We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fantastic setting!”
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay. We had a really spacious room with a well appointed bathroom. Sleeping was not a problem on such a comfortable bed. The balcony was so sunny and warm and protected from the wind during the day. With expansive views overlooking the bay and the wetlands area, it would be a mistake to forget your binoculars. We were so excited to see our first Bald Eagle.

We enjoyed meals in the restaurant, which has a varied menu and great wine choices. On the second visit, we did find the service to be rather slow, but we were not in any hurry and this did not detract from our enjoyment of our meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Bodega Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

The pace is amazing, views were what you would imagine, thr spa was perfect could have stayed for the entire day in there.
The restaurant was yummy with great local choices and wines to add.
The room was huge and overlooked the coast, what else could you ask for!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mark q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a special place right on the edge of the Northern California coast - beautiful views, gorgeous gardens and restful rooms - some with fireplaces. Highly recommended!! The Duck Club is an excellent restaurant with breathtaking views.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have views but ask for a room with a fireplace!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ended our week long trip to California with a two night stay at Bodega Bay Lodge - what a great way to end our trip to California. The hotel is very nice, with exceptionally well-kept grounds, beautiful outbuildings, welcoming lobby/reception area and spacious comfortable rooms. The rooms have working fireplaces - we didn't use ours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a lovely on-site outdoor pool and hot tub area which we enjoyed each day after touring the local sites. So lovely to relax here, watch the wildlife in the surrounding wildlands and marsh area, and the ocean beyond. In the evening, there are a couple of nice outdoor seating areas, with gas fireplaces and comfy chairs to take in the sunset and the stars afterwards. There is a short wildlife trail to take you to the ocean and the expansive beach area - makes a great early morning wake-up walk. A short walk also takes you to the Bodega Bay Golf Links - unfortunately, we didn't have time to play, but it looked amazing. Each evening there was a wine & cheese reception in the lobby, which allowed us to taste some local wines - very nice! We really enjoyed our stay at Bodega Lodge, and recommend it.

Room Tip: It looked like each room has an ocean view - our certainly did, and the small balcony/patio was grea...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Bodega Bay Lodge last weekend for one night. We arrived early and were lucky to check-in before the regular check-in time.
We had a ground floor room with a partial ocean view and it was lovely. Our room was nicely furnished, great little patio area and a huge bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom was less than flattering for applying make-up mind, (just a tip for the girls out there) not that you tend to get all glammed-up in Bodega Bay, but it's nice to look in the mirror and not look green! But anyway...

The robes and slippers were a great touch and were most appreciated. All round a decent room.

I think what made the stay particularly special was the service though. From check-in to dinner service everyone was very friendly and courteous. The manager's happy hour with wine and cheese is a really nice touch and my husband and I enjoyed playing the giant Scrabble board game over a glass of wine or two in the lounge area.

We were really surprised by how good the Duck Club Restaurant was. Very impressed with the food, wine and service. Same for the breakfast. Well done Bodega Bay Lodge, your attention to detail and service was awesome. Your staff are a credit to you.

There's something very, very relaxing about the hotel that I can't quite put my finger on. Maybe it's a combination of the ocean air, sea views, the mist rolling in that makes you want to cozy up and just relax into the the place.
We'll be back. Next time we're going to check out the spa.

Room Tip: I guess if you have a higher up room you'll get a better view. Although some on the ground floor...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very lovely place, nice rooms, lots of friendly people working there. We were particularly impressed with Amanda, who went out of her way to make sure everything went well. She is one of the best people I've ever met at reception. The dining room serves great food with wonderful views, but is way understaffed, which makes service very slow.

Room Tip: It looks to me that every room is terrific. Large, fireplaces, views everywhere.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlrAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Bodega Bay Lodge. Our room, the Crows Nest was located in Bldg. 5 on the second floor. It was a huge room, nicely appointed with a fireplace and lovely view of the bay. It is the farthest room from the ofc. but this was fine for us. The breakfast was served in the lovely Duck Club and was plentiful and delicious. The staff was friendly, and helpful with directions and suggestions. Be sure and stop by the Spud Point Crab if you like clam chowder. Just a little hole in the wall with picnic tables but the clam chowder and crab cakes are the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
512 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
335 reviews
5.9 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range: $268 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Unexpected Getaway in a Soul-Stirring Hideaway With its rugged shoreline and rolling countryside, the Sonoma Coast has its roots firmly planted in the land. The Bodega Bay Lodge—a Bodega Bay hotel poised atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean—reflects the wild beauty of this romantic region and offers an array of incredible things to do in Sonoma. Watch the fishermen ply the bay for the day’s catch. Spot migrating whales in the waves. Scout for rare birds in a location prized by the Audubon Society and Alfred Hitchcock. Stroll two miles of soft sands, hand-in-hand. Signature Service Whether it’s our popular wine hour, in-room fireplaces or complimentary Taylor Maid Farms organic coffee and organic Numi teas in the lobby, our signature service offerings are noteworthy extras that make every moment something to savor. Our staff is available 24 hours, ensuring you have a memorable and inspiring stay. Complimentary services include: •Luxurious, oversized guestrooms and suites •Concierge services •Complimentary morning newspaper in the lobby •Ocean-view pool, whirlpool spa and sauna •Bay-view fitness room •Wireless internet access •Free parking •Taylor Maid Farms Coffee served in the lobby throughout the morning •24-hour business desk with PC and printer access •Complimentary wine and cheese reception (daily from 5-6pm) •Safety deposit boxes •Non-smoking hotel •Views of Bodega Bay throughout the property Services available for an additional charge: •Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen •Spa treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing