We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bodega Bay Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at the Tides(Bodega Bay)
$239
$232
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodega Harbor Inn(Bodega Bay)(Great Value!)
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Ford Hotel(Valley Ford)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Hotel(Occidental)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Continental Inn(Tomales)(Great Value!)
$230
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastopol Inn(Sebastopol)
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol(Sebastopol)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,852)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveler rating
1,250
417
107
51
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,250
417
107
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck clubfog hornhot tubpacific coastfire pitwine and cheese receptiondoran beachoystersprivate balconyspa serviceson site restaurantrooms are largeview of the baysan franciscoromantic getawaystayed longerbeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've stayed at the lodge a few times and always had a great time; nice room, great view, free happy hour wine and appetizers, nice pool and hot tub...

This review is based solely on the great customer service we received from Jon (manager). We had some extenuating circumstances and Jon did a fantastic job turning a problem into a positive. Our visiting family had a great time. That is what customer service is all about!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel overlooking Bodega Bay. Our room was lovely, with a little balcony overlooking the water. The staff were all very nice. Our room had a nice big bathroom, a fireplace, and two extremely comfortable queen beds. Having the lovely restaurant there on the premises was an added bonus.

Room Tip: I suspect there isn't a bad room in the place, as far as I could see they all look out over the water
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Took my girlfriend out of the city for a romantic 4th of July weekend getaway and, I have to say, Bodega Bay Lodge was the perfect place for a dream weekend. The gorgeous views of Bodega Bay were refreshingly peaceful. Our room was spacious with all the amenities (real fireplace, jacuzzi big enough for two, a fully stocked bar, and free wifi). The restaurant was on par with some of the best restaurants in San Francisco - I strongly recommend the duck and the cheese platter. We spoiled ourselves with spa services - the couples massages were exactly what we needed after our visit to the fitness center. I got my first ever Gentleman's Facial and I actually can't wait to get another one (thanks Diane!!).

Overall, an easy 5-star rating for this fabulous property!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 609, the the Trumpeter Swan room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dessertdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

If you know what to expect, this can be a fabulous place to visit. On the plus side, it has a great view of Bodega Bay and its beaches, with easy access to the state park and its two miles of unspoiled beaches. Every room has a great view, so you don't have to worry about tiered pricing just to get a nice view. Additionally, the place comes with an excellent restaurant, which serves a fine breakfast and a terrific dinner. The staff is friendly and they offer complimentary wine in the evenings.
On the negative side, just be aware that in the middle of summer it is just like being in San Francisco--the temperature rarely gets above 70 degrees, and is usually in the lower 60's. (We drove there twice from towns 20 miles inland during the afternoon, and both times the temperature dropped more than 20 degrees along the way.) The morning fog takes a long time to burn off and it can be pretty gloomy. They have a nice pool, but no one in their right mind would get in. The hot tub is big--can accommodate 16--and is popular. Everyone walks around in the brown hotel robes, giving the impression of a monastery. The fire pits are also popular, as are the fireplaces in each room. There is a "fitness center" but it is poorly equipped, with four rather tired aerobic machines; and the "spa" is tiny.
So go for the view, the romantic seclusion and the proximity to Sonoma Coast wineries, but bring some warm clothes!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went for a "girls' weekend"; there were five (5) of us in two (2) rooms of different styles.

Great jumping-off point to explore northern Marin and Sonoma counties. The property is beautifully manicured with flowers and greenery--hummingbirds, cranes, butterflies and bunnies abound. The views of the ocean and Bodega Bay are stunning, especially at sunset. Fog in morning rolled out/burned off each morning by 8am-ish. Fire pit adjacent to restaurant; fire pit in pool/hot tub area. Plenty of shared common outdoor spaces w comfy seating and in private areas adjacent to rooms via porches/decks.

Room 114, a Pacific room, had plenty of room with two queen beds--really nice. Room 504, a family room also with two queen beds, was large enough to be a conference room (may have been one in the past). The bed I slept in in 504 felt like it needed an upgrade--was a little, but notably, slumped in center. Double-linened bedding with ample choice of pillow firmness. Nice art in both rooms--numbered prints that seemed to be of local subjects. Very clean! We ordered a roll-away bed. It was not at all comfortable. Hotel offered to fix, but instead 2 of us shared a queen.

Warning: Neither AT&T or Verizon had much mobile coverage in the area. The hotel had free WiFi which was a saver. We didn't watch TV at all so I don't know what the offerings were.

The two on-site restaurants served the same menu and the food was very good. The restaurant staff was friendly and attentive and accommodating to our relatively large party of five (5).

Spa services, but not really a "spa." It's rooms that are purposed for facial/massage services, but not a spa which, in my mind, includes on-site mgmt, sauna, changing room, private showers, hanging out room with magazines, water, etc. However, the in-room "book" tells you what to expect. The massage I had was excellent and a good value at $110 for 50 mins.

Via phone while setting up reservation and spa services, the front desk was very polite and what one would expect. However, in person the front-desk staff was a little bit of a disappointment. They said the right words, but had a perceptible undertone of lack-of-service-industry-empathy (i.e., a little "piss-y"). We had a reservation misunderstanding upon arrival that took some time to work-out, but in the end the Mgr made us whole and worked the cost to our satisfaction,

In summary, a beautiful property with very nice rooms at a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for room with deck looking at Bay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidwDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews