We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Escondido, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Desert Charm”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have stayed here numerous times over the course of the past 4 years. Most recent stay was 10/21/2011. Upon consideration of what other places in the vicinity charge per nightly rate, we have found Stanlunds to be very competetive. We have found the accomodations to be comfortable, clean and affordable. Mostly the basics with a few added amenities such as Wifi, Cable, Fridge and Microwave. A nice place to HQ while exploring the desert.

Room Tip: The choice are many to choose from...rooms, rooms with rear patios, rooms with front patios, some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDonkey1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
17
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Yes, it's an old fashion motel but has been nicely kept up. The room was clean, roomy,
had a microwave & mini-refrig. The grounds are nicely landscaped and groomed.
It is not a luxury hotel and maybe considered no-frills, but what more do you need in Boreggo Springs. I was concerned when someone described it as "serviceable", but it was pretty nice. I rated it excellent for a motel in it's class - note that I'm not comparing it to a 5 star resort.

They even had a continental breakfast which I wasn't expecting.

Lady in the office was friendly and gave us a good dinner recommendation.

Room Tip: Reserve early during peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sierra_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Value in the desert. Old motor court, clean, beautiful pool, comfortable. Best rate in Borrego Springs. No frills but would do it again.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissouriGoJoeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Booked a room (suite actually) for a Saturday at the rate of $160.00/night. While this is high, it was what was available. I had no great expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. Cathy (?) at the front desk was very nice and helpful and the room was ready. While it is old and outdated, it was clean and well kept. If you are looking for fancy accomodations, this is not the place, however, sitting on the patio looking out to the mountains is worth much more than a cookie cutter room. The pool was warm despite the cool temps and there is a built in bbq on the patio if want to grill. Bring your own supplies (food etc) as the market in town is not great . Los Jilbertos in town has excellent breakfast burritos.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WLA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We liked this place!
Mainly because of its surroundings, Anza-Borrego is a wonderful park!
After an evening walk in Palm Canyon, we arrived at Stanlunds after dark.
The lady at the reception was VERY friendly and we had a nice chat.
I did not have high expectations about this place (what else can you expect for 110 eur per night in a place with so little accomodation available), but were OK with what we got.
Our room with two queens and front patio (no kitchen, some rooms do have this) was outdated for sure (especially the bathroom), but it was clean. The bathroom was so old and outdated, that is was even funny. We had a good night sleep.
It is less fancy that motels like BW or Days Inn, but to be honnest, we both felt this place has a special "charm" on it. It just looks so nice, these white buildings (all ground floor) where you can park for your door, with some green grass and palm trees and small swimming pool, in the middle of the desert.
If you just need a clean bed and shower, to sleep in this wonderful park, Stanlunds is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have stayed at this motel a number of times in the past, back when it was $55 a night. It is not worth $125 - $155 per night. It is nice but old and by no means a resort. It has no ammenties worthy of being called a resort (i.e. no spa, not even a jacuzzi). The pool is always nice and clean but don't expect anything special. The bricks around it are uneven and the patio is delapiated and dingy. If we do return to Borrego, we will spend $30 more and stay at a real resort (Borrego Springs Resort).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borrego Springs hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed at Stanlunds one night and Al stayed up to make sure we got into the room alright even though we got there late. The room was very clean and the A/C worked well! Standing outside at night you can see millions of stars. I think this place was lovely and great for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliesof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
3.6 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
149 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanlunds Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanlunds Inn and Suites

Property: Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Address: 2771 Borrego Springs Rd, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-4297
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanlunds Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanlunds is situated in the heart of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park. It was built in the 50s and was remodeled in 2005. A very quiet and peaceful place. Good for people looking for peace and tranquility- but you can still be connected to the world with our wireless DSL available in all rooms. All of our rooms are equipped with a microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker. Some rooms have private patios & kitchens -some with ovens- and BBQs. This gives you all that is required for sitting back, relaxing, and enjoying the warm weather with beautiful views of the mountains. Free Continental breakfast on weekends during season. On special occasions we reserve the right to implement a two night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stanlunds Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanlunds Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing