We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palms at Indian Head
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This property was obviously renovated on a shoestring budget---and never quite completed. The grounds surrounding the hotel looks like a landfill---dead trees, bushes, crumbling remains of old buildings that have not been removed since this property was so called "renovated". The work that was done on the hotel, is now so old that it too is in need of maintence or replacement. Everything is falling apart.

The hotel is hanging on this myth that this is like stepping back in time, and transporting you to 40's Hollywood. This place may have some history attached to it, but it is far from glamorous. The staff/owner need to realize that this place is a "sows ear", not a "silk purse" and get over the attitude. Acting like snobs, does not give this dump any class.

They do have a nice big pool, but that too is showing it's age. We did not have any hot water, but no one to complain to. The bathroom ceiling fan squealed so loud that you couldn't turn it on, which meant the light as well---and the list goes on and on.

We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The size of the pool
  • Disliked — That everything is dilapidated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    9
    18
    18
See reviews for
9
84
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This was our second visit to the Palms and it was as great as the first. This is a small historic hotel with a lot of space. The pool was the perfect temp considering the air temp was 100+ degrees. The staff members were great. They leave you to enjoy your vacation, but are there to help if you need something. The restaurant was closed for summer, but we went to the Red Ocotillo and had some wonderful food. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet weekend away as long as you understand that the place is older and is not going to have all the bells and whistles of a 5-star resort.

  • Liked — The pool and history.
  • Disliked — Needs some upkeep.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationgirl_0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Don't be fooled by the website. The hotel hasn't been properly maintained in about 10 years. Worse, no one is there. In my 4 day stay, I only saw 2 people, 1 on the third day and 1 on the fourth day.
Finally, I didn't have any hot water in my room, and when I called the front desk and e-mailed the first day, I had no response. Only when I accidentally "ran into" the person there on the third day did I get help with my no hot water problem. She said the building is old, so they have quirky problems sometimes, and she gave me a key to another room so I could shower there.
When I checked out today, there was no mention by the front desk of my lack of hot water, and when a couple asked me if I would recommend the hotel, I said no, due to the lack of staff responsiveness. The owner (I think) then started yelling at me and said that there was hot water, that I was lying, and that I had a chemical inbalance for making up lies. BEWARE!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The lack of staff, no hot water, owner who yells at guests
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We spent 2 nights here in late April and were very pleased. Since it was the end of the busy season in the desert we had the place to ourselves. We had no issues with noise or the facilities as mentioned by other reviewers. Yes, there is much work needed to restore it to its former glory as the hot spot for celebrities back in the '40's and '50's but walking out amongst the ruins and viewing the photos of the celebrity visitors form part of its charm. We were perched right on the edge of the desert and were privileged with the best sunrises and sunsets, wildlife etc. We enjoyed getting our own breakfast (bagels, croissants, fresh fruit, juice) each morning in the breakfast. We felt very at home here and definitely would return.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — fighting with the broken blinds to open them each day
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2008

There has been some superficial cosmetic work done on this very old building but it is in dire need of total renovation. The building feels like it will fall over in a major wind. The curtains do not go all the way to the ceiling to cover the ceiling-to- floor windows on the front of the room. As a result, the porch lights kept us awake until they went off at whatever hour (midnight?). The rooms are not sound-insulated so you hear every toilet flush, water running in the sink or shower that occurs. The mattress on our king-size bed felt like it had been there since the hotel was built. It was horrible - lumpy and uncomfortable. We wanted to talk to a manager about the problems with our room but a sign informed us no one would be at the desk until 9 AM. As we wanted to get going early the next morning we had no opportunity to talk to anyone. In fact, we never saw an employee behind the desk from the time we got there in the late afternoon until we left the next morning! And for the privilege, we paid $205/night. Definitely not worth it and definitely not going back.

  • Liked — Nothing - it is an overpriced, uncomfortable rip off.
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable mattress for $205/night.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Diaalazawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

This hotel is Quirky! The pool and hot tub are amazing and very relaxing, with plenty of comfy lounge chairs to enjoy the sun and view. The deluxe rooms all have huge windows that over look the pool and Borrego Valley. The casitas look like the nicest and newest addition and are right by the pool. The regular rooms face the rear of the hotel and have very small windows. While the Hotel itself has been restored, the grounds are in various states of disrepair with crumbling remains of the Hotels former glory scattered about.

We had a great stay at the Palms and didn't mind the creaky floors, thin walls, loud plumbing , costco large sized toiletries and quirky to open door to our room. (they are currently upgrading these doors, slowly but surely). One thing we were disappointed about is that the restaurant "The Krazy Koyote" is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays this time of year which also means no fresh cookies brought to your room on these days. Call ahead to be sure the restaurant is open during your stay.

You can't get a better location than this Hotel! It is the only Hotel that is off a quiet side street and not on the main drag. It is also at the base of the State Park with an incredible view of the valley and you can walk from the Hotel to the Visitors Center or the Palm Canyon Trail. If you don't mind quirky and want the best location in the valley, this place is for you.

  • Liked — Location, View, Pool, Hot Tub, Close to State Park
  • Disliked — Resturant Closed, Bulk Sized Costco Tolletries
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank naturesbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

This is a great place to relax, swim in their Olympic-sized pool in the day and sit in the hot tub at night under the stars. We had a good-sized room (#5) overlooking the roof but facing the desert and we could see for miles. Try to reserve # 2 and 3. They are directly over the pool. Saw 5-6 coyotes in the early mornings, bunnies and ground squirrels all over the grassy area, a roadrunner each time we came and went in the parking lot. Their Krazy Coyote restaurant has better and more "conscious"
food for the price than any place in Borrego Springs. (Although the Red Octotillo, in town, which they also own, has great food for breakfast and lunch). The dining room is very romantic,looks out over that great pool and palm trees.
As you walk through the lobby there's always Frank, Dean, or Nat Cole playing, keeping with the 50s theme.
The staff and owners are very friendly, especially the owner, Cindy. Sure, there's a few rough edges (like a very so-so continental breakfast with plastic-wrapped muffins and croissants--eeww! and a sliding entry door to the room that requires you to have the upper-body strength of a weightlifter. But it's so close to Borrego Palm Canyon, a great hike where we saw a Big Horn Sheep buck and a yearling drinking out of the stream. The entire park and town are great for birders too. You'll love the inn--an oasis in the desert.

  • Liked — beautiful pool and hot tub; restaurant
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RicoPesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
3.4 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
104 reviews
19.7 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Indian Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Indian Head

Property: Palms at Indian Head
Address: 2220 Hoberg Road, PO Box 525, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palms at Indian Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Indian head is a beautiful hotel at an unsurpassed location. We have a level of privacy and personalized service that cannot be compared with any other hotel. Our property is quiet with outstanding views and off the beaten path. We have a unique setting with 12 rooms and a mid-century modern architecture built on its own twenty acres of natural desert land. Our Hotel is complete with a large Olympic-size pool, oversized Jacuzzi and spacious patio area. $10 off breakfast per person at the Red Ocotillo restaurant off Christmas Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Palms at Indian Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Indian Head Desert Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing