We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think it's going to be really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We enjoyed our time. The property was beautiful and the room was very nice. We enjoyed the shuffleboard, croquet, life size chess and the pool and spa. They clearly need to hire more people, we called to make reservations at the Butterfield restaurant -- hung up on, put on hold for 5 min with no answer, left message with no return call :( The food was average (My shrimp was ridiculously overcooked, I can't imagine what the chef was thinking sending it out that way.) The food very slow in coming out (dinner was over 3 hours), but the bussing staff was friendly and helpful, more so than the waiter.

The resort fee really bugged me for the following reasons:
1. only 1 measly pool towel per person
2. no spa services available ( the one person was all booked)
3. the salon was not open yet
4. there was never anyone to rent the tennis rackets from
5. there is no pool service, not even drinking water (this is the desert after all)
6. There was no room service ( at least not a menu or phone #)
7. The spa store had only about 100 items stocked

I know it is a "new" hotel, so I am sure they are working the kinks out. I do look forward to returning in a few months and writing a glowing review

Room Tip: downstairs rooms have pool access. Ask if your upstairs view is blocked by a cabana. The frogs are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rosietosie_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 496 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We arrived at La Casa Del Zorro on Monday for a two night stay. Were were accommodated in what we were told was a Deluxe Room. The resort also offers casitas. Our room was spacious and clean, though sparsely furnished. Queen bed, TV, Bureau and small desk. Thats about it. But it was enough for us. The bathroom was clean with separate shower and tub. Our room was on the ground floor and was an 'end unit', so we had two small patios - one on the side and another in the back. The side patio did not appear to have been cleaned in some time. The back patio provided direct access to the pool. My only complaint about the room would have to be about the air conditioner. It was loud and when it cycled on it would smell like a campfire. There was a fireplace in the room, so my guess is that a previous guest used the fireplace and smoke somehow made its way into the A/C return vent.

We were there to de-stress and a couples massage was in order. The spa facilities were clean and quite adequate, though without frills. The men's spa consisted of a locker room, restroom, steam room and showers. The steam room was spacious and worked well. The massage therapists were very good. My wife and I both enjoyed our massages very much.

The on-site restaurants are okay. The Fox Den Bar/Grill is casual with mostly pub-grub, though they did offer nightly specials. The Butterfield Room is a more formal restaurant. Dinner menu choices are limited at both. That applies to the wine list as well. Best bet is to bring your own bottle. Breakfast at the Butterfield Room was so-so. We sat on the outdoor patio. I enjoyed the Huevos Rancheros. The Mrs. didn't care for her Eggs Benedict.

This was our first trip to La Casa Del Zorro. I don't think it will be our last. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The resort was recently remodeled and there are still a few rough edges. I am confident these things will be worked out. Overall, it was a nice place to get away and decompress.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbearclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were thrilled to see La Casa del Zorro brought back online after so many years shuttered. After a two hour ride over the San Felipe road, we found ourselves dropped into an entirely unique and magnificent landscape-the Anzo Borrego desert. Casa del Zorro is charmingly nestled in this setting, a throwback to an earlier time. We were fortunate to spend two nights at the hotel. The rooms are immaculate, the pools are lovely, and the grounds are beautifully groomed. We had a bite to eat in the Foxtail Bar--great quesadillas accompanied by a good selection of beers. The bar is a tip of the hat to a bygone era and made me feel like I was on the set of a Joan Crawford film. The staff was friendly and efficient. We were also fortunate enough to dine in the Butterfield Room. Upscale and charming, we enjoyed the meal and the service was tip top. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We got there for spring break and the hotel was empty during the week. We had a beautiful room by the pool and could enjoy everything the hotel has to offer : good food (never ate such a fresh and delicate, flavorful salad in my whole life), nice pool, beautiful settings, a nice fire in the evening. My daughter enjoyed playing chess, ping-pong and crocket.
We had a great relaxing time and will certainly come back !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Agnes611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good weekend getaway. Very quiet but good for families too. Food was was excellent, and I had one of the best salads in recent memory. This is in the desert and the landscaping is appropriately desert plants: no false tropical vegetation. Good drinks in the bar. The acacia trees were in spring bloom when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 14Dean14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A good option for Borrego Springs but overpriced.

Food: Restaurant is decent but overpriced and slow. Bar food happy hour is a good deal with nice food and atmosphere.
Spa: Worst massage ever. Overpriced and steam room broken.
Room: Nice and comfy. Personal jacuzzi is not private though.
Pool & Gym: Nice facilities with lap pool. Yoga cancelled and pool bar closed, which was disappointing.
Games: Nice addition having bocce ball & shuffleboard.
Location: Have to drive everywhere. Windy as not tucked close to mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank IanF_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have been out to Borrego many times over the last 35 years and have had the pleasure of staying at La Casa dal Zorro several times and always enjoyed this quiet, well appointed and staffed resort. When the property closed three years ago with no immediate signs of re-opening it was disappointing to me.
Well, having just returned from a short stay at the re-opened Casa I am very happy to report that they have not only opened again, but did some very well done remodeling to the guest rooms and landscaping. They refashioned the entry roadways into landscaped drought tolerant gardens. The guest rooms are completely redone with huge white marble bathrooms with very well appointed details.The beds and linens were excellent. Although it was Spring break week and they seemed pretty full it was very quiet at night. And despite being busy the entire staff, from the doorman to the front desk to the waiters in the restaurant, were all extremely friendly and helpful.
Breakfast in the Butterfield dining room was excellent. My friends ordered the Heuvos Rancheros and I had the American breakfast. All delicious.
So once again Borrego has a wonderful place to stay. If you are planning a trip there I highly recommend you explore the areas geography. And a must see are the fantastic sculptures of Ricardo Breceda, the artist whose steel sculptures of prehistoric and mythical beasts are spread out all over Borrego Springs. Don't miss the serpent that undulates across the road, it is a masterpiece of folk art!
Thank you to the Casa for returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul-LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
18.2 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
132 reviews
2.4 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
90 reviews
4.7 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
151 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa

Address: 3845 Yaqui Pass Road, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $129 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic luxury Boutique Resort located within the Anza-Borrego Desert of Southern California,La Casa del Zorro Resort and Spa offers 44 deluxe poolside and pool view rooms, each with oversized bathrooms and large dressing areas, patios or balconies. Four King Garden Rooms are also available. The 19 rustic and private casitas (freestanding homes), spread within the 42 acre property, feature a private pool, spa, or both, and are available in one to four-bedroom floor plans. Restaurant themes vary by Season but Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are always available. Family friendly outdoor amenities include 26 sparkling swimming pools, 14 water features, an aquatics, Tennis and Pickle Ball Center, croquet, horse shoes, ping pong,1-mile walking path, free bicycle rentals and other leisure activities. A luxury Spa, Salon and Gift Shop are also available. Conference, meeting and special event space amount to 8,000 Square Feet. Full Catering and Audio Visual Services are also available. Borrego Springs is among a handful of recognized "Dark Sky Communities" in the world and where the starry night skies will change you forever. An outdoor Stargazing Theatre provides breathtaking celestial sightings. Our 600,000 acre State Park will intrigue you. Golf Courses, International Cycling, Desert Discovery and 360 days of sunshine will entice you to return. MAGICAL - EXPERIENTIAL - TRANQUIL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing