in the area. The creek running thru their property always has trout in it. They run a small fish hatchery on their property that our kids love to visit.
If you stay at Virginia Creek Settlement you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had driven by the Virginia Creek Settlement for years, always in a hurry to get where we were going. Finally took the time to stop and check it out and WOW, we had been missing out on a great place! The restaurant atmosphere is very welcoming and comfortable, great decor! The staff were very friendly, and hospitable. Gave us a tour of the entire facility, even the trout raising project on the property. Great cabins and motel rooms, and covered wagons! The Victorian themed rooms above the restaurant are great, like going back in time. The food in the restaurant is top notch, a menu that we did not expect to see in the middle of nowhere. We were very impressed by the entire place, from the location near the creek, the quality restaurant, the accommodations and mostly, the very friendly staff. Cant wait to go back and spend more time!

Room Tip: The Victorian suite above the restaurant is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I had fished the Virginia Lakes/Twin Lakes area since the late sixties when I was a child. For the last 12 years, I have been living in Vegas and still continue to make the long drive and stay at Virginia Creek Settlement. I was originally sad to see the former owners retire, but the young couple that took over has kept everything in check, including the Italian recipes in the restaurant. They are super friendly and have made continual improvements over the years including the Fish Enhancement Program.

This place brings back memories of when I was a kid and I think any family staying here can build long lasting memories too. Fishing in the creek, roasting marshmellows by the fire or taking a hike on the local trails. Too much fun and relaxation.

See you again this summer/fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We ate at the Virginia Creek Settlement restaurant. It was so tasty, bring your appetite. Their pizza is so delicious! One medium pizza fed my husband and I for two days! These are hearty pizzas. We had the apple dumpling for dessert, oh it was delightful! I will be stopping by just for the tapioca and apple dumpling. Great food, big portions.. rustic atmosphere!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apeakhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins for one night, coming from Yosemite NP and wanting to visit Bodie ghost-town the next day. It is a lovely place outside the village, the cabins are rustic and small but very nice. From all motels we stayed on our 4-weeks travel here we got the fluffiest towels with a nice scent... And not to forget the restaurant. It is not cheap, but from our point of view absolutely worth the price. The steak was marvellous, and the pizza is not only big but really tasty. Also the guys running the place and the restaurant are very friendly and humorous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotezora42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
4.9 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
186 reviews
16.7 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
572 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
239 reviews
4.9 mi away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
90 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#4 of 4 in Bridgeport
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Creek Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Creek Settlement

Property: Virginia Creek Settlement
Address: on Highway 395, H.C.R. 62 Box 1050, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Virginia Creek Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Virginia Creek Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Creek Settlement Hotel Bridgeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing