We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Much Like Similar Chains”

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #6 of 132 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Like Similar Chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food can be good as diners go. But, that is really all it is. It's an upstaged diner/grill. And, for me the worst is, it's a sports bar. It's LOUD, LOUD, LOUD. It's staffed by wet-behind-the-ears youngsters who fumble simple requests and work towards the formula training they've received.

We enjoy the occasional lunch there and the food is better than many greasy spoons. But, this place is really just a Red Lobster, Olive Garden or similar place with a brew pub ambiance. Nothing to get exicted about.

Oh, and while it's not expensive, it ain't cheap either, especially if you drink.

Their homemade beers are better than standard fare, but at $5/glass can add up quickly. And, I know of some no-name brew pubs that have better home mades.

Besides, with stone floors, no walls,high ceilings, 24 TVs going non-stop and hard surface tables, did I mention it was LOUD? What is it with the need to be LOUD in restaurants these days?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomHAntioch_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    25
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OMG their pizza is IMPRESSIVELY GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've had many good dishes at BJ's, but I recently tried their pizza. Although I'd never really considered having pizza here, since I didn't think they'd make something really good. But when with family celebrating a birthday, it sounded pretty good. I could hardly believe it when I tasted it! It was LITERALLY the ABSOLUTE BEST PIZZA I've ever tasted (except perhaps a Zachary's stuffed pizza). SERIOUSLY GREAT PIZZA and some wonderful choice toppings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hit or miss on the food. Great place for football and a brew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Since this B J's opened, it has been hit or miss on the food. Food comes out slow, sometimes all at once, apps, salad and main course. Some of the food is cold, but when it is hot and timely to the table, the food is good. Some manager turn over may partially to blame, but if you want us to come back for more than beer, get your timing right and train the servers to deliver the apps while they are warm. If you send anything back because it is cold, tell them to remake it or your food will be warm and dried out.
The management did take care of the bill, but I would preferred to have a better experience without needing to talk to the manager.
I will continue to go back and hope they have fixed the issue.
Love the Margarita Flat Bread.

Duane
Discovery Bay, CA

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca,CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

this is a nice alternative to Chili's, Applebees, etc. The restaurant in Stockton was our first place we tried. Then we ate at the one in Union City and it was good. Wish we had one here in Manteca.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mxnbsnswthplsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kinda like Cheesecake factory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The buzz has this place busy.. so you barely get waited on, and when your food does come, you get rushed the bill so they can turn over the table ASAP.

One time, we decided to sit outside and immediately regretted it. Had to beg for stuff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiBound777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing