We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but great view!”
Review of . Red Ocotillo

. Red Ocotillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Breakfast, lunch and dinner, pet friendly patio dining, good food, beer, wine, mimosas, bloody maries and margaritas, wi-fi access.
Irvine, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but great view!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying in Borrego Springs and we needed a WI-FI connection and I read that this restaurant had one. Located at the Palms at Indian Head hotel, we really connected with this place! Breakfast was simple but good and nice service. Fantastic view overlooking the pool and the mountains.
We came back at night and had dinner and saw the huge moon rising over the mountains.
Just gorgeous. Will be staying next time at this hotel which includes the breakfast.
Great throwback to the 50's-60's hotel and experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    94
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Is it open?”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We drove out to Borrego Springs last weekend, planning to have lunch in town. Turns out that most everything closes down during the month of August, so we had to work a little bit harder for our meal. My husband remembered seeing a sign for Red Ocotillo as we entered Borrego Springs, so we headed back that way, followed the sign and planned on having our lunch there.
Drove down the street a bit then onto a lesser road that led to a building which was the Palms at Indian Head. There was a small sign out front for Red Ocotillo. To be honest...we thought the place was abandoned until we saw a couple beat up trucks in a parking lot. We pulled into the parking area and looked around...no people...no signs...no activity whatsoever. In back of us there were piles of debris, collapsed buildings. After about 10 minutes were decided the place was closed and left. Today I noticed a couple reviews from July of 2013, so it's obviously open - but I think they need to work on their "curb appeal". There is no way I would ever stay at the Palms or eat at Red Ocotillo if this is how the owner chooses to maintain the property. I totally understand the whole "50's ambiance".."old Hollywood"...desert uniqueness thing that they are selling, but the property is just run down looking. The collapsed buildings are an eyesore as well as dangerous, and definitely NOT historic ruins. It just made me think...if this is how they take care of their property, how clean is their kitchen? Their food may be good, but the property was not inviting or welcoming enough to give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaBernieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you want dinner sometime this week, don't visit this restaurant.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'd really like to review the food at the Red Ocotillo, but due to their lousy service, we never actually ate anything.

My husband and I visited this restaurant (located at The Palms at Indian Head Hotel) this Saturday, 07/27/13. We sat in the bar area to have a couple of drinks and a light dinner. The menu was pretty limited if you wanted anything healthy and not fried, but they did have fish tacos.

The server/bartender/front desk guy was literally running from area to area as if he were training for a marathon. He kept telling us over his shoulder that he'd get to us in "just a minute", but kept jogging past us without ever stopping. (There may have been an actual cook in the kitchen, or maybe this poor dude was doing THAT, too - he kept disappearing somewhere in the back.)

We waited. And waited. And waited. And waited some more. Nobody ever took so much as a drink order (we weren't even given a glass of water). After 20 minutes of admiring the other folks at the bar, the retro decor and what we could see of the pool area, we decided our chance of actually getting anything to eat or drink was approximately zero. We exited without saying anything (it probably wasn't the lone staffer's fault), went over to Carmelita's and were served good food and drinks, as usual, very quickly and cheerfully.

Our local friends told us the Red Ocotillo's food is kind of OK if pretty overpriced, but their service is often glacially slow. I can't say anything about the food, since we never got any, but the service (what service??) is apparently nonexistent. If you're going to bill yourself as the "Best Food In Town" and put up big signs directing people to come eat at your establishment, mightn't it be a good idea to staff your bar and restaurant adequately?

We won't be visiting Red Ocotillo again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoLovesSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't bother because they don't”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I visited the Red Ocotillo restaurant on Friday, July 26, arount 5:30pm. We were in the bar section of the restaurant and waited approximately 15 minutes or more, for the server to at least take a drink order. The poor server, who I do not blame at all, since it isn't his fault, was literally running around taking dinner orders, drink orders and minding the front desk at the motel. The server said after about ten minutes, that he would be back to take our drink order. Five or more minutes later, the server had still not taken our drink order. We walked out of the bar since we figured not only would more time pass before our drink order was taken, but how long would it take to order and get dinner? The owner/manager needs to at least have another server on call in case business picks up. It is not fair to the staff to put them in a position of not being able to provide timely service to patrons.
Do not go to Red Ocotillo unless you have hours and hours of time and infinite patience.
We understand from some of the locals in Borrego Springs we talked with, that the owner of the establishment just really doesn't care about service. He certainly won't be getting any business from us in the future. Also we confirmed our experience with Borrego Springs residents who also had a long wait for service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f16addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointing Dinner”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in the area for just one night and were given a recommendation to go to this restaurant for dinner. We were disappointed. My husband had the fish tacos, gross. The fish was fried in thick batter and tasted like they were fried in old oil. I had the marinated, then grilled pork. I left almost all of it, too hard to chew. Our third companion had a good dinner with the crab cakes.
One out of three dinners, Not Good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed . Red Ocotillo also viewed

 
Borrego Springs, CA
Borrego Springs, CA
 

Been to . Red Ocotillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing