We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diane at Stanlund's in Borrego Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Reviewed April 13, 2013

While at Stanlund's in Borrego Springs, we endured a record windstorm which, besides costing us a day of hiking, left us without power for half a day. The whole town was blanked so there was no power for the restaurants or markets. Diane, our host at Standlunds made sandwiches for us for lunch then barbequed hamburgers for us that night. At bedtime, she went to each unit to give us tea-lights for use as a middle-of-the-night sprint for the bathroom light.

We were all impressed with Diane's hard work during the storm, chasing pool furniture, fence panels, roofing and blowing landscape during the blow. Thanks, Diane. Our hiking group will certainly be seeing you at Stanlund's next year.

Tom Hessler

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank txhessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked this motel unseen from the UK and were pleasantly surprised on our arrival, although dated it had a certain charm and it's situation is perfect to explore the state park during the day and star gaze at night as the valley is so dark, as the desert flowers hadn't appeared we booked another night 3 weeks later to use this motel again, rooms were clean, staff very friendly and breakfast freshly made

Room Tip: all rooms are the same around a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I don't think I have ever been at a more over priced, old, dirty motel in my life. I definately would not put this place in a classification of a resort. It was a rundown motel from the sign outside to the inside of the rooms. When I made the reservations for my family I was told that the place had been updated about 5 years before. Yes, it was updated with thrift store finds from the 70's.
The walls were dirty and needed painting. The bathroom had the original shower from the 1950's by the looks of the tile type and color. The only thing "extra" besides the bed was the lame kitchenette with poorly stocked dishes. Maybe if it was 65 or 70.00 dollars a night I could have choked down the poor quality. But really $125.00 was very expensive for what you got in return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived in Borrego Springs, CA after visiting relatives in the Palm Desert area and then touring the Salton Sea, Salvation Mt. and Slab City. We wanted to do some hiking in the Enzo Gorrego state park. This is an absolutely beautiful area. We arrived in this great town in the late afternoon and stopped at the first lodging we saw, Stanlunds. I love old motor court motels, which are, unfortunately, few and far between these days. The place was plain, but clean. Our room was large, clean, with a comfortable bed, and kitchenette. I noticed a musty smell of what seemed to me just of an old place, not offensive. My husband didn't notice it at all. There was a flat screen TV and a good cable line-up. In front and out back there are charming sitting areas, with petunias, grass lawn, palm and citrus trees in abundance. There was a great looking pool, but it wasn't warm enough to use. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rates, reasonable. There is complimentary WiFi in the rooms and access to a desk top in the small lobby. The breakfast was fine, the usual hotel fare of toaster waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal and OJ. We had a good rest and after checking out had a wonderful day at the state park. The town is wonderful, small, but with good food and coffee available. We'll definitely be back and will stay at Stanlunds again.

Room Tip: The front desk staff was very forthcoming. She gave us a room well off the highway, which is not hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The place looks very nice when you arrive. Our room, however, was very old and dirty (we found dead bugs near the bed, and a lot of dust). You don't expect luxury in the desert, but you expect some cleanliness, especially for the exorbitant price. And you expect a minimally decent breakfast, for such an expensive place, advertising "breakfast included" - well, it was really poor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisemanGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a last minute trip to test Baja Pre-runner. The hotel is centrally located. The owner was very pleasant and returned phone calls promptly. Offered a last minute great rate deal. Pool is clean, rooms are large and have new TV's, kitchenette with microwave & fridge. Ice machine was handy to fill ice chest for days activity. Owner made room for truck and trailer instead of fending for ourselves. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a front patio with a bbq grill while others have a back patio. The back patio rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BajaHoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful classic "mid-century" style. I stayed 4 times this summer while on business. I used the rooms with a kitchen. Rooms were clean and was staff was very accommodating. They always made sure the air conditioning was on well before I arrived. The thermometer hit 118 the day of my last arrival. On an earlier trip I had left some things in the room and they held them for me until my next arrival ... couldn't ask for more. I will definitely stay again and would certainly recommend it to others looking for a clean and affordable stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
3.6 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
517 reviews
17.6 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanlunds Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanlunds Inn and Suites

Address: 2771 Borrego Springs Rd, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-4297
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $85 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanlunds Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanlunds is situated in the heart of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park. It was built in the 50s and was remodeled in 2005. A very quiet and peaceful place. Good for people looking for peace and tranquility- but you can still be connected to the world with our wireless DSL available in all rooms. All of our rooms are equipped with a microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker. Some rooms have private patios & kitchens -some with ovens- and BBQs. This gives you all that is required for sitting back, relaxing, and enjoying the warm weather with beautiful views of the mountains. Free Continental breakfast on weekends during season. On special occasions we reserve the right to implement a two night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanlunds Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanlunds Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing