We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Central at the Boonville Hotel”
Review of Boonville Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boonville Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxation Central at the Boonville Hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed three nights at the Boonville Hotel during a tour of California wine country, and I wish we had stayed longer. The staff were friendly and helpful, evening letting us sample some local wines after hours. A light breakfast of yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade granola, and freshly baked scones was served each morning, and it was all delicious. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town, with restaurants/shops all within a maximum of a two minute walk away.
If possible, make sure to book one of the rooms that are not located in the farmhouse part of the hotel. We stayed in one of the individual, cabin-style rooms, called the "Back Porch", which was divine. Our room was wonderful, with a private, partially enclosed patio. Comfortable bed, very quiet, and a really nice shower.
Now for the best part - the grounds. The property on which the hotel sits is GORGEOUS. I spent many hours lounging in the flower-covered gazebo, sipping wine and reading while hummingbirds buzzed around. Paradise.

Room Tip: Try to book an individual cabin as opposed to staying in the farmhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just stayed one night here, and it was really pleasant. We usually breeze thru Boonville on our way to the coast, but this time we wanted a quick overnight stay in the Anderson Valley while shopping for wine for a wedding. The Boonville Hotel was actually the only thing decent that did not require a 2-night minimum on the weekend, but we really liked it. We were in one of the little cabins off the main lodge which I think would be nicer, and a bit further from the road than a room in the main hotel. Kinda of tasteful funky, nice bed, a private deck off our room, no TV but wifi, beautiful gardens with scattered comfy seats for lounging, nice continental breakfast, and if you feel like an indulgence, don't miss the prix fixe dinner - everything we ate was incredible. Not much to do in Boonville itself but you could use this as a base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: The cabins further from the road, tho it's not a very busy route after hours,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a great two night stay in the spacious bungalow which fronts the garden in back of the hotel. This was our second stay and it was just as enjoyable as the first. We were pleased to note that although Gus the resident cat has now departed, he has been replaced with the just as friendly Ripley, who greeted us each day and walked us to the bungalow.
Breakfasts in the hotel were simple and completely satisfying. Juice, granola, coffee, scones and local jam all laid out on the sideboard for you to enjoy at your leisure. The home-made scones were the highlight. Dinners were excellent and the restaurant was hopping on Sunday night. We enjoyed the local wine suggestions, in particular Signal Ridge sparkling wine and Drew albarino. The fixed menu changes daily and we found the salads to be particularly interesting: Caesar with grilled lettuce with squid, radicchio with grilled bread crumbs. Mains were equally impressive: pork pozole and shrimp risotto. Desserts (ice cream with caramel sauce and lemon pudding cake) topped things off. We appreciated that bread was not served with dinners as one does not need the extra filler.
The Boonville Hotel is a great base for exploring the beautiful and as yet unspoiled Anderson Valley, which is a more relaxing and less crowded area than highly developed and commercialized Napa or Sonoma.

Room Tip: The bungalow is the most private of the several cottages on the property. Probably also the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauaimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

To me, it is not peaceful or tranquil to go to a hotel where they promote hunting as part of their special services. I find it disgusting and offensive. If you are looking for quaint, the little town of Boonville is that but better to find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank beatrice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Boonville is a tiny town in the middle of Anderson valley wine country and is like Napa of old before commercialization and bling. Boonville Hotel is a rustic hotel in the heart of Anderson Valley with a great chef, ideal for a wine and dine night or weekend with your partner. Boonville not a high tech resort and only wireless internet with limited bandwidth is available. The hotel property is ideal for couples seeking solace from our always on culture; the hotel provides a beautiful landscape to enjoy privacy out of ear shot of others. Be sure to make a reservation for diner if you like the night’s menu.

Pinot is the main varietal grape in the Anderson Valley however finding good pinot anywhere is hard these days as any pinot with a rating of 93 or more gets sold out instantly to the wine snobs of the world. Anderson Valley allows one to hone their pinot senses in understanding the varietal.

Suggested Stay: One or Two nights for a couple while traipsing thru wine Anderson valley in search of great pinot and other varietals.

Alternate Stay: Boonville Hotel would be an excellent place for an extended family gathering or group during the off season as the hotel can accommodate a large family sized group and have a provide a great atmosphere for all.

Pros: Low Tech, no TVs, lots of tranquil garden space and deluxe 1880’s style accommodations.

Cons: Anderson Valley is a tiny community with three main eateries, a couple art galleries and a few other shops all nicely done. Anderson Valley is a place for a short adventure and an experience to enjoy not a commercial destination like Tahoe. If one is here on a game weekend, the pub across the way has good beer and cable.

Room Tip: Boonville hotel has rooms in the main hotel as well as a few cabins. I would only avoid rooms adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Resort_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I found an article in Wine Spectator magazine recommending the Boonville Hotel. It also has listings in other books on places to stay in Northern California. We arrived in late afternoon on a Wednesday for one night. I knew that it did not have TV in the rooms but that was not an issue for me. It was a very warm day which necessitated opening the windows. The traffic was a noise nuisance that evening. They did provide a small fan for the room. The rooms are comfortably furnished and clean but both sets of stairs were very visibly worn. We appeared to be the only guests that evening but when I inquired about that, I was told that some workers for the harvest of grapes will be staying there. The front door was locked at 7:30 PM but we had a key to enter through the outside steps in the back. So much for security since keys were taped on the door for 2 late arriving guests. We were told that breakfast would be available at 8:30 AM, but if we wanted coffee earlier, there was a very nice coffee shop across the street. The hotel restaurant was not open on Wednesdays so we had only a couple of choices in town-bar food and a local restaurant that was less than average. Breakfast was simple but appeared homemade and very tasty. Again, we did not see any other guests and 8:30 is a little late to begin breakfast for travelers. For the price of the room, it was not a good value or experience. I received one offer of help taking my things upstairs but by that time, I had taken care of it myself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This beautiful, quaint hotel is a tremendous find sort of in the middle of nowhere. It's rustic charm, lovely gardens, outstanding dinner and quiet ambience provide the wonderful break form life's hectic pace. Definitely must experience the evening dinner at Table 128 (reservations strongly suggested) - excellent fare and great wine list but a bit pricey for some. This hotel is located in the middle of the small town of Booneville which offers some unusual, eclectic shopping and browsing experiences. Within short driving distance are several outstanding wineries to explore.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonville
23.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
516 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
130 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonville Hotel

Property: Boonville Hotel
Address: 14050 Hwy. 128, Boonville, CA 95415
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Boonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
– simplicity by design – at the boonville hotel, we have our own ideas about what makes a satisfying getaway. we pare down to the basics, then make those basics anything but. throughout the hotel, we reject clutter for quality, offering a small number of choice options. we have a limited staff so we can compensate them better, making for a higher quality of service. we have a small menu so we can showcase the best ingredients on every plate. this is simplicity by design. our luxuries are the light, the space, the landscape. amenities are thoughtfully selected with an eye on natural materials and ingredients, ecological impact, and the pleasure they provide. while you’re here, we invite you to BE here. the rooms have no tv or phones, and internet service is unpredictable. this is a rural roadhouse, where we put our energy into clean, comfortable beds, fresh, expertly prepared food, and friendly, down to earth staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing