We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Borrego Springs
Post
Inbox
Search

“Best Margaritas North of the Border”

Carmelita's Mexican Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love Anza Borrego, Borrego Springs and Carmelitas. We’ be been coming to this wonderfully pristine corner of California for 30 years, and the only new thing in 30 years is the library, which is also worth a visit. Carmelitas is great Mexican food, fresh house made guacamole, chili rellenos and the mole poblano enchiladas are some favorites. And the gigantic margaritas are not to be missed!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 398 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2019

We five gave Carmelita's a whirl and were happy with the result. It is a lovely, warm and welcoming spot with very nice staff. We tried everything from Italian Meatball Soup to fresh shrimp in diablo or ranch sauce. The cheese continued to melt on our mouths as we gobbled down the enchiladas. The salads were crisp and crunchy. Everyone was delighted with the service, the aromas and the joyful environment. A real winner!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phyllisweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Excellent Mexican food. Generally always a busy place for dinner, but if you have to wait, there is a small bar, or if you want you can eat in the bar as I did twice this time. As mentioned food is excellent, good value lots of food and lots of choice. Soups, salads too.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian50Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

The Verde Shrimp enchilada hit the spot after a long day of hiking the trails. It was a nice combo of mild chili verde and well prepared shrimp -- absolutely smothered in cheese. The black beans were quite good as well. My wife really liked the chicken tacos -- not overly spicy and very tender chicken.
The margarita was nothing special -- seemed like a prepared concoction with tequila floated on the top.
But overall a satisfying experience.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank DudefrmAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2019 via mobile

It was delicious. A nice seasoning on the chicken & a good sized dinner portion. Next time I would skip the margarita & just have a beer with it.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank beegood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelita's Mexican Grill also viewed

Borrego Springs, CA
Borrego Springs, CA
 
Borrego Springs, CA
 

Been to Carmelita's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing