We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there before but years ago.”
Review of The Hat

The Hat
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Brea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Been there before but years ago.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My California buddy had taken me there about 5 years ago and what I remembered about this place is that they put gravy on the fries ( if you want it ). At first I was NOT going to try it but eventually changed my mind and I am glad I did. It was great. I also had the Pastrami sandwich and it was great as well. All in all I would go to this place again. A funny about this place. I frequent the Brea 24 hour fitness which is basically across the street. I have been going there for about a year now and NEVER saw this restaurant because I turn off of Stae College onto Imperial heading for the 57. It's tucked nicely behind a gas station. HA!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodrow W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“THE BEST PASTRAMI!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There is nothing to dislike about the Pastrami at THE HAT, except that it is not on my corner. BUT...I do get out Brea way frequenlly and stop to bring home a couple of sandwhiches. One for today and one for later. The full parking lot, the lines inside and the line at the drivethru tell the whole story. One of these days I will try something new there, but for now if I get near the place Pastrami calls to me

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ijustknow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great fast food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

One of the best pastrami sandwiches I've ever had. The French dips are great too. Beware the fries. Only a competition eater could finish an order by themselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randolph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Giant Portions!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After driving past The Hat numerous times, we decided to try it for lunch on our last visit to SoCal. I ordered a chili cheese dog and my husband a double cheeseburger. Not knowing how big the servings were, my husbanded added a chili cheese dog. The gentleman who took our order was quite a character - Had something witty to say to each customer. Staff was very efficient in getting the orders out. The gentleman who was assembling each order noticed we had been waiting a while and asked for our order number. He personally checked on what the hold up was and got our order to us promptly. We saw that the orders were double-bagged, and when I picked up our order I understood why! The chili cheese dogs were loaded with chili and cheese, and also had tomatoes and pickles (we requested no onion). My husband ended up not eating the cheeseburger that day, so we put it in the fridge at our hotel and the staff at the hotel's restaurant heated it up for him the next day. He said it was still quite tasty! Quality of food was good and portions were giant!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best pastrami around!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great pastrami and with Swiss cheese, better than great. Tip - don't spill on your shirt, cleaners can't get stains out. Don't miss out , you have to try this place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineandfood56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hat also viewed

 
Fullerton, Orange County
Brea, Orange County
 

Been to The Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing