We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ukiah)(Great Value!)
$135
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$185
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Ukiah(Ukiah)(Great Value!)
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Orchard Inn(Ukiah)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
68
30
7
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
30
7
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanderson valleyhotel barsmall townquiet eveningthis lovely hotelthe main hotelsipping wineapple farmsitting roomback porchlocal winebeautiful groundsa lovely stayroad tripwineriespinotmendocino
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 119 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I recently took a trip to the Anderson Valley to celebrate my birthday, and stayed at the Boonville Hotel. After our car trip up from San Francisco, we arrived to the calming oasis of Boonville (perhaps one of the most charming towns in Northern California) and the Boonville Hotel. Immediately, all of our worries from the week slipped away, and we simply relaxed with a glass of wine while strolling the grounds and later sitting by the fire pit on the property.

The hotel is charming to say the least. For anyone that is looking to get away from it all, the Boonville Hotel is the place to go. The property has only a handful of rooms, which simply adds to its charm...it made us feel like we had stumbled upon a secret treasure. We stayed in the Pump House, a stand alone cabin that had a country, yet very modern feel to it. Sitting outside on our porch, watching the sunset during our last evening there was simply heaven!

Oh, and the food is a treat! The dinners we shared during our stay were spectacular five course feasts. We took our time, enjoying each dish (because really, what else do you have to do up there except eat and drink) and were not disappointed. The duck we had on our second night was a particular favorite of mine. Also, in the mornings the hotel offers guests a breakfast of coffee and freshly-made scones, which were delicious.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip up to Anderson Valley. It is rare that we leave somewhere so enthusiastic about our experience, but after our stay at the Boonville Hotel, we are still finding ourselves talking about how much we enjoyed our weekend. For those looking to get away from it all and enjoy good food, wine, and relaxation, stay at the Boonville Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Without a doubt, the Boonville Hotel is a landmark in Anderson Valley. Its setting amongst world-class vineyards, redwood forests and rolling hills makes for a perfect getaway. The rooms are very quaint and comfortable. However, I felt the entire time like I was being nickle-and-dimed by the management. For instance, why should I be required to eat a meal at their restaurant, or face extra charges for not doing so? Although run by the son of French Laundry owners, the food was agreeable at best and certainly not worth the price. Spend your money at some of the other great family-run hotels in the area, like the Anderson Creek Inn, Anderson Valley Inn, or The Apple Farm (run by Johnny's sister).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovetoTravel152515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is a marvellous place. It's an old hotel opposite the village general store, and it oozes friendliness and charm. Comfortable and homely, life can just roll by with ease especially when sampling the fine local wines by the glass or their excellent micro brewery beers. Boonville Hotel is a Slow Foodies heaven - this place knocked spots of the San Francisco places. The chefs 1 (3 course) menu is set with the best ingredients available that day to the chef John Schmitt. We had the freshest local produce, often from the hotel garden and all the individual flavours spoke for themselves - it simply couldn't be better. Oh and Melinda the pastry chef is real top class too! The Hotel staff are so friendly and likeable. Just a great place to stay. P&AM

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We knew Johnny Schmidt was a great chef before we traveled to his hotel, The Boonville Hotel. We arrived to fabulous herb and flower gardens that were magnificent. The family style meals were delicious, creative, generous and wonderful. The flavor of the food was great, and the style of the dining was casual, friendly and happy. The Boonville Hotel is a must visit destination for those looking for upscale dining and relaxed, but extremely comfortable accommodations. If you are headed to Mendocino, stop first at The Boonville Hotel. I plan to return again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieohalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I came here with my mom and fiance last weekend for the Boonville Beer Festival. I knew about the hotel from a previous visit to AVBC (Anderson Valley Brewing Company) and also knew that there are very limited rooms, like 10 total.
We called on Friday night as we saw online that they had a room available for that night and Saturday night. The gentleman told us that he would save the room for us and allow us to arrive on Saturday and skip the 2 night minimum. We were so grateful and pleased with his gracious attitude and being so accomodating.
We arrived at 11am on Saturday and were given room #7. It has a Queen size bed and a Twin, so was perfect for us 3. The room was extremely small, but was fine for us as we were only planning on sleeping in there anyway. There was a cubby hole type of closet and also hooks on all walls, so plenty of space to hang anything and everything, which my fiance took advantage of. Plus above the twin bed there were a few books to choose from and on the night stand there were fresh cut flowers. There is no tv and no phone, so expect a nice quiet night and keeping yourself entertained in other ways.
About the room, I did notice that the walls need to be repainted as there are some marks and dirt, but it wasn't until I walked into the bathroom that I really noticed how bad this room was. The ceiling directly above the shower had water bubbles from the man who stayed the night prior, so some better ventilation might be a good idea. Also, the grout between the shower tiles are covered with mold. It was pretty disgusting when I realized what that was during my Sunday morning shower. There was also some random drips/streaks of stuff on the walls, that I'm sure if you just spray some cleaner and use a sponge, it would come off. They should also replace/wash the bathroom rug after each visit as ours looked pretty used.
Other than our actual room, the hotel grounds were amazing! So prestine and it shows how much the owners love it. Definitely worth hanging out and having a pint of beer in the garden, on the front deck or even around the fire pit. We had the fire going our one night there, which was so much fun.
I would come back if they took better care of the actual rooms and lowered their prices, but you aren't just paying for the bed, you are also paying for the living room which is loaded with board games and books, the herb garden out back, the fire pit, the free range chickens hanging out and they even have a bee box!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews