We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but noisy.”

Cap's Oak Street Bar & Grilll
Ranked #2 of 132 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun but noisy.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you don't mind a lot of noise when you are eating then Cap's is a great place. Old hotel atmosphere which is pretty quaint but cozy. Food was good, nothing out of this world but pleasant......would not rave about it though. Price was steep but you are paying for the name and location.....right downtown on Oak St. Overall...nice but I'm glad we have some other choices, I'd still go back with a group. This is NOT a place I would take my wife for a "nice meal out together".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwifellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Could be Great”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Cap's is a real, restaurant. Nice ambiance. Patrons dress nicely. The waiters are professionals. My husband asked about the aioli, so the waiter brought him a small sample. It was a bit noisy, but full of hustle and bustle. We had the crab cakes as an appetizer. They were large, crispy on the outside, creamy but not raw on the inside. Worth the $14. My husband had a steak, and I had the eggplant parmagiana. Both were excellent.
However, the bread was fresh, but it was served at room temperature. Warm would have been better. The salad was uninspired: lettuce, a lone cherry tomato, one slice of canned beet, 4 kidney beans, 2 garbanzo beans, a smattering of raw onion, and a few croutons. The dressings were bland. I am also not impressed with barely sauteed carrots and zucchini . You have to actually caramelize the carrot, or it tastes like, well, a raw carrot. To the management: people notice these things.
Still, I would bring guests here. This is a family owned and operated establishment, and a nice change from the chain restaurants that abound.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
921 reviews
623 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“A GO TO LOCAL PLACE”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a studied old fashioned look creating a warm atmosphere.The food is all very well prepared and the service excellent. I recommend the seafood special Many locals, a really comfortable place for dinner with friends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected find.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I loved this restaurant as it reminded me of an old fashion restaurant in the 30's era, with the original features,and the waiters wore Waistcoats and long white Aprons as their uniform. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly without being over bearing. The steps inside the restaurant were carpeted but the steps a little too steep,so not good for diner's who have difficulty in climbing upstairs, although there was a small chair-lift to use.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anothersuitecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely a delight!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My son and his wife suggested this place to eat when we visited them in Discovery Bay. Quick drive over to Brentwood, easy parking but then we went early (5:00pm). Upon entering, I was taken by what a cool combination the place was of old time/contemporary ambiance. Sparkling glassware and white tablecloths with a friendly looking bar and ability to see the kitchen staff working.

The food, itself, was seemlessly delicious and well prepared. My husband had med rare prime rib which he loved and I had the fresh halibut. Beautiful, beautiful! My daughter in law had cheese raviolis which she shared and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The clam chowder had a lovely zip to it, the minestrone was good and the creme brulee knocked my socks off. Always like to share a good dining experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teach659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap's Oak Street Bar & Grilll also viewed

 

Been to Cap's Oak Street Bar & Grilll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing