We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Authentic, adventurous, and unique experience you'll rave about for a while

My boyfriend and I did a private desert tour for my birthday - it was an incredible experience! We... read more

Reviewed June 27, 2020
CaroJStar
,
New York City, New York
Best tour

Best back country Jeep tour ever. Hope to do it again next year. Drove over roads that I wouldn’t... read more

Reviewed April 2, 2020
wendypendy1950
,
Truckee, California
Read all 303 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Borrego Springs
from $153.85
More Info
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
290
7
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
7
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour private tour off road slot canyon lemon water anza borrego dry lake bed great tour flora and fauna joe knows his knowledge army truck brownie split mountain fonts point jeep ride knowledgeable guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 303 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We had a great time on the Celestial Overnight!!! We loved everything about it! The staff, the other campers, location ... the scorpion hunt was a big hit.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Ahuva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Joe, owner of Overland Desert Excursions, provided us (Arlene, Sasha & Benjie Garcia and Thelma and me) a great adventure. The 104° weather was severe but it didn't stop us! We jumped into Joe's all-terrain military vehicle and first visited a box canyon that needed 4-wheel drive to even approach. It was carved into soft sandstone deposited by the Colorado River millions of years ago. Then Joe proceeded to describe the flora and fauna of the area (teaching this old Arizona Boy Scout many things!), the geology (which is astonishingly complex and active), and the history of the area from 10,000 to 10 years ago. We were duly impressed. Joe is amazingly patient and accommodating, fielding questions from novices and old know-it-alls alike with good humor and patience. Then we sat down to a great dinner, fried chicken, potato salad, a green salad, and even watermelon for our Fourth of July celebration. Then we were off to see the BAD LANDS ending up at Font's Point. Check out the amazing images that I posted to my facebook site, and then after the sun set we went to Clark's dry lakebed ---far enough from the city lights to see a beautiful rising of the Milky Way and with Joe's equipment, the Galileo's moons of Jupiter and the crescent of Venus. A beautiful trip. We are planning to return for another of Joe's adventures!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank doctorotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

My nieces, my son and I had a fantastic time during our Sunset to Stars tour. Joe was a great guide. He was very friendly, informative and took great pictures. The meal at the end of our tour hit the spot.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Velvet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

For those of you that love to have tents set up for them, a fabulous dinner cooked, and a view of the stars with a knowledgeable astronomer and first class telescope, then this is for you. My girls and I did this and despite the 114 degree temps we all loved it - even the bumpy ride and having to pee behind the bushes - that's camping!! A few others in the group and Joe made it a weekend to remember. Great fun for a family getaway.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

We had a 2.5 hour tour with Joe who was very nice and provided a very good and passionate description of the desert and the wild life. We would go back again with an overnight tour / camping they organize!.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank dudek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews