We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different experience and nice change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunos Trattoria

Brunos Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Brunos Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 193 Restaurants in Brea
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brea/Imperial Hwy.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Different experience and nice change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is a nice change for the hip downtown Brea. It is not a typical Italian Restaurant in a good way. They offer great specials at reasonable prices. I recommend this when you want something fresh and exciting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everything was delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Needed a place to eat near the Brea Improv, and we found it. Six of us enjoyed a wonderful meal. Started with good bread. My husband and I got the $30 appetizer, entree, dessert and a glass of wine. Great deal. I had the fried rice balls for an appetizer, fabulous pasta with short ribs and caramel pudding for the finale. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Service was excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best-reviewed restaurants in Orange County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant opened just last year in Brea and we've already gone four or five times. We try to tell all our friends about it. The food is fantastic and the prices are reasonable. We enjoyed their New Years Eve party and we've also brought a large party there for a birthday celebration, and we've been overjoyed with the food and service every time. They do a neat thing where they charge the same price for all the wines so that you'll feel free to try different ones without worrying about price. The arancini appetizer is to die for, and the family-style spaghetti sampler was a new surprise the last time we went, but really everything we've tried has been great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottM92821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place, will come here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Been here a couple of times, and most recently with a group of friends and their family and had a great time! If you're looking for a fun experience and great food, this is the place for you!

The restaurant is small, but not 'hole in the wall' small as you'll find in New York. It has a modern touch, however I was surprised at how loud it got the time I went there. There's a bar area against the left side wall towards the back when you walk in, and outdoor seating available if you're up for people watching. The restaurant is in a place called "Downtown Brea" that's centered around a couple of movie theaters. There are a new restaurants and shops, but feels like it's mostly geared towards a younger (high school) crowd for weekend movie watching. There's nothing wrong with it, but just be aware when you go.

The food is more of the 'authentic' Italian flair, and defiantly a step up from what you'll find at most chain restaurants! The meatball here are to die for! They literally melt in your mouth, and are nearly to the point that it's addicting! What I love about this place is that it has a few dishes that's a little hard to find in most places. The arancini is what I recommend for an appetizer. For those who haven't had it, it's basically Italian street food, but a little hard to come by unless you go to a more authentic Italian place. Keep in mind the menu is a little small, but it's about quality not quantity. If you want to enjoy a nice dinner

The only disappointment is that the desert menu is a little sparse. It's basically gelato and a tiramisu, and that's about it. I was hoping for something more unique like panpepato or crostata, things that again are hard to find, but it's a small complaint.

Overall it's a great place in a fun area, and I highly recommend it! Just be aware that it's going to be a little loud, and don't expect the usual simple Italian flair!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Splendido!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was stellar and very authentic, the service was spot-on and very professional and friendly, (Dee), and the ambiance was super. Overall it was a splendid experience.
This was the best Italian food we've had in OC in ages. The co-owner, Don Meyers, stopped by and we visited for quite some time. He is very passionate about this place and it shows. (We remembered him from his days managing the original Catch restaurant in Anaheim.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunos Trattoria also viewed

Brea, Orange County
Brea, Orange County
 
Brea, Orange County
 

Been to Brunos Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing