We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
68
30
7
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
30
7
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanderson valleyhotel barsmall townquiet eveningthis lovely hotelthe main hotelsipping wineapple farmsitting roomback porchlocal winebeautiful groundsa lovely stayroad tripwineriespinotmendocino
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 119 of 119 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I should preface this review by saying that we stayed in the most expensive suite: the Bungalow.

It was wonderful. Boonville is a small (no street lights) town. We do love it. But the hotel whisks you away so that you feel like you're in a whole different place that feels like the Wine Country: The furnishings are tasteful, the grounds are wonderful, and the staff and cooks are very friendly.

The public area and dining room had a gas fireplace, music, and public books and board games. "Boutique-y" yes, but when you see the guests playing and reading, it adds to the ambiance.

The grounds were beautiful. Different trees, a lit patio, fire ring, and a cooking garden. While walking around, we ran into the head chef many times running to the garden to pick fresh vegetables for dinner that night! The place was like a retreat with picnic tables, manicured grounds, and a property cat named Gus who treated us like an old friend.

The room was sooo comfortable. So comfortable. It had a hammock in the front step, and a private screened-in porch that caught the afternoon sun. I saw the porch, put my bags down, sat in the rocking chair, and knocked out for a long nap....it was that comfortable. The room had no TV (thanks), and had a gas fireplace, seating area, and table and chairs. Perfect for a romantic getaway, but not great for more than 1-kid.

The weird part was the bathroom. The entire interior of the bathroom (sink was in separate room) was made of earth-colored stucco...including the bath tub. The bath tub could seat 3, by the way. But the stucco thing was weird.

If you do go....Do make reservations at the restaurant (amazing food at relatively low prices <$23 for most expensive item and extensive wine list>), do have a pint and play a game of disc golf at the Andersen Valley Brewing Company, and do get a milkshake from the ice cream shoppe across the street.

Don't bring a laptop, Blackberry, or work-related items.

...and say "Hi" to Gus for us.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldenBearTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

My stay at the Boonville Hotel was based upon a recommendation from friends. Their summer visit happened on a night the restaurant was open and their room was in a cottage in the back. My visit occurred on a Tuesday night when the dining room was closed. My room was in the front of the hotel on the second floor. I arrived with my sister around 4:00 pm to check in and move into our room. The room was very nice and clean. Since the restaurant was closed we walked through the small town to find a place for dinner. When we returned, the hotel was closed up for the evening so we entered through the back door. The place was deserted. After washing my hair I realized that there was not a hair dryer in the room. I wandered all over the hotel to find someone but everyone had left. I went to bed with wet hair. All night long there was continual traffic noise that sounded like it was in our room. We concluded that people racing through town would sound their horn to warn other drivers of their presence. There were sounds of cars racing, people shouting from their cars and semi-trucks blazing through making time from a slow day on the road. We did not sleep well. Our room was $225 for one night. Based upon our experience I would return under very specific conditions. Stay when the restaurant is open and the hotel is staffed. Require a room that is not in the front of the hotel. Overall, a nice place but the service is minimal and the rates are very high. There aren't many choices in Boonnville so this one can work if you keep the requirements in mind when you book your reservation.

Stayed: September 2006
7  Thank Sketchpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I almost don’t want to write this review, because this Hotel is such a gem of a secret.

The Boonville Hotel’s website shows thumbnail views of the accommodations that made me wary of quality of their establishment. However, since I tend to avoid lacey doily-laden B&B’s with 16 different fabric textures in one room, I decided to call them and book anyway and reserved a dinner table for the first night.

It is about 2+ hours north of San Francisco and is on the way to the City of Mendocino.

I was pleasantly surprised. Their style is what I can only call modern southwestern. This historic hotel was built in 1862 and still retains that well-maintained charm. On the inside, it has been remodeled to contain 8 rooms in the main building and two separate studios out back.

There was a nice living room downstairs with games and books and plenty of room to hang out and a nice bar and restaurant in the back. There are no phones, TVs, or internet, but we did not miss those amenities once during our stay. We did have cell phone service, which was a bonus.

I had read that the owners of this hotel also own French Laundry in Napa, which is deemed to be one of the best restaurants around.

We went up to our room, which had a nice living room area and a balcony with a hammock on it with a view of the beautiful surrounding oak-dotted hills. We walked around the town and were a bit disappointed that the General Store and Wine-Tasting room across the street closed at 5PM. So we walked a little further down to a small market and bought some local fruit and wine.

We returned for dinner and sat outside in their lovely garden. Speaking to the other patrons, I realized that we were surrounded by locals. When the food came out, I realized why. Delicate seasonings paired with quality foods. Add a local wine and it was an excellent dining experience. We spent quite a while on that deck, enjoying the ambience and friendly service before we went to bed early.

My only complaint about my stay is the traffic noise we heard from our front room. Perhaps the interior rooms are quieter.

The next morning, we woke up early, had coffee, locally grown apple juice and freshly baked scones downstairs and drove the 40 minutes to the city of Mendocino. We had considered staying in Mendocino, but seeing how overcast and gloomy it was, we were very happy to be staying in the sunny Anderson Valley at the Boonville Hotel. We then went wine-tasting on the way back to the hotel. After speaking with locals, we decided to eat again at the hotel, as everything else was deemed either horrible or closed. We were delighted once again. The menu had changed enough so that I could have something different, but my wife wanted to have the same thing. We even asked for and received a recipe on the way out.

Bottom line: If you want friendly service, great food, clean, modern accommodations, and a great starting point to visit Mendocino and the wineries of Anderson Valley, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews