We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed, unpretentious desert comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“relaxed, unpretentious desert comfort”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed twice at the Hacienda del Sol in July 2009, a three-night stay over July 4th weekend while on the annual Bighorn Sheep Count, and a two-night stay in mid-July just to kick back and enjoy the desert. We've been staying here for years while on the summer Bighorn Count, and it's our favorite desert motel.

The Hacienda is an older (50 or so years?) facility with a motel section and several cute casitas, all surrounded by native desert landscaping. The motel rooms are spartan, but clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms were upgraded this year with new flooring and fixtures. (The only thing that would improve the bathrooms is more hooks for hanging the nice thick towels.) There is a generous open closet space, free in-room coffee, and a daily San Diego newspaper. The A/C units were upgraded in the last couple of years and are much quieter than the old ones, and recently the west-facing windows were covered with paneling. (I noticed one reviewer complained about this paneling, but it was actually a HUGE improvement, since the next-door mall's extremely bright security lighting used to shine through the curtains all night.) The owners, Mike and Kathy, are always very kind and helpful with all our needs and they have good suggestions for restaurants and activities. Be aware that in the summer months, there isn't always maid service on weekdays if only one or two rooms are occupied. (This doesn't bother us a bit, since we like to save water and energy by not changing linens daily.)

The pool is always very clean, and one end is solidly shaded, so the pool area is relatively comfortable even at midday in summer. It's pleasant to laze around in the pool at night as the local bats dip down for a drink.

There is a very nice picnic area located in the ruins of a former casita, beneath some huge old palo verde trees. One can sit here, eat breakfast as the sun comes up, watch a coyote or kangaroo rat scurry by, perhaps see a poorwill, bat or owl fly overhead going home from a night's hunting, or maybe watch some doves drink from the birdbath.

The casitas are also nice and roomier if you have more than two in your party - the kitchens are quite handy for preparing meals. But the Hacienda is within walking distance of several inexpensive restaurants, too.

Hacienda del Sol is not a fancy resort, and it's not a mints-on-your-pillow B&B. It's a comfortable, quirky, funky-but-clean place to really relax, contemplate, and enjoy the desert and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoLovesSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
62
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This is not some modern, plastic chain hotel. That being said, we love the laid-back rustic atmosphere of this place; it's like stepping back in time a bit. The rooms were clean; the management very friendly (and humorous!).

We stayed in one of the motel units, although the air conditioning unit was loud, it worked well even though the daytime temperatures were over 100. There is a coffee shop across the street in the small shopping mall for breakfast, and restaurants for lunch or dinner two blocks down the street (Carlee's), a Mexican restaurant across the street, and another one, one block up the street, so "central location" is right! A grocery store is also one block away, a liquor store, sandwich shop and taco stand across the street as well. Wine and gourmet store across the street in the mall. Ice cream/coffee shop and another liquor store one block up. It was nice not having to get in the car to get anywhere; this is the only place in Borrego where you can do that.

In the morning, we made coffee in the room, and sat outside in the cool shade in one of the patios, entertained by the local widlife (ravens, pigeons, rabbits, and chipmunks)!

We also went swimming in the place's old but clean swimming pool one evening; nothing like a cool dip on a hot evening!!!

This is the second time we've stayed here. And they deliver the morning paper to the doorstep of your room, too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We found the Hacienda Del Sol to be rustic, but an acceptable place to stay. The hotel is fairly old (built in 40s or 50s) and centrally located in Borrego Springs. Rooms are basic and furnished with dated furniture; however, everything was clean. The pool area was nice, and the water was exceptionally clean/clear. Many different species of cactus are on the hotel grounds, and some were flowering during our stay. We didn't have any problems with the manager-- he was friendly and welcoming. When I made reservations, he stated very clearly that check-in was after 2:00 PM. So if you arrive in town before 2:00 PM, go to the bar 1 block east of the hotel and have a couple of beers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortunateSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed over New Year's and I learned a bit about this place to clarify what others have said. I walked around the property and saw a Hummer and late-model Mercedes sedan parked in front of the largest unit, a cottage opposite the motel building. I said hi and was greeted by the actual owners who were staying for a couple of nights. Apparently they have a fairly decent two bedroom cottage that they keep for themselves. They use the unit as a vacation away from home. The guy that reviews talk about is their manager, and he has been there for many years. I noticed that he had a no-vacancy sign up except for the nights the owners were there. When he put that sign up there were obviously still plenty of vacant units, but the sign magically disappeared when the owners arrived, and then went back up again when they left. We stayed in one of the six motel units. We could see that recently all of the windows facing the sunset were taken out and the wall filled in so there is no cross-lighting or possible fresh air currents through the room. This makes the rooms rather dark, and I can only imagine how stuffy during warmer weather. Two Spanish-speaking ladies drove around during the mornings in an electric maids' cart. They are nice enough, I'm sure, but they did not really clean, only replaced towels. They must clean between guest arrivals because the room was clean when we arrived. Oh, yes, the manager told us to come back at 2pm when we arrived at 1pm. Funny thing is that we hung out and noticed no activity took place around the units during the waiting period, so the wait is only an enforced formality. Maybe we should expect some odd behavior in remote places, I don't know.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Extremely basic, a notch above camping, I think. Maybe I am in another time zone, but I expect more than this when spending a 120$ a night for a room. Some people might call this old and charming, but spartan is more what comes to mind. I have stayed in many basic places in the Southwest and been happy, but this, to me, is pretty slumy. Honestly, I would be more comfortable primitive camping or in a campground, except that it was cold out. I did not find the management friendly - maybe even hostile. Being in construction, I don't have much tolerance for things like the roof beams and fascia cracking and sagging. I thought someone was walking on the roof all night, and found out the problem the next morning. I think the whole Borrego Motel scene is due for a wake up call - in general, the rates are way too high and people just won't go there beyond the few weeks of flowers. By then, its warmer, and the nice campgrounds have warm showers. I was hoping this place would be an alternative to the pricier places. Borrego still needs a modest, yet nicely basic place. If you know of one, let me know. Its not this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Fifties motel with nice grounds located in the middle of town. Clean, well maintained, decorated with thrift store style furnishings, not unusual for Borrego Springs. Manager is a stickler for rules, pool closed and locked promptly at 9:30 pm no exceptions. Made us wait outside for two hours untill check in time, even though our room was vacant and ready.

  • Liked — You can park your car and need not return to it untill you are ready to leave Borrego.
  • Disliked — Manager can be a weenie.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyoSouthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Dont stay here!
What a dump!
Dirty towels in bathroom
Grime everywhere-didnt want to touch light switches.
Broken light.
Broken window that looked like someone had actually broken
into the room.
Hot water ran out quick in shower.
I expect more for 80$.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Property: Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Address: 610 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5001
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing