We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful luxury in extreme wilderness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine,CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful luxury in extreme wilderness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the inn last week. At the time of booking we were very concerned about the rather high price of the Hotel but on arrival found the place worth all the glory you can give.You felt the warmth from the time you entered the Reception area. Every detail has been considered for the convenience and enjoyment of the guest without over bearing hospitality of more commercialized hotels to make you feel at home. Anzo Borrego park visitor center is only a couple of miles and so is the Village Mall and Town center to eat some good food.
The owner and his staff is there to help any time you want to.
Great experience in total wilderness!
Kris Khurana

Room Tip: All rooms are good with two swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your visit last week and for your review. We're happy you found "peaceful luxury" at the Inn. Providing that kind of experience out here in "total wilderness" is an expensive proposition for us, too! Peak season rates are in effect from mid-February through April, so plan your next visit to take advantage of budget-friendly special offers for stays after April 29 into the fall.

If you found it peaceful when we were fully booked, try a stay in June or July, when it's REALLY quiet! The days are sunny, dry, and warm, and the nights are silky and inviting, perfect for stargazing. It's a great break from May Gray and June Gloom, the coast's dense chilly fog. We hope to see you again, and until then, we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
301
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife discovered this 15-room gem in in the middle of California's largest, but often overlooked, state park -- Anza-Borrego. The Borrego Valley Inn (BVI) is located in quirky Borrego Springs, which once had aspirations of becoming the next Palm Springs. The BVI lies a quick one-mile drive from park headquarters and offers a full array of services and amenities. Arrive in the late afternoon and see the setting sun light up the fresh abode walls, which are accented by a wide variety of native succulents and flowers. As the sun sets, the mountains to the north gradually turn from a simmering golden brown to purple.

Rooms have large, private back patios off French doors, which enable stargazing in a locale that is noted for drastically limiting street lights that interfere with the visibility of the Milky Way and the millions of stars which comprise it.

Mornings are equally beautiful with the sun again setting the BVI ablaze in desert colors. You will enjoy the innovative and delicious buffet breakfast, included in the price, which offers an array of savory breakfast tarts, fresh-baked breads and scones, fresh fruit, bacon, and so forth. The choices vary daily, but our two BVI breakfasts were the best meals we had on the trip. You can eat either in the delightful reading room, which doubles as a gallery for works by accomplished California painters, or on the beautiful patio that faces an enchanting courtyard.

Rooms are clean, comfortable, and equipped with flat-screen t.v.s, wi-fi and jacuzzi tubs and showers. Our only quibble was the lack of sufficient space for our toiletries.

The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to help. All and all, this is a great spot for desert lovers to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LACritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your thoughtful post -- it sure sounds like you made the most of your visit to the Inn and our quirky little town, and that makes us extremely happy. The desert light is magical, including the starlight. Borrego Springs is California's only Dark-Sky Community, certified by the International Dark Sky Association -- a distinction that we treasure. So glad you enjoyed Chef Pamela's Badlands Breakfast -- she and Luisa have a lot of fun planning and preparing our daily offerings, and we've had many guests report that our breakfasts are the "best food in town."

We appreciate your note about needing more bathroom space for belongings -- our thinking caps are on on that one, and thanks for the specific suggestion. Like you, we're desert lovers -- in all seasons -- and we're pleased you found the Inn a "great spot" to enjoy the mystique. Thanks for visiting, and happy trails to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the best place I've stayed in Borrego Springs by far. The quality comes with a price, but in my opinion, it's a good value. Very small hotel with beautiful decor and courtyard. At night, you can stargaze from your patio. My wife and I stayed here one night for a quick weekend getaway and enjoyed the place a lot. Room was perfect, welcome staff very nice. The continental breakfast was amazing. I wanted to steal a whole plank of the flatbread they were serving. :) There was a roadrunner chilling out with the guests in the main reception patio area...so yeah, the place definitely feels like you're in the middle of the desert. It feels a lot more remote than 30 second off Palm Canyon Drive! I'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the southwest corner where the quest parking lot is. Get some snacks/provisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for giving the Inn a try, and we couldn't be happier to hear that you liked what you found. We know what you mean about Chef Pamela's savory breakfast tarts -- we have to fight the impulse to steal off with a plank of them ourselves! Our resident roadrunner thinks he is staff-- we have to shoo him away when he tries to follow us inside. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again, too. Until then, may the trails ahead be happy and beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

What can I say...the setting, the proprietors, the accommodations, the hospitality, and the gourmet breakfasts were perfect. The guests were warm and friendly, and, the immediately proximity to the park made for a memorable weekend. Travelling solo I never felt alone. I would highly recommend booking a stay at the Borrego Valley Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. Talk about a slice of heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunhoch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much! We're beyond thrilled that you found your visit to the Inn a good one. We are mindful of "truth in advertising" and appreciate your observation that your experience surpassed what you found on our website. Many guests tell us the same thing -- and we'd much rather have it that way than the other way around! We're very happy you felt at home and enjoyed the company of other guests. We are very fortunate to welcome such interesting and engaging people from around the world. Thanks for being one of them, and we hope to welcome you back again. Until then, we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a really classy operation. The courtyard is a beautiful desert garden with an aviary of zebra finches in the middle; there's fireplaces outside and two pools, one clothing optional, and the rooms are furnished very attractively. The breakfast is delicious and the owners and staff very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting us at the Inn, and for taking the time to post your review. We very much appreciate your observations and are extremely happy you found things to your liking. We're always looking to improve our guests' experience, so we hope there's more to please you on your next visit. Until then, we wish you the best and happy trails ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We've stayed here three times now. The regular rooms are very, very clean and are comfortable. I found the suite to be dark and a bit dingy. Would not rent that one again. And it's a bit disconcerting to see the caged birds in their courtyard...I mean, the hotel is in the middle of a national park and you have caged birds?! As others have mentioned, it's on the main road so you do hear a lot of traffic. I'm also very disappointed that they are not more accommodating for special dietary needs when it comes to breakfast. For example, they don't have any soy/almond milk on hand...who doesn't have that these days, especially in California? All that being said, this is our fall-back option when the home we usually rent through VRBO is not available. It meets our needs but considering that we can rent a home cheaper than a room at their inn, well...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliBethL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your return visit. We are truly sorry that your preferred lodging option was not available to you and that you considered your stay with us sub-par.

You visited at the peak of the peak season, at peak season rates. For those who appreciate what we offer, there are a number of attractively priced specials available for booking now, for visits from April 29 through December.

We sincerely hope that your next visit to Borrego Springs is more satisfactory for you, and that the trails ahead are very happy ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great owner/receptionist, excellent breakfast, beautiful location, very nicely decorated.
Very much recommended to stay here if you go to Borrego springs, maybe you will be able to get it a bit cheaper than the $280 per night we paid.
Go for a hike to palm canyon, check out the weird metal statues in the desert to the north of Christmas circle and enjoy the evening in the hot tub watching the sun set.
Another slight downside is that I felt like I was in a very expensive retirement home, since 100% of guests excluding us were retirees. But nothing management could or should do about that, just putting it out there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank langerhans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks so much for finding us and making the effort to visit. We appreciate your comments, and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Mid-February through April is the "peak of the peak" season for Borrego Springs (and March is the peak of the peak of the peak), and rates reflect demand. Starting April 29 (and available now for booking), we offer a number of great deals for new and repeat guests. Check out the affordable (and very popular) "Specials" on our website, available through December.

We welcome a wide range of guests from all over the world, young and older, and most of the time it's an even mix. Spring in the desert attracts a number of young-at-heart retirees, and they are certainly traveling these days! Thanks again for visiting, and we hope your future travels are happy and satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing