We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great, but still the best in Bonita” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Onos
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Bonita
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not great, but still the best in Bonita”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant offers decent quality sushi, although it's overpriced. Unfortunately there aren't that many Sushi places in Bonita and this is by far the best. Ask for larger rolls as a 2 dollar difference could mean the difference between being satisfied and being hungry/broke. They need to revise their pricing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJVasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor service, average Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We live in Bonita and have a hard time finding a good local restaurant. We stopped by one Friday night and found the pretty good crowd. We're not sure if they were short staffed or just incredibly incompetent. We waited 45 minutes for our meal to be served. The Sushi was OK but not extraordinary and not worth the wait. We've had other friends report that they noticed a fall off in service. Make sure to tell the management!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
283 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Second visit was just as good as the first!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ono's has happy hour food an drink specials during the week, so it seemed like a great place to start our dining experience. We ordered a mango mojito, a dragon's milk, the ono mule, and a mojito. Each drink was unique in its own way and all are made with either soju or sake. We also started with some of their $5 apps, including, the bulgogi fries, chicken kelaguen with chips, the bulgogi hand roll and the california roll. We enjoyed each of our choices thoroughly.

For dinner, we ordered the kalua pig ramen, chicken katsu, and mixed tempura. Once again, everything was very good.

One thing that has really stood out to me on both of our visits is their friendly service. Everyone who works there seems to really enjoy their jobs.

The prices here are fantastic, the food is very good, and the service is excellent. What is there not to like?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California, United States
2 reviews
“1/2 off Sushi - Yeah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A coupon brought us here the 1st time, but I've been back. 1/2 off sushi basic rolls is really good and not just the value - taste and presentation is super. Specialty rolls are very tasty - and this last visit I saw the ramen that is a Thursday special - I want to try that! It looked and smelly wonderful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
283 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great first impression...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Good food, friendly and excellent service. The lunch prices are excellent and after looking at the dinner menu, this place will not break the bank. I had the chicken teriyaki plate that was very good and my wife had a bento box that she enjoyed as well. The water, tea, soda are all served in huge glasses, so there is no way you're going home thirsty. Wish I was going to be in town longer so I could back here for dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Onos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing