We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brea
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a bit dated”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We had a corner suite, and the rooms are huge. The facility is somewhat dated and maintenance is a bit lacking. Our room's rugs had quite a few big patches of cigarette burns. The bathrooms are small given the size of the suite. The hot water for the shower is somewhat erratic and tough to control. The bed is on the soft side, but still quite comfortable. The TVs are old, and especially evident when we tried to watch a football game in the manager's reception lounge area. We could hardly make out the score -- the TV was just that blurry. But you get a decent breakfast, and parking is free. Beware, internet connection costs $10 a day!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8837Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    236
    110
    53
    38
See reviews for
299
128
32
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

This is a hotel that is part of the Hilton Group and lives up to its name. The stay was very comfortable with all amenities provided for. Excellent for short business trips and you have to appreciate the quality breakfast served by them which also includes a cooked to order omelette's or pancakes with hot maple syrup. There is a also
a nice selection for veggies with fruits, potatoes and cereal.

The mall next door, Brea mall, also offers the convenience of shopping and stepping out for a trial of different food types at the food court and a selection of restaurants which include - The California Pizza Kitchen, Olive Garden, Cheese Cake Factory and Red Lobster.

Do try and have fun while you are there.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Not much to dislike
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArjunGurudev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This is a very nice suite hotel. I stayed on the seventh floor which is reserved for Hilton HHonors VIP elite status members. The room was very nice and elegant and was very clean. There was not a detail that was missed and this was very refreshing. It has a sliding glass door that opens to a very little balcony. It was quite nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the free parking. Definitely eat across the street at La Cucina Ristorante.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmarep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were here with 6 other family members from 6 different states from ME. to HI. It was perfect. The hotel was very clean. They staff was very helpful. The breakfast and Happy hour were outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Googie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I Stayed overnight for meetings. The people were nice, polite and helpful. The room smelled musty and smokey. Bathroom was missing amenties (shampoo, etc.), floor was dirty (nut shells) it clearly had not been vacuumed after previous guest. The in-room coffee station had only decaf, no "real" coffee. Couch was dingy and dirty and had a large 8" rip/cut on the arm. Floors in room and hallways were dirty and in need of cleaning. When I arrived there was a bag of garbage and some pizza cartons in hallway. Overall this hotel had a shabby run down appearance. Too bad, I've stayed here a number of times, but it is definitely going down hill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FargoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

You know, I absolutely LOVE this hotel. It is so perfect: comfortable, friendly, all the right amenities, etc...I always look forward to staying here, and it has become my Girlfriend and I's favorite place for a "night away". What's so great? Everything! The rooms are incredibly comfortable. The beds, the linens, the AC, etc....sounds silly and all that, but really, you should know by now that the AC is the single most important part of a hotel room! Well, here it's perfect. It works so well, it's quiet, it actually spits air out that matches the number on the unit, etc...lol. The beds are soft and comfortable. The lines are always in perfect condition, clean, and so soft. The rooms are large too, with great living spaces/pull out bed, sofas, chairs, desk, it has it all. Okay, the best part, HAPPY HOUR! You get free drinks in the bar for 2 hours every single day if you're a hotel guest! That's why we do it! So, come happy hour, you head to the bar for complimentary wine, whiskey, beer, ____ (insert drink here!). And they also put out a great spread of food. How great is that? We go, bring some food for the room, fill up the fridge, head down for a couple of drinks, go upstairs to get "comfy" (if you know what I'm sayin'!), to watch a movie, relax, then sleep. It's quiet and comfortable in the room. The next morning the Hotel offers a fantastic complimentary breakfast in a very well appointed indoor courtyard (hence the name!). Really, it's just a great spot. You have Brea Mall (a great mall) 10 steps out the front door, shops all around, restaurants, downtown brea down the street, etc...Combine that with the FREE booze during happy hour (two hour period), the great complimentary breakfast, comfortable rooms, and very fair prices (usually I pay in the $90's w/discounts), and you have a great hotel stay. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG HERE! ENJOY YOUR STAY, AND HAVE FUN AT HAPPY HOUR....GREAT PLACE TO TALK, MEET PEOPLE AND RELAX.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazonaroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, Ca
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Located next to Brea Mall near 57 freeway. Parking is free in underground garage. Large atrium, attactively decorated. On-site restaurant and bar. Evening reception had fairly limited snacks, breakfast had good variety of items. Hotel was clean throughout and staff was friendly and helpful. Upper penthouse suite is quite large, with a large bathroom equipped with double shower and tub. There are a number of stairs to climb to reach the suite. Some details were lacking, such as missing stopper for the sink, and some of the ceiling lights were out. Bed was comfortable, but the a/c fans ran almost continuously. View is of the mall next door. Could use a nightlight in the bathroom, it is very dark.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brea
1.9 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel Brea
2.7 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
2.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,312 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
465 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#46 of 118 in Anaheim
4,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County
Address: 900 E Birch St, Brea, CA 92821-5812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Brea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of North Orange County, the Embassy Suites Brea is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in Brea, CA. Our spacious suite accommodations feature separate living and bedroom areas complete with a refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. Business and leisure guests alike enjoy our modern amenities on-property including an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and restaurant. Join us for complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning and wind down every night with cocktails and snacks at the Complimentary Evening Reception. Guests enjoy our convenient location adjacent to the Brea Mall and within walking distance of shopping, dining and entertainment. The city of Brea is an upscale community just 8 miles north of the Anaheim Resort and Anaheim Convention Center. This arts community offers one of the nation's largest "Art in Public Places" displays. With over 10,000 square feet of meeting space and expert event planners on staff, the Embassy Suites Brea is the perfect place to hold an upcoming wedding, business meeting, or family reunion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Brea - North Orange County Hotel Brea
Brea Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing