We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Happy Hour spot”
Review of Yard House

Yard House
Ranked #12 of 198 Restaurants in Brea
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
La Habra, California
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Perfect Happy Hour spot”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Yard House has one of my favorite beers - Pear Cider. There food is good and menu is huge. The only downside is they are always busy - so hard to get a large group in. They do allow for reservations. If you are planning for a party larger than 4 or 6 - I would try to secure something.

There are a lot of great restaurants in Brea - so if Yard House does not work out - just walk to one of the other options.

Helpful?
Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    51
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Onion rings and beer”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoy the appetizers and beer flights. The happy hour makes this a very economical choice. The Yardhouse in Brea is just down from the Improv; great night out!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snoopydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food & range of beers”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Been here on my short holiday in LA. My cousin brought me here. The staffs are friendly. The food was awesome. Good atmosphere and heaps of beers. Will definitely visit this restaurant again when I'm back to LA. Probably next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“KIND OF NOISY”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't patronize very often. Too much noise, games, etc. going on. Prefer quieter dining. Food is good and you get your money's worth.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Finally decided to write a review on Brea Yardhouse!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

As a beer lover, I often used to travel to the Long Beach Yard House (or Triangle Square, or the Spectrum - as each new location opened) to get my Yard House "fix". When Brea opened, in 2006 it became much easier for me and I have been much happier since. For those who have not yet tried The Yard House, I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to sample new brews directly from the tap rather than from a bottle! Although they do offer bottles of unusual beers too. More "macro" than "micro" brewery selections are available. All styles and beers from many countries are represented. Food selections and prices are what one would expect in an "upscale casual" restaurant. My personal favorite is the Vodka shrimp pasta - or Pastrami sliders during happy hour. My wife likes their presentation of the California roll and the clam chowder. Service can vary, but always is more "spotty" on Friday and Saturday nights, as expected due to the crowds. Best bargains are at Happy Hour - M-F 3:00 PM to 6:00 PM and Sun-Thurs 10 PM to midnight. Lots of TV screens for sports fans. Not the best for casual conversation ( often noisy in much of the restaurant and bar areas when crowded). Reservations can be made for parties of eight or more, except for Saturday from 6 PM to 10 PM. For those who already know about Yard House, but not this particular one -- standard menu, atmosphere and ambiance (beer selections do vary slightly from location to location).Parking is relatively ample behind the restaurant or across the street in the multi-level parking structure during the week. However, on the weekends, especially after 6 PM - and if a popular new movie is playing - parking close to the restaurant can be difficult to find. I would just pay for the valet parking out back. I patronize it frequently enough, that when during the Holiday Season (or sometimes during other times of the year) they have promotions - like buy $100 in gift certificates and get $20 of additional gift certificates for free - I always buy a few to use for myself and then get the added extra benefit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi JackR46 - Thank you for leaving a review...finally. :) We appreciate you taking the time to write it. You included so much great detail about our restaurant, thank you for that. We'll see you again soon, cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing