We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, excellent location, and some new upgrades to bathrooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Hacienda del Sol the weekend of Mar 30-April 1. We're long-time customers who usually visit in summer. As always, we enjoyed the unpretentious, laid-back atmosphere. The room was clean and comfy and the pool was clean as always and a reasonable temperature. We were in Room 16; I notice another reviewer said they heard a lot of noise from the icemaker next door, but that wasn't a problem for us. There was a bit of TV noise from the adjoining room, but we turned the AC to the "fan only" setting and the white noise drowned out everything else.

The bathrooms have some nice new chrome-and-glass shelving installed, which helps very much with organizing toiletries (we used to put them on top of the shower wall).

Saturday evening, owners Mark and Tracy held a "customer appreciation" get-together dispensing margaritas to a happy crowd in the patio area. It was nice to meet some of the other guests. Usually when we're at Hacienda, it's July 4th weekend and there aren't too many guests, other than folks who, like us, are counting bighorn sheep for Calif. State Parks.

We're glad that the Hacienda is making small changes but not altering the overall atmosphere of the property. Staying here really adds to our desert experience. When you stay here, be sure to make yourself a cup of in-room coffee, get outdoors before the sun comes up and wander over to the patio. Look for owls, poorwills, and bats flying overhead, and perhaps you'll see a coyote trotting through the complex.

Room Tip: We like the room on the very end of the complex (I think it's rm. 21). It's usually very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoLovesSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

We appreciate your feedback, and for continuing to make the Hacienda your place to stay. My grandparents purchased the Hacienda del Sol about 45 years ago, and we continue to enjoy it to this very day. We are trying to be very careful about the improvements we are making, while maintaining the 50's vib.... Thank you for noticing... Hope to see you again soon....

Mark and Tracy Lyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Older motel - most with kitchens - many duplex cabins. It is comfortable, spread out and the grounds are great. The furnishings are mix & match, probably all from second hand stores. Important stuff - good beds, clean sheets, nice big towels, are great. The owners host Sat. night margarita parties during the season - which is winter and spring. I would definitely recommend it and definitely go back. It's in walking distance to a grocery, several restaurants, & stores. Great desert views from most units.

Room Tip: You might ask to check out your unit since the furnishings differ. The units they call cabins - # 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments, and are so glad you enjoy our desert oasis. Please come again....

Mark and Tracy Lyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Hacienda del Sol in late March 2012. Although located on the main "highway" through Borrego Springs, the property sits on 6 well landscaped acres and our duplex was private and comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and everything very clean, but basic. The swimming pool was long enough for laps and was beautifully situated and in perfect shape. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants the flavor of the old Borrego and who isn't that fond of condos. Friendly owners. We couldn't get the DVD to work and the man came right away to set it right. They also have a large selection of DVDs & books in the office. Eve Prior, Portland, OR

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thanks for your most recent stay at the Hacienda del Sol, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. My husband and I share you thoughts about our little oasis.... right out of the 50's, comfortable relaxing atmosphere, private, mature desert landscaping....and walking distance to everything in Borrego.... We hope to see you again soon.

Mark and Tracy Lyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

For the critics: Yes, this place is old. So if you can't appreciate and/or tolerate that, it's not for you. But we happen to enjoy the historical aspect of Borrego Springs, so we really enjoyed this hotel.

It might be old, but it's well cared for. We found the furnishings and appliances to be in good condition and in working order, and everything was very clean. The grounds are well maintained and create a very relaxing atmosphere. We didn't get to take advantage of the heated pool, bbq area or shuffleboard, but we'll certainly try to do that next time. We had one of the duplexes and we did take advantage of the pleasant front patio.

The hot water and shower volume was excellent; better than I've had in some big-name hotels.

The location simply cannot be beat. It's just next door to a nice Mexican dinner, a morning latte or some afternoon ice cream -- and much more. Yet once you step back onto the property you feel like you've been removed from eveything.

The owner was extremely helpful during a particularly busy time; she communicated with us several times both by email and phone. The manager was friendly and helpful. Everyone was very accommodating; something that's lacking far too often these days.

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You can choose between motel rooms, duplexes and cottages. All the locations looked good to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4FunAndBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is our special family getaway. Nestled in the sweet town of Borrego Springs, this quaint hotel is perfect for a quick getaway to relax by the pool or sit under the stars on the outdoor patio. Though this is no resort it is PERFECT for the quick getaway.
You can enjoy one of there wonderful spacious private cabins, or as we do, just enjoy the quite, small yet very comfortable hotel rooms. The room is perfect with small children an you dont have to worry about corralling them.
The couple who run the place are always wonderful to deal with and interesting to talk with.
Get up early and hike Palm Canyon, then come back and enjoy a dip in the pool, enjoy a quite restful nap then enjoy some delicious Mexican food just down the street...wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: If the room is just a place to sleep and relax a bit don't bother with the cabin, but if you int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwfamOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Nothing special. Rather old facility, however it was adequate for the price. It had clean sheets, towels, and hot water. I had a good night sleep and that's all that matters. I did wake up to the sound of coyotes yipping, which was rather neat. I might try somewhere else if I ever got back to Borrego Springs, but I'd stay here again if nothing else was available., maybe try one of the little cabin/houses.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review. We offer three different room types, and they range from the basic motel room (which it sounds like you stayed in), duplexes (full kitchens, living room, bedroom, bathroom and private patios) and cottages (similar to duplexes, however they are individual private houses, which also have indoor and outdoor fireplaces and extra large private patios).

If you find yourself back in Borrego Springs, I encourage you to come again and sample one or our room types. Regardless of what you choose, my promise to you is that you will always be welcome and find the pool heated year round.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very pleased with our stay at Hacienda del Sol in Borrego Springs, CA

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harrisrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
494 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Address: 610 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5001
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $75 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing