We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slum Lords” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slum Lords”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed over New Year's and I learned a bit about this place to clarify what others have said. I walked around the property and saw a Hummer and late-model Mercedes sedan parked in front of the largest unit, a cottage opposite the motel building. I said hi and was greeted by the actual owners who were staying for a couple of nights. Apparently they have a fairly decent two bedroom cottage that they keep for themselves. They use the unit as a vacation away from home. The guy that reviews talk about is their manager, and he has been there for many years. I noticed that he had a no-vacancy sign up except for the nights the owners were there. When he put that sign up there were obviously still plenty of vacant units, but the sign magically disappeared when the owners arrived, and then went back up again when they left. We stayed in one of the six motel units. We could see that recently all of the windows facing the sunset were taken out and the wall filled in so there is no cross-lighting or possible fresh air currents through the room. This makes the rooms rather dark, and I can only imagine how stuffy during warmer weather. Two Spanish-speaking ladies drove around during the mornings in an electric maids' cart. They are nice enough, I'm sure, but they did not really clean, only replaced towels. They must clean between guest arrivals because the room was clean when we arrived. Oh, yes, the manager told us to come back at 2pm when we arrived at 1pm. Funny thing is that we hung out and noticed no activity took place around the units during the waiting period, so the wait is only an enforced formality. Maybe we should expect some odd behavior in remote places, I don't know.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
61
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Extremely basic, a notch above camping, I think. Maybe I am in another time zone, but I expect more than this when spending a 120$ a night for a room. Some people might call this old and charming, but spartan is more what comes to mind. I have stayed in many basic places in the Southwest and been happy, but this, to me, is pretty slumy. Honestly, I would be more comfortable primitive camping or in a campground, except that it was cold out. I did not find the management friendly - maybe even hostile. Being in construction, I don't have much tolerance for things like the roof beams and fascia cracking and sagging. I thought someone was walking on the roof all night, and found out the problem the next morning. I think the whole Borrego Motel scene is due for a wake up call - in general, the rates are way too high and people just won't go there beyond the few weeks of flowers. By then, its warmer, and the nice campgrounds have warm showers. I was hoping this place would be an alternative to the pricier places. Borrego still needs a modest, yet nicely basic place. If you know of one, let me know. Its not this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Fifties motel with nice grounds located in the middle of town. Clean, well maintained, decorated with thrift store style furnishings, not unusual for Borrego Springs. Manager is a stickler for rules, pool closed and locked promptly at 9:30 pm no exceptions. Made us wait outside for two hours untill check in time, even though our room was vacant and ready.

  • Liked — You can park your car and need not return to it untill you are ready to leave Borrego.
  • Disliked — Manager can be a weenie.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyoSouthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

Dont stay here!
What a dump!
Dirty towels in bathroom
Grime everywhere-didnt want to touch light switches.
Broken light.
Broken window that looked like someone had actually broken
into the room.
Hot water ran out quick in shower.
I expect more for 80$.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

This is a '50's motel that is getting a little decrepit around the edges, but is still clean and functional.

Notably, we found that its charm grows on you, and that's why I give this motel an above average rating. The courtyard in the middle is very relaxing and comfortable; in fact, we ate our breakfasts and dinners out there. The pool is nice, is a good size, and includes a shaded portion. The location is great: across the street from a small mall, next door to a grocery store, and within walking distance of several restaurants. And it's just down the street from the Anza-
Borrego visitor center. There was a VCR in our room, and the owner has a fair collection of videos you can borrow.

Bottom line: if we ever go to Borrego Springs again, we'll stay at the Hacienda.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank flipper314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

A friend who frequently travels through the desert here suggested the HDS and we took him up on it. It was great! This is NOT a plush swanky hotel with 600 count linens, etc, but a great old motorcourt straight out of the 50's. Sure it's old, but it's well maintained and very clean. The duplex we rented had a very small but very clean kitchen, so eats are cheap too. We didn't see the motel so can't comment on that. Folks at the desk were great fun too. I would definitely return for the clean rooms and nostalgia, not to mention proximity to the wildflowers.

Be aware that although each duplex will sleep 4, folks in the front bedroom/living room can only access the bathroom by going through the main bedroom, so probably fine for families or very close friends...
The owners pointed this out to me while I was making reservations, so they're not hiding anything. We went with another couple and rented side-by-side duplexes, had privacy but easy meeting for evening drinks and dinner. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance as well.

  • Liked — Location, nostalgia
  • Disliked — Nothing surprising.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatordoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

We've stayed here many times over the past 36 years, and I am surprised that this motel just recently made comments on trip advisor reviews. It is probably about 50 years old, but kept up. It is a basic motel, mom and pop style, in a hamlet where people ususlly arrive during daylight or early evening hours because of the circuitous access from the west, and in a place where nigt life stops
at 7-8 PM. I am not at all surprised that the managers were sleeping at 11PM, as mentioned in the last review. It is a satisfactory, very basic, and comfortable accommodation, especially in the bungalows. The place is kept clean. It is on about 6 acres of land, which gives a nice, uncrowded feeling, even being in the "center" of town, however tiny it may be.

I like the nostalgic feeling there, and the location. It's just a no frills property.

  • Liked — Quiet, spacious grounds
  • Disliked — some older dinged furniture needs to be replaced with the like kind.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Property: Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Address: 610 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing