We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great look back to life in the 1800's

The almost 3 mile drive on an unpaved road is worth it. We we lucky enough to see a sheep herder... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
tinatraveler2018
,
Naples, Florida
Bodie fulfilled a bucket list item for me - A great ghost town

Recently, Lynn, friends. And I spent almost 3 hours at Bodie ghost town. As a photographer I had... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Radiohutch
,
Safety Harbor, Florida
via mobile
Read all 1,441 reviews
  
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveler rating
1,076
289
55
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,076
289
55
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road arrested decay gold mining town old west its heyday high altitude guide book step back in time mono lake gold rush bring water eastern sierras per adult history buff take your time high desert well worth the trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This semi-restored old mining town is located 14 MILES out on a primarily dirt road through some rugged country just south of Bridgeport, but it is well worth the drive. A large ghost town that had been very successful during the days of productive mining, with some very interesting buildings & citizens!! Walking the streets one feels what it must have been like back at the turn of the previous century in such a Rural location. There is a guide available identifying the individual buildings with a brief description of the inhabitants, etc as well as a small but very interesting gift shop/ museum which was very interesting. Our only complaint was that the only way to explore the town was on foot & rather difficult for Seniors or other people with disabilities as it is a long, hilly walk. Definitely worth the Visit, regardless!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mok614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bodie is in a word, spellbinding. In a sense, if you truly are seeking an adventure that will totally give you an understanding of what life or existence was like in the 19th and early 20th century, you have to come and experience this place. When you take the time to fully immerse yourself in the treasures and stories of this one of a kind town, you may develop a new appreciation and comprehension of what these townspeople went through and experienced. It is truly a photographers paradise. The park rangers that oversee the town and actually live there, are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, and are eager to answer any questions that you might have. You can tell that they are out there by choice and they treat the town and their positions there with a reverence that you don't normally see in other parks. You can easily spend the entire day in Bodie. Take your time when exploring, every building and site is a story in itself. Don't forget about the altitude. It is about 8,500 feet, so stay well hydrated. And while you're there, be sure to take the approximately 1 hour tour of the Stamp MIll. Again, it will provide you with a realistic view of what life was really like in the town. We had a superb guide named HIllary, and her knowledge and expertise during the the tour was fascinating and entertaining.I'm not sure if this would be an appropriate trip for young children, lots of rusty cans, broken glass, nails etc.. But for teenagers and above, it is definitely worth the drive and a one of a kind experience! Park entrance is $8 person and the Stamp Mill tour is $6 apiece. Little to spend for a long lasting memory!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank dlbrownpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bodie is a step back in time. We loved that part!
Full of artifacts from long ago.

No soap or hand sanitizer in bathrooms . Please fix that.

Bring a picnic lunch or snack they only sell water. Really dusty for a picnic!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 183virginiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, don't be put off by tales of the road - it's wide and safe. Just very bumpy in parts. Any car can do it, just drive slow.
Stunning place when you get there, telling an incredible tale. It's really immersive, so modern signs are really limited and you have to find information. Worth reading up about in advance. There was a film, but not running when we were there, which was a shame. Also a pity not to be able to go into buildings - but that is what keeps them as they are.
Photographers' dream, but also great fun for the family. Cheap to go into and pretty empty when you are there. Take any food or drink you need!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband remembered going here as a kid and wanted us to see it for ourselves. Finally on one of our trips to Mammoth we made the trek an hour north to Bodie and pleased we did.

The entry fee is reasonably priced. Splurge and get the $2 walking guide - it’s worth it.

Not a whole lot there but what’s left of the old mining town. There is no cell phone service or food. However there are restrooms and a small museum/gift shop. Dogs are allowed but not on the tours. Get there early for good parking. Definitely worth your time.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank rwheeler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews