We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palms at Indian Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

What a treat! Old school feeling, with class. Best pool! The views are breathtaking. Each room is different! We loved the corner suite. Food is amazing in the restaurant, too.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 153 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Beautifully maintained mid-century hotel in the desert. Delightful room. Great restaurants. Rabbits and birds all around. Looking forward to restoration of the outbuildings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I would have loved to give this place five stars, but that wouldn't be fair to all tripadvisor users, not all of whom have my tastes. So...a solid four stars, with growth potential! The Palms is a wonderful project, a loving restoration of a desert hideaway for Hollywood types having quiet affairs back in the late 1940s and 1950s. The architecture is "high modernist," the sort that went into upscale resorts back then--a lot of glass. The advent of jet travel killed a lot of these get-there-by-Cessna getaway spots and, over the decades, the buildings fell into ruin. Just over a decade ago, an enterprising couple saw restoration potential. At this point, all of the primary buildings have been beautifully restored--plus the grand Olympic-plus swimming pool (seriously Hollywood). Decor is simple, but appealing (only complaint: Our room was utterly deficient in reading lights, but I was told changes are coming). We took an upstairs room and, from the huge sliding glass doors had incredible desert-sunrise views (the motel is situated on the far edge of town and borders the state park, so you get great air and a view). Every member of the staff was helpful, everything was clean (save a few windows on the side of the building--hard to keep them spotless with the desert dust), and the bed and bedding were excellent. My wife and I loved the nostalgic feel and, should we return to Borrego Springs, definitely would stay at The Palms again. Downsides? Look, it's a restored mid-century upscale motel, not The Four Seasons. You're not going to get 24-hour room service or Frette linens. And breakfast is only served on weekends (see separate review of Koyote Kafe restaurant in the motel/resort)...but there are great options for breakfast in town and the desk will make recommendations. Bottom line: If you're a bit adventurous and a romantic at heart, you'll get a huge kick out of staying here for a few days. We did. Jogger's tip: Great air, great sunrise runs--one mile to the main road, then run into the state park or downtown and back; there also are wide residential streets to run which have close to zero traffic. In the wonderful January right-at-sunrise air, I had some of my best runs in years. Just do it.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building have great views. Poolside cottages may be great, but I'll go wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed i room # 7. The toilet was broken, and the room did not have a dresser to put your clothes in . Also, the hotel is not a bread and breakfast anymore.

Room Tip: This room needs to be repaired and updated. The toilet didn't flush properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hubby and I made a last minute decision to head to Borrego Springs for our anniversary night. Yes, we've been to Borrego before and know that this town is an amazing throwback to the 1950's. Yet we LOVE the Palms at Indian Head and were thrilled to learn we had one of our favorite poolside casitas. (I just love those rooms right off the pool deck!). We thoroughly enjoyed our low key evening and tasty dinner at the Crazy Coyote. The surprise for me was seeing and hearing the grand piano being played in the lobby. Very classy.
Lunch on the patio was yummy, relaxed, and leisurely with friendly service. The sunshine felt so warm and welcoming!
It was a really nice desert escape to remember. We will be back again.
PS - love those cookies that are delivered to your room!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I came here several times when I lived in SoCal, brought family and friends, whom all had fun and relaxing time at this small inn.

On-premise restaurant was good, rooms comfortable and quiet.

Nearby palm canyon was fun to hike into and looking for bighorn sheep on the hillsides is always fascinating.

The Palms requires a minimum two-night stay

Room Tip: There is one very large room at The Palms. Not sure what it costs, but probably three times the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgtsc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Whether out-of-season, with the hot summer sun warming the huge pool to a perfect temp, ;watching the poolside rabbits and squirrels to the desert sounds of silence, or in-season, with oh-so comfortable rooms, warm cookies delivered to your room at sunset, and a restaurant with food to equal the best in any metropolis, this is the place to be. And it has history, something missing in today's hurry-up world. A gem in the desert.

Room Tip: The casitas are ground level, other rooms are upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djanet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
517 reviews
17.7 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
137 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Indian Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Indian Head

Address: 2220 Hoberg Road, PO Box 525, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range: $149 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palms at Indian Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Indian head is a beautiful hotel at an unsurpassed location. We have a level of privacy and personalized service that cannot be compared with any other hotel. Our property is quiet with outstanding views and off the beaten path. We have a unique setting with 12 rooms and a mid-century modern architecture built on its own twenty acres of natural desert land. Our Hotel is complete with a large Olympic-size pool, oversized Jacuzzi and spacious patio area. $10 off breakfast per person at the Red Ocotillo restaurant off Christmas Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Palms at Indian Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Indian Head Desert Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing