We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever!”
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My husband and I spent a glorious 5 nights at the Borrego Valley Inn last February. We had wonderful stays there when Don and Mary owned it. We have now had an opportunity to stay under Gwenn and Rich's ownership and love it as much or more than we always have. We love Gwenn and Rich! What a beautiful place to relax, recover, and rejoice. We feel very lucky to have such a great getaway and look forward to many visits over many more years. Thank you for everything. You are wonderful caretakers.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 398 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed yet another terrific weekend stay at the Borrego Valley Inn. The facility remains meticulously maintained and provides for the utmost in relaxation. The innkeepers Gwen and Rich truly love their place and their guests. Heck, even the housekeeping staff treat us like guests!

If you want to enjoy the peaceful desert in a top-flight facility (rustic, yet spotless) without the expense and distraction of on-site "night clubs" and overpriced restaurants, BVI is the place to go.

We will continue to go back!

David

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank David1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

The Inn went through a tough patch between Don and Mary, the original owners and the new owners, Rich and Gwenn. "Regulars" were appalled in the interim, but rest assured that Rich and Gwenn have taken the Inn back to the philosophy, hospitality and level of service provided by Don and Mary, and perhaps a bit beyond.

If you are looking for a low key place to relax for a few days, and do as little or as much as you want, this is the place. We tend to hike in the morning, and swim in the afternoon (or at least doze by the pool), but could be equally happy never leaving the property.

All comforts are anticipated and provided, from the comfortable chairs outside each room on the "veranda" to the private patios on the other side of each room, the thick towels (incuding pool towels), tour books, etc. Also, the soundproofing is quite effective, so the advent of TVs in the rooms (they arrived somewhere in the last five years or so) are not intrusive.

Be warned that if you intend to have dinner at Carlee's, reservations are now virtually necessary for dinner many nights.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

My girlfriend and I spent an absolutely perfect weekend at the Borrego Valley Inn. Rich and Gwen (the new owners) were marvelous hosts, attentive without being intrusive. The room was immaculate, the bed and beddings most comfortable, and the large outdoor patio was perfect for stargazing.

Breakfast was excellent, with the option of delightful outdoor dining. Since daylight savings time went into effect the weekend we were there, Rich kept the breakfast buffet out for an extra hour or so, to accomodate those who forgot to change their clocks - a thoughtful touch.

I have enclosed a few photos to illustrate how the Southwest decor blends into the surrounding desert. All the ill-conceived changes implemented by previous ownership appear to have been rectified.

This place is not for everyone - no smoking anywhere on the premises, no pets, and not kid-friendly. All this makes it even more attractive to us. We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spidey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

This place is an absolute gem. The people who run it are interested in their guests' wellbeing without being obsequious. The facilities are gorgeous, peaceful, relaxing. It is an outstanding place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding Anza-Borrego Desert State Park with countless walks and hikes, and to unwind: at the pool, in front of the outdoor fireplace, sitting in front of your room and watching the sun set behind the mountains.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank almaliju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

I am so glad I made the effort to make a return visit. The new owners are wonderful, they made such an impression on my parents, that they are planning to spend their golden anniversary there !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

This is a first-rate facility run by first-rate people.

My wife and I have visited this hotel three times in the last three years. The OLD owners were terrible. Rich and Gwenn, the NEW owners, are sublime.

In particular, the property is now very well maintained and upgraded with new bedding, furnature, etc. The innkeepers are very friendly--but not overly so--we certainly felt welcomed and appreciated.

We will definately go back.

Bring a telescope as the stars are amazing at night.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank davidphd1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
494 reviews
17.5 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
132 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Address: 405 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $154 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Borrego Valley Inn where you can feel relaxed and rejuvenated underneath the serene starry skies of Borrego Springs. Comfortable rooms for two with private patios, native desert gardens, and abundant views of the surrounding landscape allow you to unwind in rustic elegance. Enjoy California’s best kept desert secret with a variety of on-site amenities including swimming pools, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon cookies served from October to May, and premium coffee, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Explore the expansive Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, walk down the street to the quaint Borrego Springs village full of shops and restaurants, or soak in the hot tub as you take in the unparalleled views of the evening sky. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience amongst the wildflowers and solitude of the Southern California desert, look no further than Borrego Valley Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing