We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs we ever had!”
Review of Carlee's Place

Carlee's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Best ribs we ever had!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spending two days and nights in Borrego Springs last summer, we were looking for a decent place to dine - and ended up devouring full stack after full stack of Carlee's spare ribs. Never had something that came even close ever since. They're the benchmark when it comes to spare ribs. It's like "Well, these are okay ribs. But they're no way like the ones we had in Borrego Springs."
ANYWAY, apart from the ribs (did I mention how über-great they were?), Carlee's has plenty more to offer: good drinks, salads and steaks, friendly staff, nice atmosphere (a bit dimly-lit for some, but I like it). Next time I'll try the burger...as a starter for THEM RIBS!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BjoernAhrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    163
    59
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, drink and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Don't know where all those folk came from, but this little restaurant/bar was very very busy. We got the last seats at the bar. Good atmosphere, we enjoyed a few cocktails and had a very good steak. The kitchen was really busy but the quality of the food didn't suffer at all. Highly recommend this wee gem.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaxnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Craft beer in Borrego”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good bartenders, a couple of good craft beers, music on weekends and great people-watching. The place can really fill up during popular weeks when wildflowers are blooming.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Burger etc, Oasis”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

7 of us on a motorcycle road trip ate here again recently for lunch; perhaps 6 or 7 times in the past couple years. This is a great little restaurant in this often very hot desert resort ..... biker bar / touristas--- all are welcome, service is great, and the food is very good and reasonably priced. From burgers, to fish & chips, sandwiches, and subs --- all were presented well, fresh, and tasty. The facility was very clean to include the restrooms, service was excellent, friendly, prompt, etc (even though Carlee's was "packed" for lunch).

My only .... only regret is that the facility is very dark inside with virtually no windows....and thus, coming from extremely bright sun outside to the dark "well lit" seating area --- your eyes require a minute to adjust. Carlee's ... consider adding a couple windows! ... it can only improve the atmosphere in this nice little desert oasis!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great night spot”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times and not been disappointed I had one of the best martinis ever. Burgers, wings, potato skins were good. Steak was done to perfection and the ribs were tasty. We plan another visit soon would recommend reservations, as weekends are busy.

Helpful?
Thank clc772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlee's Place also viewed

 

Been to Carlee's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing