We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome slice of Americana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunewill Guest Ranch
Reviewed July 6, 2014

1st trip to the ranch with the goal of becoming a more confident rider. Mission accomplished! The Hunewill family and the wranglers they employ made us feel really welcome and safe. This is a serious ranch with serious cattleman & horseman (& women)! After a few days I felt confident enough to go on an all day cattle drive - AMAZING - can't wait to do it again. If you love horses and the outdoors and you want to experience both - this ranch is for you. This is not the place if you are looking to be pampered and fed caviar & champagne - although you could bring your own!
I strongly suggest signing up with Stephanie for a massage! An oh ya, the bed was like heaven!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Hunewill Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our second trip to Hunewill Ranch. I know it's hard to reproduce the "first time magic" with a vacation spot but the Hunewills are so good at treating you like family, we actually had a better time than when last there in 2012. It really is the perfect place to relax and hit the re-set button on your life. Because of the lingering drought, it was drier than 2012 but the Hunewills were quite adept at compensating for it and took us to excellent riding areas. Keep in mind that at Hunewill Ranch you mostly ride in open pastures and meadows where you can spread out and lope under supervision of a wrangler. As before, our wranglers, tack and horses were top notch. Our room was spacious (it was cabin # 3) and the bed soft enough for a good nights sleep. The food was good and prepared by a very happy and competent kitchen staff who always went out of their way to accomidate our needs. For us, getting up early and watching them bring 110 horses from the pasture to the corrals was a favorite daily ritual. For sure the place is in our blood and we will be returning to hit our re-set button again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I just wrote a review on Yelp for them. Went twice this year. Just an amazing experience. A real working ranch, not a spa with horses. Super-friendly family, they really make you feel at home. Great for kids. My favorite experience is driving and cutting the cattle with the horses, a whole new dimension to the riding experience.

Room Tip: Very basic, but clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WDavies63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The South Pacific may be Paradise, but the Hunewill Guest Ranch is Heaven on Earth.

Once you arrive at the ranch the friendly staff (most of whom are Hunewill family members) immediately begin to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Next you find your charming and very comfortable little ranch cabin and then it starts to set in....The incredible peace and happiness of being in such an amazing part of God's Country. There you are, standing amongst real American West history, a 150 year old working cattle ranch that still hosts cowboys, peacefully grazing cattle and plenty of good cowhorses all sitting beneath a vast expanse of gorgeous city skyline-free, smog-free beautiful blue sky that goes on as far as the eye can see. For anyone who is even a little bit of a cowboy/cowgirl at heart this place speaks to the soul.

With three meals a day the food is plentiful and delicious, the hospitality is better than any 5 star hotel and the down home evening group activities are a pure delight! I'm talking endless smiles, many laughs and perhaps a tear of joy or two. The other guests quickly become new friends and while it was our first time to ever visit the ranch, we quickly understood why so many people keep in touch and come back time and again over the years. There is something really special about the Hunewill Guest Ranch and once you come, you will know exactly what I mean.

I love to ride horses and you get two good long rides per day plus you get the same trusty mount for your entire stay. Even my boyfriend who is a novice rider had a great time out on the trail. They keep the horseback riding safe and fun by breaking up the riders in to different groups based upon their skill level, beginner, intermediate and advanced. You do have the option to choose any ride you want be it fast or slow depending on your mood, it's just best to be honest with yourself about your skill level to avoid any unscheduled dismounts. I have had 20 years of experience riding and showing horses and I can honestly say that the Hunewill horses are quite nice. Even the bulls in the pastures were surprisingly mellow and calm as you rode by.

I can't say enough good things about the family and staff at the Hunewill Guest Ranch. They are all so WONDERFUL, friendly and helpful. I LOVED this ranch and can't wait to go back some day!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are considering a stay at a proverbial "dude ranch" please consider the family-run Hunewill Guest Ranch in Bridgeport, CA. My wife and I stayed there over the July 4th week 2012 and we couldn't be more pleased.

The staff are safety concious, but always accomodating to the guests. We were very well fed (can't wait for more buckaroo bacon!) and our riding skills went up quickly after two rides a day each day.

For us, the highlight of the trip was being able to move a herd of cattle (with bulls!) across several mountain meadows along with our fellow guests. The panorama was spectacular with snow-capped Sierra Nevada's in the background.

There is nearby fishing as well as excellent bird watching. This is fun for families who want to spend time together as well as couples or friends looking for a chance to relax and leave urban living behind. That reminds me, don't plan on cell phone coverage, tv watching, or internet use at Hunewill. If you can't be on vacation without those things, reconsider this as your choice.

If you want quiet and relaxation, excitment of the ride, magnificent horses, learning to count and name stars, or down-home country cookin, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZDave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We all had a terrific week at the Hunewill ranch riding horse daily was the real thing not some stable ride! Based on your ability to manage your horse, you can experience the rare freedom nowadays to be a cowboy and lope through fields jump ditches and feel America at its roots. The kids from 5 to teens just had a blast riding every ride square dancing hayride and singing camp fire songs. Very limited electronics. Yippee and ping pong to counting shooting stars was true entertainment. Thank you to all the fun loving wranglers, staff and especially the Hunewills who each year enable us all to come experience family fun and some freedom! God's Country for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alamomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a really special place, where my family has gone for years. It has changed in only good ways (strong coffee, small wifi hotspot) and stayed the same in all the important ways. The most pretty valley under the sawtooth mountains, kids of all ages getting away from TV and plotting skits for the talent show, good food and fun stuff to do around. Love Hunewill!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
4.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
134 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Twin Lakes Resort
Twin Lakes Resort
#4 of 8 in Bridgeport
17 reviews
4.3 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgeport
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunewill Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunewill Guest Ranch

Address: 1110 Hunewill Ranch Road, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bridgeport
Price Range: $161 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hunewill Guest Ranch Hotel Bridgeport
Hunewill Hotel Bridgeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing