We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry dividends”
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Starry dividends”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Looking for a place to get away from it all and find your inner quiet? Then I recommend Borrego Springs and more specifically, the Borrego Valley Inn. This property is situated in/adjacent to the Anza/Borrego State Park and we spent a glorious weekend there. There are only 15 rooms in the Inn and it appears to cater to quiet adults who want to reconnect with nature and peace. The rooms are decorated in a Native American style and are nicely appointed and very comfortable. Ours had a gas fireplace and a small kitchenette, a big walk-in shower and a private sun/stars back patio. One drawback would be that the pilot light in the gas fireplace, although flickering romantically while we were awake, was a bit too bright once we were ready for sleep. There are two pools, one regular one and one private clothing optional pool, with guests for the most part respecting each other's privacy while using. There is a beautiful open lobby with exceptional art of the area for sale, books and a fireplace. Every morning, a bountiful light breakfast, and every evening home baked cookies greeted us. Susan, one of the wonderful staff there, attended to us and every guest as if we were all personal friends with warmth and interest.
Dining options are somewhat limited, but one place that we patronized and really enjoyed was the Calico Cafe, with excellent pizza and sandwiches.
Many good hiking trails were in a short drive and many more only about 20 minutes away. There are large metal art installations in the desert worth the visit along with the story that accompanies them. But, I have to say one the real treats was a gift of nature herself. Borrego Springs is a Dark Sky community and they have reduced light pollution so the stars were amazing each night. The Inn has a star map you can use and the set up of the Inn with the building forming a horseshoe shape allows for access to the outdoors from both the back and the front of your room. I can only imagine what a meteor shower would be like in this special place! Safe to say, I can recommend this Inn with the highest marks and will be making
another pilgrimage to my favorite starry destination in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer to be close to the clothing optional pool from your back patio, select low numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbell-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Your post, so beautifully written, has touched us and given us food for our souls, thank you so much! Seeing guests "get it" is what makes inn-keeping here our passion. We remember well our own experience at the Inn and in the Park, visiting ever more frequently from our home in Santa Monica, until we just gave in and moved here. Your words about the "gift of nature herself" is the whole deal, isn't it? It's so easy to forget how removed we've become from pure nature -- but so easily "remembered" once we experience it again. We can't thank you enough for putting it in words. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
302
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was my first trip to Borrego Springs so I don't have other lodging locations to compare the Borrego Valley Inn with. However, when comparing the Inn to the countless other places I've stayed in bothdomestically and Internationally over the years, this is definitely one of the better ones. There's nothing particularly fancy or posh about Borrego Valley Inn, it's just very well organized, the rooms and common areas well appointed and in theme with the desert surroundings, and the whole aura of the place makes you instantly want to be there.

From the minute we checked in, I felt relaxed and at peace with my surroundings. The inn keepers Gwen and Rich seem genuinely happy that you're staying with them and very approachable with questions, requests, anything.

We stayed in room 7 (Saguaro) and I'd highly recommend this room. On the far end of the eastern row of rooms, it's extremely quiet and isolated. The walls and insulation are well constructed so you don't hear any noise from the adjacent room. We really appreciated the separate sitting area within the room and private patio off the room. The patio gate provides easy access to the back of the property for gorgeous nighttime star gazing. Plus the gated clothing optional pool behind Rooms 1-7 was easily accessable from our room. I did notice that during our entire two day stay, we were the only couple that utilized this clothing optional pool! Maybe it was modesty or the generally more mature ages of the others that stay at Borrego Valley Inn, but that was great for us.

The daily breakfast was a great way to start off the day. May other items could be added to the offerings, but it's simple and convenient. Also, our room had a small refrigerator that was great for chilling water and champagne.

Do yourself a favor and stay at Borrego Valley Inn. Other than the other big golf course resort, there are no other comparable places to stay in Borrego. You'll be happy you did.

Room Tip: Select one of the end rooms if available. Also, enjoy the clothing optional pool. The generally ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting Borrego Springs and the Inn and for your thoughtful post about what to expect . Helping our guests feel "relaxed and at peace" is our aim, so we're happy to hear about your experience. The room you chose is one of the most popular for the reasons you mention, and it was actually our favorite, too, when we were frequent visitors! We agree -- the fridge is "great for chilling champagne" -- the perfect toast to those starry skies. The clothing-optional pool becomes a bigger attraction in the warm summer months, and we're glad you found it the perfect place for restful repose. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a very restful weekend. The B&B is landscaped and decorated in Santa Fe style. I would suggest that people who just want to retreat bring food (microwavable) and drinks; to take advantage of microwave, small frig, and sink in room. Breakfast was buffet style (cold items) and quite adequate variety. The only limitation is with Borrego itself. If you have been to Anza Borrego a few times there is less and less to do. Golf is a bit limited since the courses close at 5. Too bad they don't stay open till sunset. But for sheer relaxation and getting away to the desert, there is no better place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplace, which is nice in cool evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
"Sheer relaxation and getting away" is what it's all about, and we're pleased you found the Inn a good place to do that. And while it may be easy to think there's "less and less to do" if you've visited Anza-Borrego a few times, we've found just the opposite. We've been exploring the Park for nearly 15 years and feel like we've just scratched the surface! Most of our guests are "repeaters," many come from far away over and over again to experience the power of place here. But relaxing and getting away are top goals in our view, too -- no effort required!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from a stay at the Borrego Valley Inn. What a lovely place, run and staffed by friendly and kind people. The grounds are gorgeous and conducive to sitting in peace and winding down. We stayed in the only suite (so comfortable), which has a great full kitchen. Dining options are somewhat limited in Borrego Springs (at least, if you are vegetarian), and we loved having the ability to make salads and other items to eat rather than going out for every meal (well, except for breakfast - the breakfast spread provided by the Inn is pretty fabulous and not to be missed). We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
"Heavenly Retreat" -- love the sound of that, and thank you for putting it into words. It's such a joy to provide that sense of respite for those who need the down time that simply being so close to nature provides. Thank you for visiting, and we'll do our best to keep it heavenly for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from a delightful stay at Borrego Valley Inn, 4 days to be exact. No complaints whatsoever, fresh coffee in the lobby area shortly after sunrise with a diverse selection of breakfast items served each morning. We had the pleasure of meeting several guests from the UK-wonderful folks with lots of interesting conversation including a social gathering at the "zebra finch bird pen" in the central courtyard area. My wife and I are bird folks from back east, the continual soft chirpping of the finches was perfect as we chatted away with our new found friends from the UK. On departure day, we awoke to snow capped mountains surrrounding Borrego Valley. With quickly rising temperatures, we said our goodbys
and headed on up to Palm Springs for our flight home. We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We're so happy to hear you've made new friends here! We find that those who are attracted to the Inn are not only nature-lovers like you, but are also intelligent, curious, and fun to talk to! Sounds like your impromptu gathering by the finch cage put the finishing touch on your visit, and we hope that becomes a happy memory for you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I came here to relax after Easter. it was my third visit and I deliberately chose a room with a fireplace. I had one evening where I did not go out for supper, just bought some salad, soup, cheese, crackers and wine at the store and had a leisurely supper by the fire. In addition to the swimming pools and hot tubs, you can go directly into the desert on the back side of the property without going across any road or fence, and just start hiking, either on the level or into the hills. It is a great walking spot because the vegetation is sparse enough that you do not even need a path.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
You certainly captured the essence of "relaxation." Like many guests do, when you bring a few of your favorite provisions, there's really no need to get in the car because it's so easy to wander anywhere on foot. You've cracked the code! Thanks for sharing the secret. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Borrego Valley Inn was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. The courtyard was lovely, with an aviary of finches that were fascinating to watch. The room was comfortable and decorated in classic southwest pueblo style, which fit the surroundings. I liked the private patio outside of my room; it had its very own lemon tree! The staff was polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet tasty. Guidebooks for the area and restaurant menus were available in the comfortable common room. I very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and left feeling recharged.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing