We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Cheap and Basic in Brea”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyland Motel

Hyland Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyland Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brea
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean, Cheap and Basic in Brea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you can live with basic, as long as it’s exquisitely clean, then the Hyland is for you. I got my room through Hotwire, and it was at the very lowest end of prices, but I figured it would be a safe bet. It is, but with compromises. Rooms are smallish, but very nicely furnished, including a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwaveand one-cup coffee maker (you have to use the motel’s packages but they will give you more) in the small closet alcove. The bath is very nice, with a full bath/shower, and is as perfectly clean as the rest of the room, all of which appear recently renovated. There’s a table, with two pull-up chairs, a dresser, a desk, and a small sofa, as well as a very firm comfortable bed. Drawbacks, though, exist in the spotty WiFi (it always works but sometimes very slowly), the lack of an ice machine, the lack of an kind of breakfast (restaurants of all prices are nearby) and the thinnish walls. It’s as if someone took a 1940s motel court and remade it in the 21st Century which is probably what occurred.

Room Tip: Halfway back. You need to ask for a nonsmoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
3
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you are in need of a clean room for a night or two the Hyland Motel fits the bill. My family lives nearby, and the Hyland is convenient to their house. This motel has been vastly improved over the years, and there is really nothing to complain about. For a place to shower and get a good nights rest at an affordable price, you can't go wrong staying at the Hyland.

Room Tip: Rooms further back will be away from the main road just outside the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68ElCamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very Convenient Location to my Work.Tried this motel but was very upset with Clerk Service.Monday late night at 1:30am nobody was there to attend.Waited for 5 Minutes and then i was offered room.
Location was very good but Room had broken shower head, broken locking bar, caked on dirt around the smoke detector. No offer to change room by clerk..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unsatisfie_2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brea hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barcelona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The drive from LAX was longer than expected because of heavy traffic and we were arriving from Europe.

We are a family of 4 and stayed there for 5 nights as we were going to Brea Mall, a couple of days to Disney and visiting some friends in the area and in San Bernardino. We just wanted a clean place to rest and have a shower. Room was cleaned on alternative days. Breakfast is available crossing the street or few blocks away with more options at the Imperial Hwy crossing. Microwave, coffe maker, fridge and extra towels on request were always available.

It was clean, quiet, safe, affordable and convenient for our purpose. The A/C - Heating was a bit noisy for us, but that's also an issue unless you're ready to spend at least $130/night

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoakeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The room is a bit small but for the price it's just right. Clean rooms and restrooms. Great selection and quality of TV channels. Best budget friendly hotel I've been in. AC and Heater worked fine. This hotel is also located in a nice neighborhood.

Room Tip: The non smoking rooms are further away from the street so less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeTimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Came back to the old neighborhood to visit family and friends and this was a central location. Room was small but clean. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Minutes from the Brea Mall. There was no daily maid service and found it interesting that the room next door was being cleaned at 11:00pm. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed at Hyland Motel twice and I had pleasant experience. I checked in at a very off hour (around 2am) and the owner was very nice, despite the fact that I woke him up in the middle of the night. The place is clean and settled in a quiet neighborhood. I will definitely come back if I'm in this area! Oh and there's no swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolwing99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brea
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County
2.8 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel Brea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Brea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyland Motel

Property: Hyland Motel
Address: 727 S Brea Blvd, Brea, CA 92821-5310
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Brea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hyland Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing