We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Lazy Dog Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #3 of 194 Restaurants in Brea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barcelona
Level Contributor
190 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can I say. My wife and I have eaten at a couple of other Lazy Dogs and came away really pleased with good food priced well.
This time we went to a new location up and Brea to meet another couple who had also had good lunches or dinners at different LD's
The food was not just bad it was terrible.
I had the Fried rice with chicken. The chicken was like putting sand in your mouth it was so try and tasteless. They tried to handle it but what came out was almost as bad.
Our friends had fish tacos just not good and flat iron steak which rated a OK.
The teriyaki chicken which my wife had wasn't quite as bad as mine but still not good.
Service ok but not great.
I think they have expanded too fast to have quality control or having start up problems with a new location.
Be warned

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elridder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fun, relaxed restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took our college daughter and her two roomates for late lunch/early dinner. We were excited to try this place from the change of restaurants, it looks like a fun place from the outside and we were not disappointed. Even though it was middle of the afternoon, the place was very full, but we were seated right away. The inside is very lively, lots of energy, happy staff, and great decor, with TV's around the bar as well. They even have dog bone mints at the check out stand, with little touches like that all over . We had a very friendly helpful server who helped us with our meal choices. My husband ordered the pulled pork sandwich and enjoyed it and I ordered the shrimp tacos, which were great! my daughter and friends were happy with their sandwiches and even split one of the meals, which the server brought out on different plates and split the food before hand which i thought was an added courtesy. Great place for a family outing, or even on a date night!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Complementary Valet!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food and service are superb! The even offer free valet! Although it is really busy due to the fact that it's new in the area, I still highly recommend a visit to this location. It's also great to watch sports because they have many screens around the bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very impressive for large chain resaturant”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived on a busy Thursday night with a business colleague to be told a table was about 40 minutes but we got a seat at the bar immediately. As the place was so packed, part of a chain and has a huge menu I expect mediocrity at best. How nice it is to be proved wrong.

Service at the bar was genuinely friendly and prompt. The food I chose, Japanese cucumber salad, sweet potato tots and meatloaf with spinach and mashed potatoes was excellent. Further the prices are all very reasonable. I'd say it was some of the best busy chain restaurant food I've ever had. This place will definitely get another visit when I am back in the area. The sweet potato tots are a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Valentine’s Day at the Lazy Dog Cafe”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Braised Pot Roast Melt is braised pot roast, melted mozzarella, caramelized red onions, tangy black pepper and horseradish cream sauce atop toasted herb foccacia bread. This sandwich was finger-licking good. The pot roast was so tender it just melts in your mouth. The combination of creamy & gooey mozzarella, sweet caramelized red onions, zingy black pepper & horseradish sauce works really well together. My only complaint is that it messy to eat as a sandwich. But, there are no rules on how to eat it so pick up that fork and go at it. The sautéed spinach was cooked just right with a vibrant green color and fresh flavor. Thumbs up!

Cobb salad is chopped chicken breast, tomato, avocado, bleu cheese crumbles, hickory-smoked bacon, and egg. Ask for it tossed so all of the flavors get mingled together. Cobb salad is my favorite salad and Lazy Dog makes a pretty good one. It's a close second to the Cheesecake Factory's rendition which is my all time favorite. A good addition might be a slice of garlic cheese toast or breadstick. Otherwise, well done! Thumbs up!

Butter Cake is their homemade butter cake topped with strawberry compote garnished with sweet balsamic reduction, mint chiffonade and a tennis ball-size scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The cake is like a combination of a vanilla cake and biscuit. It holds up really well with the compote like a gourmet take on strawberry shortcake. The balsamic vinegar was wonderful with the vanilla ice cream, like chocolate syrup. I think this would be much better with just some homemade vanilla whipped cream to balance out the heavy cake and forgo the vanilla ice cream. Thumbs up!

Cinnamon & Sugar Pizza is their dessert pizza, brick oven-baked, with cinnamon sugar butter and a single scoop of vanilla ice cream. This is a great dessert to share with the family. The cinnamon sugar butter was perfectly caramelized and added a layer of crispy texture. The vanilla ice cream was luscious and had plenty of vanilla bean specks in it. Thumbs up!

Triple Chocolate Chip Brownie is their signature brownie recipe that combines milk, white and semi-sweet chocolate chips to create a moist and rich chocolate treat that sits atop a teardrop-shaped run of chocolate fudge and is dusted with powdered sugar topped with a tennis ball-size scoop of vanilla ice cream. The chocolate brownie was decadent and full of rich chocolate flavor. The chocolate fudge was more like a ganache with a velvety smooth texture. Thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Dog Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Brea, Orange County
Brea, Orange County
 

Been to Lazy Dog Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing