We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have stayed at Bodega Bay Lodge many time before. We love the view of the Bay, the rooms are outstanding. The staff is always right on the ball and courteous. I highly recomend it to anyone. We had massages on Sunday afternoon. The only bummer was that they are reconstructing the Spa/Pool area,and it was closed at the time. But we looked over the construction fence and it will be awesome to use in the future.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are great! The rooms on the West side have the best ununhibited view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    275
    72
    34
    19
See reviews for
123
657
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love staying at the Bodega Bay Lodge. My fiance surprised me and proposed to me in Bodega Bay a year ago. Part of the surprise was after the proposal he told me that he'd booked us a room at the Bodega Bay Lodge to celebrate. He could not have chosen any place better. This place is romantic and intimate, plus it's comfortable, plush and luxurious.

BBL is first class, all the way. From check in, to wine and cheese hour, to the Duck Club and room service... you get it all. You will have a fantastic stay here. We got a complimentary bottle of champagne after telling them we had just gotten engaged! And chocolates for coming to celebrate a birthday here. We've have stayed three times total, and the fourth visit is already booked. We've always had a wonderful, memorable time.

First of all, the rooms... I LOVE THE BEDS AND BEDDING HERE! SO comfortable. And the bathrooms... I die. They are awesome. The fire place is fantastic (don't have one at home!) and we always end up needing extra logs. I also love the mini Keurig in the rooms, plus the wine glasses and bottle opener. They have thought of everything... you even get cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom.

As previous people have mentioned, you can hear the fog horn, but it doesn't bother me. Now whenever we go, I just bring a set of ear plugs for us both.

Everything else... The Duck Club is excellent. We always eat here and really enjoy it. (Love the crab Benedict!!) The pool and spa are great and the spa services are fantastic. We've done the hot shell massage <AMAZING!> and the couples massage. Though, we've only had spa services in our room... it is so nice to roll off the table and into bed after a great treatment.

If you are feeling rich, spring for the Bodega Bay Upper Room. It seriously costs a fortune but my finance and I enjoyed every second we spent in that room. The soaking tub is out of this world!

Special shout out to Natalie from the front desk, who always remembers us when we visit. She is the best.

I can't wait to go back in a few weeks!

Room Tip: I've had an assortment of rooms, and never gotten a bad one. If you can afford it, go for the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellis155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I know this place has excellent reviews and it certainly deserves them, my wife and I had a very nice time. The property is very beautiful and scenic.

I'll point out a few things: first you are pretty much in the middle of nowhere and so there isn't a lot going on in the area that we could tell. We didn't mind as we pretty much stayed at the lodge except to walk on the head and the beach. Second this is really a lodge and all the rooms we noticed all had exterior entries and surrounded by trees. We had what was probably the cheapest room (first floor on the end) the view was still excellent from our room. The rooms were very large and well maintained.

There is a foghorn at the bay which I could sometimes hear on the property but not in our room.

We also thought the restaurant had excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _MTJ_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have an annual 3 day meeting in Bodega Bay, CA. Of the multiple places that we are given rates to stay, this one is consistently the nicest. Rooms are of modern taste, nice size. The rooms I have stayed in typically have a fireplace, shower only, a reasonably priced minibar, and free internet. After rotating through several other options, I will be planning to stay here for future meetings.

I had a stunning room of the coast - and since the seas were rough, I could here the ocean's waves crashing through the night. Very nice. (It is about a 3/4 mile from the beach).

Free wine and cheese happy hour. Would be nice if they served beer as there are also many local breweries.

Foghorn wasnt a concern for me - and I am a light sleeper - but I typically stay in the top row of rooms - which is further from the coast. I have never eaten at the duck club.

My most recent stay in January 2014, the pool closed (planned to be re-opened in Feb, 14').

Room Tip: Blocks of rooms on top of the hill (next to parking lot) have less foghorn noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just returned from a "girl's weekend" at the lovely Bodega Bay Lodge. The location alone is immediately calming. Our room (607) was spacious and clean and had one of the most comfortable beds I've enjoyed in a long time. There are many great (and easy) walks and hikes to enjoy. Although the spa was under renovation, we found a fantastic alternative at Osmosis Day Spa Sanctuary in neighboring Freestone, CA. I should review that place separately, but I'll just say that you should go there if you want a top knotch facial, massage or unique cypress mulch bath.

The food at Bodega Bay was good. I only ate breakfast there. My only minor issue was that I requested a soft boiled egg and it arrived overcooked into a hard boiled. No big deal though. Lovely staff.

The outdoor fire pit is a real draw in the evening where you can sit in a rocking chair with a glass of wine. Once the pool and spa renovations are complete, I'd highly recommend this to adults who want a relaxing but higher quality getaway. I'd definitely return!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms such as the one we had (607) because they are closest to the bay and are single story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here a few times over the years. We stayed last Fall and were thrilled to see all the upgrades and improvements to the guest rooms! Spectacular! The bed was so comfy and the bathroom! OMG, I know, crazy to be excited about a bathroom, but really! We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with appetizers and wine, staring off at Bodega Head and the Bay. We were celebrating our anniversary and I had mentioned it (apparently) when I made the reservation. There was a really nice "Happy Anniversary" card and some delish chocolates on the bed when we checked in. Such a nice touch. We had dinner at the Duck Club Restaurant - yummy!! The views from both the room and the restaurant are unparallelled, simply stunning. When you're in Bodega Bay, stay at the Bodega Bay Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and i spend 3 nites at the Bodega Bay Lodge for our 34 year anniversary and the accommodation were 5 STAR. Most likely will make this one of our # 1 getaways. The Room was spacious. The views from the room were priceless. In room couple message before dinner was wonderfully relaxing. We had breakfast and Dinners on the site and traveled into town and down the coast line during the lunch and early afternoon hour. Extremely clean and quiet...

Room Tip: Room with the large tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
5.9 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Property: Bodega Bay Lodge
Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Lodge situated on the Sonoma coast, overlooking Doran Beach, sand dunes, marshes & bay. Russian River and Sonoma County wineries closeby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing