We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Must see Redwoods

I wanted to see redwoods, big ones and I was not disappointed!! Incredible sizes🤤 Took the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
trish-doug
,
Mount Pearl, Canada
via mobile
Amazing Must Visit place

One of the most amazing places in the world and so accessible from the San Jose area. Feels like a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Easwar S
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 599 reviews
  
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
435
114
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
114
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa cruz tent cabins sunset trail berry creek falls big trees banana slugs amazing trees gift shop ranger station largest trees short trail hour hike hiking trails the loop windy road awe inspiring mother nature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I wanted to see redwoods, big ones and I was not disappointed!! Incredible sizes Took the self-guided tour - very easy to do by using the guide paper. Lots of photo opportunities and knowledge to gain. Easy walk for any age. Small cabin with history and maps and pictures - good to go through. Gift shop has lots of items, not too expensive. Good washrooms! Lots of picnic tables, so bring some food and enjoy the forest. Be prepared for it to be cool, so dress in layers. Could come back many times and do more hikes for sure.

Thank trish-doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the most amazing places in the world and so accessible from the San Jose area. Feels like a cathedral among the trees! A truly holy place indeed!

Thank Easwar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This gorgeous state park sprinkled with various level campgrounds, from primitive to full service, is an amazing place. So easy to reach from San Jose and Santa Cruz to plan other fun activities and travel around. I'd spend at least three days in the park, especially if you love backpacking, etc.

Thank happyfeetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in at south west end at ocean since forest fires prohibited entry off hwy 9. Hiked onto the park and had s great day. Very few people great views very peaceful and wonderful weather. Nice stop along hwy 1 on why to San Francisco.

Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at Big Basin on our drive from San Francisco to Monterey and it was well with the time. The drive into the park offered spectacular views of the city as you traversed switch back roads. Be sure to roll your windows down, it smells incredible. I wish I could have a candle to enjoy the smells of nature daily at home. We got a map from a park ranger and she suggested a wonderful route based on the time we had. The sheer size and longevity of these trees is incredible. This is a must do, even if you’re just driving nearby.

Thank runbirdie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recommended this park and we are glad we took the advice. Getting there is via a very twisty road - but that was part of the overall experience with beautiful scenes. A smaller, manouverable vehicle is better than a van or other big machine. Once there there is a park fee for your vehicle, but the cost is more than worth it. There are multiple trails including at least one for mobility challenged people - and some excellent information available along with the beautiful trees, birds, and other natural sights. Some of the longer trails are quite challenging, but the maps identify the grade and skill level so you can be prepared.

Thank ICFY95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We arrived when they opened, so parking was not a problem (we were also there during the week in October). We started with the easy Redwood Trail and then hit the moderate Sequoia Trail. Had we known how awesome this place was, we wouldn't have wasted time or money going to Muir Woods.

1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is an amazing place to visit for day hiking in the redwoods. Miles of trails, some stretching alway to the beach. There are cabin sites, which are cozy and fun. They have potbelly stove heating inside with raised mattresses and even offer camping packages which are no-pack. They provide the sleeping bags, pillows and everything else you might need. Tent camping sites are nice too. There are so many, it is great to take a walk and list ones you might love. That said, they book quick, so you should come with a reservation the first time. As a word of warning, all the sites are deeply put in the redwoods. Access to most are easy, but it gets very dark and cool very quickly since little sun reaches the forest floor.

Thank norcalgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Exciting to drive down into the park, through the redwoods ...
And then there was a bit of a trying time finding a parking space, followed by a pleasant enough walk in a queue of other tree-admirers.
Not the best big tree experience for us, but still well worth the visit.

Thank N3018QVmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The road itself to the park is gorgeous and exciting.
Once you reach the destination you have several options..
I had a only couple of hours and did a short walk which was satisfying as is though I saw there are more attractions in the long trails.
Amazing spot - don't hesitate to stop there.

Thank hazanrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews