We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and comfort”
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beauty and comfort”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely place on the Northern Coast of California on Bodega bay. This hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the beautiful grounds and Bodega bay. The rooms have all the amenities you could possibly need complete with umbrella. The beds were very comfortable and the balconies perfect for enjoying the scenery. The restaurant on the property is quite nice. Our favorite thing to do was enjoy the fire pit and have their cheese platter with our favorite wine. It is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. There are plenty of walks near by . There is a bird watchers walk and a walk to the bay. Just beyond the bay you do see the ocean. Bodega Head is a short drive where you walk along the bluffs for spectacular views of the ocean waves crashing against the majestic rocky coast. Great spot for photos. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    325
    83
    39
    20
See reviews for
160
839
52
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel- we go there at least once a year from Healdsburg as my girlfriend loves it- it's pricey but nice for a special treat- hot tub and pool- nice restaurant but we don't eat there as there are others in town we do like and more reasonably priced

Room Tip: Upper floor without a doubt- you pay more but it's worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There were 4 of us traveling to enjoy my sister's bday. Ron & Bert has stayed here many times and claims it as a favorite. This was our first - Cheryl and I was were immediately charmed by the location and beauty of this lodge. We were too early for the 4pm check in, but Erika said our rooms were ready and we were welcome to check in. She saw that my sister and I were sharing a king size bed and offered us a room with two beds. We were so appreciative. I work for Alaska Airlines where customer service is one of our top priorities so needless to say, we were both charmed by Erika's professional thoughtfulness and kindness. She went on to give us a brief view of the area.
The rooms are beautiful - the beds are perfect. Every thought went into making a person's stay the best. I am so picky when it comes to cleanliness so I appreciate the effort that go into these rooms.
The views - wow - of the landscape - of the harbor - very majestic. I'm happy to sit out on our lanai enjoying nature.
They have a 5pm cheese and wine reception that is also very nice.
We had breakfast in their DuckClub restaurant - food was good - server was lukewarm.
We checked out with Erika and another charming employee was there. They're the first ones we meet and the last ones we see - the great lasting impression will always be there!
5 stars - Erika 5 stars - grounds 5 stars - view 5 stars - room

Minus one star - unfortunately, our bathroom vent brought in fireplace smoke from the other rooms which we did not know about it. We could smell the smoke, but didn't know where it was coming from. Thought it was from outside - so closed our doors, and left the bath vents on longer. Both Cheryl and I are asthmatic and breathing this smoke in had us sick for a few days after our trip.

Room Tip: We had room 109 (I think) first floor - the view was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just stayed with my husband and two girls-ages 4 and 8. It was a spacious room with a great view of waves crashing out on bodega head (404). We loved it. First rate bathroom, comfy beds, a fireplace and a deck. The kids loved the pool and hot tub and my husband worked out in the beautiful workout room. If only we had more time I would have sat in the sauna too.
We also ate at the Duck Club, delicious. A splurge but worth it. Short pours on the martini and manhattan, but delicious nonetheless. It's wine country, after all!
We really enjoyed our stay and plan to comeback. The location is perfect for enjoying all Doran Beach has to offer-bird walks, waves crashing, the fog horn. Awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eakemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmichael
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in an upper coastal room. Nice room with fireplace and ocean view. Separate bedroom which was a plus. They had a wine hour in the lobby next to the fireplace. Pool, sauna and whirlpool were well maintained and clean. Would def. rec.

Room Tip: Room 214 was great. Only room in that wing that also had a window in the bedroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bodega Bay is a little fishing town north of San Francisco. It abuts a breathtaking stretch of California coast. Overlooking the bay is this gorgeous, tranquil lodge. What we found remarkable about it is that it mingles a sense of being a self-standing coastal spa and an isolated B&B (which it isn't). The lobby, grounds, and rooms are beautiful. Our room overlooked the bay. We loved being there while the weather was cloudy and stormy. You can feel the awesome power of the Pacific but from the warmth of your room with a fresh cup of coffee in hand. Even though Bodega Bay is itself a small town, there are really fun seafood (fresh caught!) restaurants in addition to the Lodge's own Duck Club. We're heading back next month, we hope in time for another storm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was easy to find; as you are heading North on 1 it will be on your left. Go up hill and turn in at the 2nd right; Hotel staff was gracious and had given us a free upgrade. We were on the view side with a larger room and a fireplace.
They have wine and cheese in the evening in the lobby and Duck Club restaurant recommends reservations before you arrive.
There is a hot tub, warm pool, and several fire pits to sit and watch the beautiful sunsets. You can walk over to the Duran Park and then through the Bird Sanctuary. Beautiful beach access.
Parking can be difficult if the restaurant is full.
Room has fireplace, spa tub; fridge filled with their items to purchase (would have been nice to have it empty) and bed was very comfortable. Deck has chairs and table to sit out and enjoy the spectacular views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
297 reviews
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
19.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Property: Bodega Bay Lodge
Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Unexpected Getaway in a Soul-Stirring Hideaway With its rugged shoreline and rolling countryside, the Sonoma Coast has its roots firmly planted in the land. The Bodega Bay Lodge—a Bodega Bay hotel poised atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean—reflects the wild beauty of this romantic region and offers an array of incredible things to do in Sonoma. Watch the fishermen ply the bay for the day’s catch. Spot migrating whales in the waves. Scout for rare birds in a location prized by the Audubon Society and Alfred Hitchcock. Stroll two miles of soft sands, hand-in-hand. Signature Service Whether it’s our popular wine hour, in-room fireplaces or complimentary Taylor Maid Farms organic coffee and organic Numi teas in the lobby, our signature service offerings are noteworthy extras that make every moment something to savor. Our staff is available 24 hours, ensuring you have a memorable and inspiring stay. Complimentary services include: •Luxurious, oversized guestrooms and suites •Concierge services •Complimentary morning newspaper in the lobby •Ocean-view pool, whirlpool spa and sauna •Bay-view fitness room •Wireless internet access •Free parking •Taylor Maid Farms Coffee served in the lobby throughout the morning •24-hour business desk with PC and printer access •Complimentary wine and cheese reception (daily from 5-6pm) •Safety deposit boxes •Non-smoking hotel •Views of Bodega Bay throughout the property Services available for an additional charge: •Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen •Spa treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing