We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality and genuine Kashmiri experience”
Review of Hotel Milkyway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aru Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Milkyway
Ranked #1 of 5 Aru Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hospitality and genuine Kashmiri experience”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were so glad to have the opportunity of catching the raw beauty of Aru Valley just before winter, in the comfort of MilkyWay and the owners' safe hands.

Fayaz and Bilal in particular organised everything from pick-up, trekking in the snow, to personally driving us back to Srinagar, demonstrating unmatched hospitality throughout.

The room, delicious meals and endless supply of tea were fantastic value for money.

Do not hesitate to stay at this wonderful guesthouse. It'll undoubtedly be one of the most memorable and worry-free Kashmiri experience you won't regret!

Due to limited internet access, the best way to contact them is via phone: +91 1936210899, +91 9205208495, +91 9419435832 or +91 9797000434.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freakcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
21
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Milkyway is authentic Kashmiri hospitality and a Trekkers Paradise. The team at Milkyway treats you more like a family than hotel guests. Food is delicious, fresh and healthy. And after a hard day’s trek, Khava is to die for.
Treks are a must do and a perfect way to experience the pristine wilderness and what’s better than to be in the company of the Milkyway guides; they are expert trekkers and know every nook and corner of the valley.
Rooms are small, but clean and hygienic. Actually, the entire place is absolutely clean and very well maintained. Hot water is available all the time in the bathroom.
A big thanks to Bilal Bhai and Fayaz Bhai; and In shaa Allah, we will be back soon.
I would highly recommend this place for the adventure seekers. Go out and enjoy the wilderness…..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netaniya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent one week in Aru Kashmir, hosted in the Milkyway Gesthouse
The are is green and beautiful, the guesthouse is comfortable, clean and inviting and most of all the people – The managers and the crew took care of all our needs and more.
The whole week was like a good dream. The Place, The atmosphere, the hospitality, the food, the daily tacks – everything contributed to our great experience.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichalR278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed in Milkyway for one week from 2-9 september.
Beautiful scenery around Aru, You wake up with sound of birds & water
It was great. Very clean, very tasty, very nice and kind staff.
Fayaz & Bilal were very helpful and friendly.
Fayaz himslef dropped us back to Srinagar airport and made sure we got to our flight in time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorit r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore,India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at Milky way for 2 nights..was stunned and amazed with the beautiful scenery around Aru..it is a hidden gem

Milky Way is by far the best option in Aru and it is a cute little guesthouse with a chilled out vibe and simple and clean rooms...and good food and located right next to the lidder river and a stone's throw from where the horse rides begin ..

And the two brother Fayaz & Bilal were very helpful and friendly ..Fayaz himslef dropped us back to Srinagar airport and made sure we got to our flight in time

Loved to hang out in their garden and the hallway..which is lined up with large windows with a great view..

All in all..Aru is a magical destination and the team at milkyway make your stay easy & relaxed..heard they arrange for treks..we don't try as we were travelling with a 2 year old..

Thanks

Nikhil & Sandra

Room Tip: We had the rooms with a double bed and a single bed on the 1st floor..was decent sized and had a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikso11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and my friends stayed there a week and we had a very good time ! The manager and the staff are very nice and welcome . The room clean and in high standard compared to the price.
מחיר מיוחד לישראלים.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19baraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halutz, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights in June 13. While nice, clean and very polite owners (2 brothers Fayaz and Billal) we made a fatal mistake by ordering transportation to/from Srinagar by Fayaz. Although friendly (only) while calm, Fayaz is unreliable, irresponsible, and repeatedly lied about his where about ( he didn't show up at the airport to pick us after being more that 24 hours in various flights. When we twice phoned him to told us he'll be in 5 minutes, yet didn't show up even after 1.5 hours (eventually, a police man helped us). The other day we agreed on a morning drive back to Srinagar, yet, at the mutually agreed time WE had to wake up lazy Fayaz! Besides, in 2 of the 3 nights there was NO hot water although they promised otherwise....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mibadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aru Valley
5.4 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
5.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 21 in Pahalgam
293 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 21 in Pahalgam
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Aru Eco Resort
Aru Eco Resort
#15 of 88 in Pahalgam
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Front Guest House
River Front Guest House
#4 of 96 in Pahalgam
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milkyway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milkyway

Property: Hotel Milkyway
Address: | Pahalgam, Aru Valley 192126, India (Formerly Milkyway Guest House)
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Aru Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aru Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel with 30 years experience of hosting international and local guests and arranging high quality personalised trekking and camping tours in the beautiful Aru Valley near the famous Pahalgam, Kashmir. Ideal for those seeking genuine peace and tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing