We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway from S.D.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego,Ca.
1 review
“Great getaway from S.D.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

The desert in late February is coming alive after the recent rain. There is no better place to enjoy the season than Borrego Springs and the BVI The beautiful landscape of Anza-Borrego is all around you here and the nice town makes you feel welcome
Also, the shopping is fun and there are plenty of fine restaurants
We will return to the BVI .Also my wife was very impressed with the afternoon cookies, warm hospitality and the choice of two pool areas.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
301
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We've been staying at the Borrego Valley Inn for 10 years now; turns out, according to our log book, our first stay was President's Weekend of 2000! Rich and Gwenn are the third owners since and tie for 1st place with Don and Mary, who designed and opened the inn. Prices are fair, considering how wonderfully far Borrego is from all other places. For a surprise restaurant, try the French Corner, not far from the BVI. Great quiche, sandwiches, crepes, chocoate mousse, and above all, the mussels Monte Carlo. We took enough back to our room to make another meal the next day, heated in the microwave. Even before the Casa del Zorro folded, the BVI was far better value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stay at the BVI twice a year, once in the winter and once in the middle of summer. The BVI the perfect place if you desire quiet privacy in the desert. Borrego Springs is not Palm Springs (thank God!), Borrego is a very small desert community with one grocery store. Don't expect five star dining or nightlife in Borrego, either. But do expect a clean, spacious, and nicely appointed room in a small adobe-style inn that is part of of, not apart from, the desert landscape.

Breakfast is simple, like your surroundings. Croissants, yoghurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and juice are stocked each morning in your room's mini refrigerator. If you want more than that, visit one of the local cafes or bring it with you. We always bring our favorite noshes and eat small simple meals in our room.

Don't expect to be pandered at the BVI, it's not the Ritz Carlton. The proprietors are friendly, efficient, but and most of all, they value your privacy.

Lastly, I've noticed a few people have complained about the room rate at the BVI. Yes, compared to metro area hotels, their rate may be a bit higher, especially in today's distressed hotel market. But I would counter with this...it's not about the price you pay, it's about the value you receive.

The BVI is not a Hyatt, nor a Hilton, and it's not a motel on the side of the interstate highway, either. It's a 14 room botique hotel in the middle of a desert. I'm sure it's expensive to operate and the price reflects that fact. But more than simply the price of the room, the money you pay for the BVI experience is much cheaper than a psychiatrist and more rewarding than a frenetic stay at a big resort.

I go to the Borrego Valley Inn to decompress from modern life. I leave my computer and cell phone behind, I bring a couple of good books, I eat and drink less while I'm there and take a hike in the Anza Borrego State Park every morning.

If that's the sort of vacation you're looking for, stay at the BVI.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WRD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Everything excellent as owner's attention is paid to every detail.
Setting and design are beautiful.
We bought a wooden coyote at the small gift corner.
Now in Paris, Coyote hawls all night, longing to return to the paradise of its desert inn. So do we !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantebarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

BVI is probably the best place to stay in the Borrego Springs "downtown" area. It consists of two 7 unit adobe buildings facing each other across a sandy, desert landscaped courtyard. The grounds and buildings are attractive and well maintained. There is a small bird enclosure in the courtyard.

The rooms are comfy, and each unit has a small private patio surrounded by adobe walls. The inn caters to couples, and has some restrictions on the number of people per unit. However, it is not the kind of place that groups would want to stay.

A great place for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights. This is where you want to stay in the desert, a peaceful low-key inn in a lovely desert garden setting, not in a golf resort with ecologically inappropriate green grass everywhere. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful desert plants; the excellent pool looks over the desert to the canyons. Room very comfortable and service pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

Even though the Inn is right near the heart of town, since it's on a lot of acreage, it's very quiet and feels very secluded. The desert landscaping is beautiful. They have the best showers and the best breakfast of many places we've stayed. The adobe construction makes the rooms very quiet -- we never heard another guest from inside our room. The innkeepers and the staff are very personable and pointed us to an excellent non-touristy restaurant. For entertainment, there is endless hiking at the park, and active arts and architecture communities.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandHappyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing