We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot dates in the desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hot dates in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I started visiting Borrego Valley Inn a few years ago to get away from the Southern California city lights and watch the Perseid Meteor Showers each August. Summer time in the desert is incredibly hot - but we always feel comfortable at this spot. A beautiful compound of rustic Southwest style rooms, exquisitely decorated, air-conditioned and landscaped. We dip in and out of the pool during the day watching thunderheads flower above the nearby mountains, and lounge in the private patio of our room at night to watch shooting stars. Even when there are no meteors - we can see satellites floating past the Milky Way. The town is pretty much shut down during the summer but there are a few spots to dine and shop. The Inn provides a nice breakfast for guess that they drop off the day before in your frig. Fruit, yogurt, freshly baked goods and juice - perfect for a hot morning starer. Hiking/walks are good early in the morning. The Inn is easy to get to - but feels surprisingly quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: We've stayed in several. All nice. Each individually decorated. Some have extra seating areas if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Love your headline -- it aptly sums up the summer experience here! Sounds like you've found the secret to enjoying life in "the off season" -- dipping in and out of pools and staying up late to soak up the starry skies (especially when there are meteor showers). The desert in summer is not to everyone's taste, but we welcome those like you who appreciate the solitude, and the quiet heat. Indeed, we have many guests we never see during the "peak season" because it's too cool! Thanks so much for visiting, for posting, and for the great photos, too. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    38
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
298
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I just spent two nights at the Borrego Valley Inn -- yes, in the middle of August. I went to see the Perseid Meteor Shower, and because Borrego is one of only 11 designated dark sky communities in the U.S., I thought it would be the perfect place to star gaze.

OK, so it was 115 degrees during the day. The nights were glorious and that's what I came for.

The Borrego Valley Inn turned out to be the perfect place for this quick get-away. My room was the least expensive, so it didn't have a fireplace or kitchenette, but it did have an ample-size refrigerator, a huge walk-in shower and lovely private walled patio. The room was immaculate, the bed -- and especially the pillows -- were comfortable, and the grounds around the room were desert-gorgeous.

Kathy, the innkeeper, was extremely gracious and accommodating, and Luisa, the woman who assembles the more-than-you-can-eat breakfast each morning, was so sweet.

There were huge lightning storms in the mountains overlooking the property as the sun set, clearing the sky for a spectacular view of the Milky Way and the meteor shower, which we viewed from floaties in the pool in the middle of the night.

My only complaint was the noice from the A/C, but the poor thing really had to work overtime, and it worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggin92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
You saw the Perseids from a pool float -- how perfect is that?! How wise! Thank you for visiting, and we are so pleased you found everything to your liking. Admittedly, summer is not for everyone (though we love the peace and solitude), so you must be a real desert lover (with tolerance for hard-working A/C units!) Our summer plan (June through September) is quite different from our "in-season" plan, October through May,, so we hope you can come back for the full-service experience, including breakfast and afternoon cookies. Soon you'll find newly designed patio improvements and a great new breakfast menu. Thanks so much for your post, and remember those stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in May. It has the outward appearance of a dusty desert oasis. Bus it is in fact sparkling clean with all the modern amenities. The big veranda and two beautiful pools surrounded by desert mountains and, at night, starry skies, makes this one of the very most peaceful places we have stayed. Oh, and the lobby and breakfast are superb. Afternoon tea and friendly helpful staff made this a great experience. we are talking about when we will return and it won't be soon enough for us.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very quiet. Ours backed on to the pool which mde it very handy from our rear yeard. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
"Peace" and "serenity" are two of our favorite words, and thank you for choosing them to describe your stay. We're working on big improvements that should make things even nicer for you. Right this minute, crews are transforming the back patios -- they will be level and "out of the sand," with flagstone and new plantings. And we're collaborating with our new chef to create fresh, seasonal breakfast menus that are unique, tasty, and sure to please. We hope you can come back soon and enjoy the new additions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

One weekend at this resort and were good and re-charged for the rest of the year! Complete relaxation and quiet fun. It's so different and peaceful, the scenery and the climate are perfect for making the stay memorable. Nothing compares to the experience for such a fair price. We used to go to Palm Springs for the weekend and now that we have discovered Borrego Valley Inn we are hooked!

Room Tip: AC in the summer, Fire Place in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We're so happy to hear you are re-charged and "good to go" after a summer weekend at the Inn -- that's what we're here for. And we understand about being "hooked," too -- we are former guests ourselves, and the Inn's charms certainly worked their magic on us! Thanks for finding us and giving us a try. We love Palm Springs, too, but there's something about this quiet place that captures hearts. We appreciate your visit and your post and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Always a pleasure, even in the summer. Staff is friendly, property is clean and quaint. Very small and cozy. It is a pleasure to sit on the private patio or in front of the room and listen to the quiet.
(We love it because they request no cell phone calls in open areas!!!)
The early morning coffee angel has the coffee ready early- even in the summer - kept fresh all morning.

We love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
It does feel like a "secret," doesn't it, especially in the summer months when everything is so quiet and low-key. We are very happy to know that you love it (so do we!), and we especially appreciate your acknowledgment of the Coffee Angel -- we'll pass your praise on. Thanks so much for your visit and for your post, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Borrego Valley Inn for three days in April 2012. We were in LA for my brother's birthday party and we decided to take a break just for us. We are hikers and birders, and we spent our days in the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park that surrounds the town. The park information center is a couple miles down the road from the Inn, and town is a couple miles the other way. We really enjoyed the famous walk to the palm tree canyon in the park.

The Inn has a Southwest flavor. The rooms are in two single-story row buildings that face each other. In between is a sandy desert floor with beautiful desert plants watered with drip irrigation. If you walk out of the Inn away from the road, there are no fences, just the open desert. Although the Inn is on the main road, we did not notice any road noise. There is no restaurant except for the free breakfast. The rooms are beautifully furnished, meticulously clean and nice, and quietly elegant. The Inn keepers are pleasant, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. Altogether a wonderful experience.

The Inn is not cheap, and normally I would object to paying top dollar for a room I only sleep in. After all, we are away walking in the desert most of the day. But in this case the Inn seems to be another feature of the desert, and so our walk in the desert ends with a return to a desert Inn, and thus completes the day.

If you don't mind the cost, the Inn is a good base for exploring the park. I can see it would be relaxing for couples. It might not be ideal for those who don't really love the desert and think the desert is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the risk of paying "top dollar" during our peak season for your stay. The Inn is an expensive enterprise to operate, so we really appreciate that you found it worth your money and that you enjoyed a 'wonderful experience." That's what we're trying to create. Like you, most of our guests are hikers, birders, and explorers who relish the idea of "returning" to the desert at the end of the day to continue basking in the distinctive atmosphere. Thanks for visiting and for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed there July 13th-15th and eventhough it was considered the "off-season" by the locals, there was still plenty to see and do in town. However, the Inn is so nice we never wanted to leave. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We had clean robes in our room and a very nice breakfast basket placed in our fridge each day. We had our own private patio but I personally enjoyed sitting out in front of our room watching the birds and rabbits in the courtyard. The pools and hottubs are in good condition and there is a great view of the stars and mountains from them.
If you are looking for a very relaxful and romantic place then this is the one. The owners have really work hard to make you feel welcomed and relaxed. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get rooms 1-7, then you will have a view of the mountains from your front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolC1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
It sounds like you took full advantage of the off-season, when things are really quiet here and we can focus on the birds and the bunnies! Like you, we find that spending time in nature is one of the best ways to unwind and de-stress. Thank you for finding us and for visiting. We're very happy you had the chance to experience what the Inn has to offer, and thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing