We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaggio Ristorante Italiano

Assaggio Ristorante Italiano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This restaurant is located at the Borrego Springs Airport and, given its exterior, is surprisingly nice inside. The bar is lovely and the staff was very nice. The food we had, unfortunately, was not all the great. The garlic bread was adequate, as was the appetizer salad, but the pasta was not good. We each had zit with a marinara sauce (mine also had ricotta); the ziti was so overcooked that it fell apart when you tried to pick it up with your fork. Mushy pasta, yuck. The sauce was just o.k. and the parmesan cheese was not fresh, i.e., the powdered stuff. I suspect (from talking with others who had eaten there) that other items on the menu were much better and we just picked the wrong thing to eat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great menu choices and prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

There are so many good choices on this menu. I have had two of the veal dishes and both were excellent. Nice atmosphere at the airport. Prices were reasonable. Salad was extra but worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank clc772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We sat on the roof and drink cocktails after a long day's driving and hiking. A bit windy but great fun. The restaurant looked great so we will be back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is not just great food in Anza Borrego, it is great Italian food period. Don't get turned off by the look of this restaurant located at the airport. From the outside it looks like a dated roadside diner but on the inside it is a well appointed full service restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5ZVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Service doesn't match the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were looking forward to a nice Italian dinner in a unique setting which is at the Borrego Springs airport and while the food was reasonably tasty the service was lacking. The wait staff seemed rushed and orders were taken and delivered in the style reminiscent of a fast food restaurant. Noise level was loud and not helped by a screaming child and TV turned on. Our waitress barely spoke to us, even when presenting the bill which is usually the time most wait staff ask how everything was.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kc1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggio Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Borrego Springs, CA
Borrego Springs, CA
 

Been to Assaggio Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing