We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, But For the Price Should Have a Better Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, But For the Price Should Have a Better Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed for two nights during the wildflower season. The rooms are very nice, comfortable, clean and private. The common areas are lovely too. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the homemade cookies in the evening. A good tip is too bring your own wine and other goodies to enjoy on the patio in the evening. The restaurants in town leave much to be desired. For the price of $235.00 a night they could have a higher quality continental breakfast. It was just the usual Costco fare. We really expect a little more. Also, we would like to encourage the inn to be more eco-friendly with bath products and conservation of water (i.e. not changing the towels daily). We really did enjoy our stay, and would recommend the inn, but there is room for improvement.

  • Liked — The design and location
  • Disliked — The breakfast and not eco-conscious enough especially considering they are in the desert
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
301
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

My husband and had our first fabulous stay here in Feb 07 (before I joined Tripadvisor- hence this is my first report) and we have yearned to return ever since.
We booked in again this year after a long and dark UK winter , full of rain, gales and flu!
What can I say? The second time was even more perfect than the first, which I wouldn't have thought possible. We arrived on Feb 4th,the day after the huge storm -and the sun shone the whole time with clear California blue skies.
We stayed in the larger end rooms this time, with a gorgeous comfy sofa and ottoman in front of the fire- perfect for lounging back watching TV after a day out exploring the beautiful desert .
I can only echo what others have said- the Inn is just gorgeous in every way.
To paint a picture of one day at the Inn- delicious breakfast in the morning sun on the lovely patio; a drive out to Font's Point (stunning desert panorama and a truly spiritual experience);relaxing in the hot tub with the sun setting over the mountains and cayotes singing behind us in the desert; walking into the village to eat at Carlee's :then walking back under the midnight blue sky and So many stars.
Heaven!
And - what makes this place totally fabulous, is of course the atmosphere and ambiance given to it by Gwen and Rich, whose warmth and welcome make you feel truly at home and relaxed.This atmosphere permeates the Inn - you can physically feel yourself relax and unwind in the serenity.
Can only say a heart felt Thank you to Gwen and Rich- and can't wait to return!

  • Liked — absolutely everything
  • Disliked — totally faultless
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

Me and the wife needed a really nice place to stay after a pretty disappointing night at the 29 palms. (for another time).
It was just what we hoped it would be.
Rich...the guy on check in was friendly and funny. The room was nicely decorated with a lovely gas fire and the surroundings were very nicely thought out!
Breakfast was really nice, me and the wife had a great fruit breakfast which was also great as we were getting a little sick of the USA big breakfasts that are a little unhealthy. When i asked Rich the next morning where i could buy some blank CD's (very little radio to listen to around those parts) he gladly gave me them for free!!

We stayed in many hotels on our holiday in the states but this place really felt special. We were sad that we could only stay one night!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bombthebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

Borrego Springs swells to a population of 10,000 in the winter and shrinks with the heat in the summer but it sure beats those northern winters.

The Borrego Valley Inn isn't cheap, does not discount for AAA members and usually requires a two night stay. However it is a desert treat with fireplace rooms that are very tastefully decorated in a southwest stucco style. Your private patio is at the back. The bathroom has a walk in shower with room for two and no tub. The shower has the no door or curtain reflecting the hot climate functionality. The toilet is in a small separate room much like you would find in France

Breakfast was okay and included fresh fruit cocktail, boiled eggs, yogurt, and the usual beverages and carbs which can be consumed indoors or out. The views of the surrounding mountains/hills draws you out if the weather is nice.

There are two pools with adjacent hot tubs. One (pool/tub pair) is fenced in and is a bathing suit optional zone. Large bath robes are provided in your room and remember to take your towels to the pool. A private swim suit free tub visit under the full moon is highly advised

  • Liked — combination of quite, tastefull rooms and clothing optional tub/pool
  • Disliked — had to leave so soon
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roomtoview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

From the moment we entered the driveway, we knew we were at a special place and the Inn did not disappoint.

The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. In room #12 there was a microwave, bar fridge, coffee maker and dishes, as well as a lovely gas fire place. The view of the mountain range was spectacular.

The breakfast was delicious, with hard boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, yogurt, cheese, fresh fruit salad and cereals. Coffee, tea and hot apple cider, as well as cold drinks were also always available in the public area. It was lovely sitting outside on the patio enjoying breakfast or, in the chilly evenings, in the public area, next to the welcoming gas fire.

The staff were very helpful. The cactus gardens were fabulous and so well cared for. The pool and hot tub were great and it was wonderful sitting in the hot tub in the evening, looking at the fantastic starry night and listening to the howling coyotes.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Borrego Valley Inn and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — The location and the cactus garden surrounding the property.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

We can only echo the other excellent reviews about the Inn. The facility is beautiful, the grounds have a wide variety of desert plants, and -- reflecting the desert surroundings -- the Inn atmosphere is very quiet and peaceful. The owners are friendly and helpful and their recommendations for other services (jeep tours, hikes etc.) were right on the mark. We especially enjoyed lying outside at night in our enclosed "patio" and looking up at the beautiful night sky -- bright stars and many meteors. We were there during the October 07 wildfires in the San Diego area and with many roads over the mountains closed the staff was a great help in advising us on a scenic alternate route into San Diego. Borrego Springs and the Inn are a real find.
Bruce and Barb

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce-Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

If you need a fantastic peaceful getaway,this is it!Gorgeous mountains surround you in this desert haven.The staff is top notch and the view day or night is unbelievable.The rooms are super clean and quiet.Email me at houndbear@gmail.com for more info

  • Liked — Hot sun and mountains
  • Disliked — othing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank houndbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing