We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfers and not much else.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolinas Beach

Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Bolinas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beach with smooth and friendly waves for the surfing beginner.
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surfers and not much else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lots of surfers, old and young at the beach even in Feb. and a few cafes to eat at. Nice cafe with great coffe and pastries. The wife even had eggs and bacon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grambo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great wide open beach not too crowded. We like to walk our dogs and take in the beauty that surrounds us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dog Poop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

There was a lot of dog poop just left on the beach so not too appealing...I would take my kids to a different beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank 50PlusCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You can relax at Bolinas beach with the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

State beaches have a no dogs allowed rule. While at Stinson Beach we were told we couldn't have our dog on leash there despite many dogs running around on the beach. We drove over to Bolinas and could enjoy our dog and the beach. It's a very relaxed beach with other dogs. We've never had any trouble with our dog getting along with some of the resident Bolinas dogs.

We picnic, build sand castles, kids brave a swim in the cold water and my daughter likes to surf. There is a surf gear rental shop within walking distance of the beach.

We always have a relaxing time at Bolinas beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Qoekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beach House, Bolinas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2005

we were looking for a week spent in combo of San Francisco and the No Ca coast. On the internet found the Beach House, Bolinas -----
A great base ! the drive to Bolinas out of SF is incredible..highway follows the coast and goes through the Muir Woods National Park area. Then in Bolinas you can hike the Point Reyes National Seashore by walking out the front door. We walked miles of beaches in total privacy. House has great views, all the comforts of home and spacious privacy on the lot.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolinas Beach also viewed

Bolinas, Marin County
 
Bolinas, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Bolinas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing