We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost In Time - Silver Maple Inn, Bridgeport, California” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Maple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Maple Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bridgeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yountville, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lost In Time - Silver Maple Inn, Bridgeport, California”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Silver Maple Inn can be reached at 760-932-7383

Pinch Me! Is this a Movie Set?

What year is it? Where are we? This is Bridgeport, County Seat of Mono, State of California and you have come upon once upon a time ...without being aware of it you are sitting in the driveway of a by-gosh piece of Americana; Silver Maple Inn. We walked around a bit, then found the office and were assigned a room and we settled into one of the nicest rooms to be found.

Expansive lawns, walk to anywhere, here are no suburbs, no traffic lights; by the time you get used to the idea of seeing the whole town in a glance, it is behind you - a memory.....

Welcome to the Eastern Slope of the Sierra Nevada mountains.

I've been here many times, always roll slowly from one end of Bridgeport to the other and back; just soaking up the atmosphere. Here is a place where travelers may pause for a while. Today may be a quiet one, the next might find 10,000 Motorcycles in that wide main street.

Many pause in Bridgeport; it is a refueling stop or a base from which one can take in an alpine reservoir or two, miles of dusty dirt roads, visit Mono Lake, or, best of all, BODIE.

Main Street is actually a part of US 395; which runs from Spokane, Washington to the great pass called Cajon above San Bernardino. But you do not need to do that; there is plenty enough to do and to see right here - that ringing sound is from the bell over the Courthouse, built in 1893.

Room Tip: Call Ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. You totally captured the essence of the Silver Maple and Bridgeport - I grew up in Bridgeport, moved away for awhile and came back - just for the reasons you noted!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
26
58
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are searching for a stucco room with a waterfall and elevator, keep going until you hit Palm Springs. The maple is without a doubt the cleanest hotel for a hundred miles. They have a wonderful host, clean rooms, and the lawn is simply the best spot in the Sierras to unwind. The bells from the courthouse chime every time you pour a glass of wine.
This hotel is 70 years old. The Boardwalk creaks as you walk, making less of a man feel like John Wayne or Gary Cooper at high noon. All restaurants are a short walking distance. On special weekends like Clampers they make sure all is well and you enjoy your visit.
I once read a review with a complaint from a vegetarian who did not like the distant sounds of cattle in the area. I hope she went to Palm Springs. Next door is a wonderful coffee house.
This hotel is scooter friendly and enjoyed by this scootertrash 11661. Plan on an extra night as you will want to stay longer.

Room Tip: All rooms spotless with new mattresses and linens. I have stayed in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I loved this review!!! Mostly because I have always said that the Silver Maple Inn is not your cookie cutter Inn and either is the entire town of Bridgeport - I think we are a quaint and charming motel and town, that allows you to have an "experience".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Silver Maple Inn is a lovely place. The large central courtyard lawn makes it stand out against the other motels in Bridgeport that seem to be nothing but buildings and parking lots. While built in the 1930's, the rooms have been updated throughout and have a very comfortable feel. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the continental breakfast adequate (served in the historic Cain House). The wifi internet worked much better than the pricey hotel we stayed at the next evening in Mammoth Lakes. This place is a jewel in the eastern Sierra country. Certainly not a 4 star hotel, but it provides comfortable accommodations in a great setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I really liked this review because you were honest. You enjoyed your stay and really like our motel, but you also noted, it is not a "4 star hotel". And we are not a "4 star hotel" - we are a small, historic, roadside motel and we do our best with keeping the rooms and our grounds neat and tidy. As a traveler, myself, I would rather stay at a place with "character" than a cookie-cutter hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's a little dated that's what I liked about it. It was cosy and I was impressed with the clean, well maintained grounds and most importantly the clean rooms. It was nice to sit out on the grounds and just relax with a drink and a book as the weather was lovely and hot on the days we were visiting Bridgeport. If we were to pass through again, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The truth be told, long story short, at the end of the day, Silver Maple Inn WINS! Have stayed at a few places in Bridgeport and the Silver Maple Inn rises to the top. Easy reservations, AAA friendly, great location, easy check in check out, friendly staff, new beds and linen, wifi and flat screen TV, soft pillows, easy parking, pleasant grounds and to boot, continental breakfast with outstanding teas and bold coffee!
Also a fish cleaning station, and ice locker! Silver Maple Inn sets the standard! Did I mention friendly staff? Great find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erinn99, Owner at Silver Maple Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We have been doing a lot of updates to our motel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have our staff, the housekeepers have been with us for over 15 years and the manager has been with us for 3 seasons - she is the greatest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon arriving I already knew not to expect much. The motel is built right on the sidewalk so your window is going to open up to whomever is walking on the sidewalk....A little creepy when I realized it was y bathroom window.....That is just the beginning...Went to pull the drapes shut and the drapes and rod come flying off the wall...ok trying to accept things at this point....Then turned down the bed to discover a spider in the bed ugh....after many mintues going through the bed and pillows with a fine tooth comb checking for spiders and calming down....turned off the lights and we heard scratching and movement in the walls...turned the light on it stopped turned the light back off within seconds again....packed our bags up and went to bang on the office door took us a long time to get the desk clerk she did finally move us horrible expierence yes the grounds were kept up nicely Also very pricey for this sort of Motel cant believe they can ask so much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpanjaffray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for a visit to Mono Lake and Bodie. It's a nice spot, with a large lawn in the middle of a one-story motor-court style motel, where you park right in front of your room. We had a two-queen room -- it was snug but not uncomfortably so -- there was room for the two beds, a nightstand between them, a desk, and a dresser. There was also a small refrigerator on top of the desk. The room had a small but eminently serviceable bathroom, and a decent-sized closet with iron and ironing board. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. There was no a/c, but with the windows open, the room was a fine temperature at night in the middle of July. It was a great location for visiting Bodie, and about 45 minutes from the South Tufa area of Mono Lake. At $108/night, it was cheaper than anything in Lee Vining, and the room rate included continental breakfast at the Cain House, which is right next to the motel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.3 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#4 of 4 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Maple Inn

Property: Silver Maple Inn
Address: 310 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Maple Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Family owned Silver Maple Inn and The Cain House Country Inn and Suites. We have welcomed guests for over 25 years to our Beautiful and Scenic Valley of Bridgeport, CA. We continue to pride ourselves on every guest experience being pleasant, enjoyable and memorable. As guests at our establishments, you will notice year after year we always keep up with the latest trends our guests expect from our Country Style Lodging. Come and experience the great outdoors here in one of Mono County's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Maple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Maple Inn / The Cain House Country Hotel Bridgeport
Silver Maple Inn / The Cain House Country Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing