We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Weekend at La Casa del Zorro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were thrilled to see La Casa del Zorro brought back online after so many years shuttered. After a two hour ride over the San Felipe road, we found ourselves dropped into an entirely unique and magnificent landscape-the Anzo Borrego desert. Casa del Zorro is charmingly nestled in this setting, a throwback to an earlier time. We were fortunate to spend two nights at the hotel. The rooms are immaculate, the pools are lovely, and the grounds are beautifully groomed. We had a bite to eat in the Foxtail Bar--great quesadillas accompanied by a good selection of beers. The bar is a tip of the hat to a bygone era and made me feel like I was on the set of a Joan Crawford film. The staff was friendly and efficient. We were also fortunate enough to dine in the Butterfield Room. Upscale and charming, we enjoyed the meal and the service was tip top. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 503 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We got there for spring break and the hotel was empty during the week. We had a beautiful room by the pool and could enjoy everything the hotel has to offer : good food (never ate such a fresh and delicate, flavorful salad in my whole life), nice pool, beautiful settings, a nice fire in the evening. My daughter enjoyed playing chess, ping-pong and crocket.
We had a great relaxing time and will certainly come back !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Agnes611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good weekend getaway. Very quiet but good for families too. Food was was excellent, and I had one of the best salads in recent memory. This is in the desert and the landscaping is appropriately desert plants: no false tropical vegetation. Good drinks in the bar. The acacia trees were in spring bloom when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 14Dean14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A good option for Borrego Springs but overpriced.

Food: Restaurant is decent but overpriced and slow. Bar food happy hour is a good deal with nice food and atmosphere.
Spa: Worst massage ever. Overpriced and steam room broken.
Room: Nice and comfy. Personal jacuzzi is not private though.
Pool & Gym: Nice facilities with lap pool. Yoga cancelled and pool bar closed, which was disappointing.
Games: Nice addition having bocce ball & shuffleboard.
Location: Have to drive everywhere. Windy as not tucked close to mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank IanF_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have been out to Borrego many times over the last 35 years and have had the pleasure of staying at La Casa dal Zorro several times and always enjoyed this quiet, well appointed and staffed resort. When the property closed three years ago with no immediate signs of re-opening it was disappointing to me.
Well, having just returned from a short stay at the re-opened Casa I am very happy to report that they have not only opened again, but did some very well done remodeling to the guest rooms and landscaping. They refashioned the entry roadways into landscaped drought tolerant gardens. The guest rooms are completely redone with huge white marble bathrooms with very well appointed details.The beds and linens were excellent. Although it was Spring break week and they seemed pretty full it was very quiet at night. And despite being busy the entire staff, from the doorman to the front desk to the waiters in the restaurant, were all extremely friendly and helpful.
Breakfast in the Butterfield dining room was excellent. My friends ordered the Heuvos Rancheros and I had the American breakfast. All delicious.
So once again Borrego has a wonderful place to stay. If you are planning a trip there I highly recommend you explore the areas geography. And a must see are the fantastic sculptures of Ricardo Breceda, the artist whose steel sculptures of prehistoric and mythical beasts are spread out all over Borrego Springs. Don't miss the serpent that undulates across the road, it is a masterpiece of folk art!
Thank you to the Casa for returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul-LaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The pool areas are sparse and poorly landscaped. One gets no sense of relaxing at a beautiful pool. No food/beverage service at pool. Pool furniture cheap looking. Ugly gate to get in and out of pool area. Most apt bldg pools are nicer. Salad ordered from restaurant was like a fast food restaurant salad. Room was luxurious... no other part of the property felt luxurious. Very strange that an investment has been made in rooms but not in facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Skbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We wanted to get away for a little R&R and stayed at La Casa del Zorro. While the rooms and the grounds were beautiful the service is lacking. We wanted to schedule a spa service at the same time but couldn't because there was only one massage therapist working that day. Not sure what they would have done if we wanted to schedule a couples massage. The manager did comp one of the services though for the inconvenience.

The service at breakfast one day was horrible. It took 40 minutes for them to take our order and when it arrived an item was missing. Dinner that night was also a challenge. No chef special and they were out of two main dishes, both of which I was going to choose from. We ended up eating in the Fox Den and had an excellent burger and service from Dan. Breakfast service was acceptional the following morning, although the eggs were a little over cooked.

We expressed our concerns upon checkout and the manager did comp our breakfast and said to contact him if we wanted to visit again and he would work something out with us. One day we'll give th resort another try and hope that all of the kinks are worked out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
18.2 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
93 reviews
4.7 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
151 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa

Address: 3845 Yaqui Pass Road, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $126 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic luxury Boutique Resort located within the Anza-Borrego Desert of Southern California,La Casa del Zorro Resort and Spa offers 44 deluxe poolside and pool view rooms, each with oversized bathrooms and large dressing areas, patios or balconies. Four King Garden Rooms are also available. The 19 rustic and private casitas (freestanding homes), spread within the 42 acre property, feature a private pool, spa, or both, and are available in one to four-bedroom floor plans. Restaurant themes vary by Season but Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are always available. Family friendly outdoor amenities include 26 sparkling swimming pools, 14 water features, an aquatics, Tennis and Pickle Ball Center, croquet, horse shoes, ping pong,1-mile walking path, free bicycle rentals and other leisure activities. A luxury Spa, Salon and Gift Shop are also available. Conference, meeting and special event space amount to 8,000 Square Feet. Full Catering and Audio Visual Services are also available. Borrego Springs is among a handful of recognized "Dark Sky Communities" in the world and where the starry night skies will change you forever. An outdoor Stargazing Theatre provides breathtaking celestial sightings. Our 600,000 acre State Park will intrigue you. Golf Courses, International Cycling, Desert Discovery and 360 days of sunshine will entice you to return. MAGICAL - EXPERIENTIAL - TRANQUIL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing