We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Party spot - Shelter #3”
Review of Carbon Canyon Park

Carbon Canyon Park
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Brea
Attraction details
La Habra, California
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Party spot - Shelter #3”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had my sons 5th birthday party here. The reason we loved it:
1) The playground is huge
2) The tables in the park can be moved. They are heavy, but we were able to move tables to our shelter area to accomodate all the people

To have a party at the park there is a fee to rent the space - plus a fee to have vendors come into the park. However, it was still a great spot.

The rangers came by asking if we needed anything - the trash was overflowing, but they fixed that. There was also a little puddle of water that they filled with sand. Great service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

There are other parks we prefer more, but it is nice. Not one we think of going to very often. Don't know what else to say, have only visited it once. More likely to go to other parks. Carbon Canyon Rd. is too windy for my liking.

Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice regional park with ammenities, a pond stocked with fish and hiking trails. Connects to Chino Hills State Park for additional hiking. Be sure to take the walk to the Redwood Grove. Also accross Hwy 142 is the Olinda Park and Museum which has artifacts related to the oil industry and additional trails with excellent views. Take apicnic and spend the day. Parking fee.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HB_CA_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Ticks, Coyotes and Rattlesnakes”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We've been here a number of times, with and without our dogs. The park itself is green, with a nice little lake. There are trails to hike but you have to be aware of the mountain bikers, rattlesnakes, coyotes, and bugs. By chance I saw one of my dogs brush against a bush & two ticks instantly jumped on each ear. She scratched one off immediately, killing it, but we had to yank the other one off her right ear before it got a good grip. This was right on the dirt road: the ticks apparently just hang onto the tips of the bushes and wait.
We did not see a rattlesnake but a jogger came around the bend and showed us one he had just filmed on the path ahead. When we got there, it was gone. Hiking further, we encountered two coyotes, one on the path next to us, keeping pace with our dogs. Eventually my stronger dog spooked it and it bolted. Far, far up into the hills we saw another one off in the distance in the tall grass.
As you can see, it's important to be comfortable with nature if you plan on hiking the trails. The park itself is far more "civilized".
I emphatically implore leaving smaller dogs at home and making sure your pets you do bring are up to date on tick preventatives. (Also, you are in rattlesnake territory so keep your dogs leashed).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Forgottensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good when it is NOT HOT!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Nice hikes by the horse corrals. Limited trees. NOT MANY PEOPLE! Feels like you are out of the city (but you are surrounded by the city).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pampira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carbon Canyon Park also viewed

 
Brea, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 

Been to Carbon Canyon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing